We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We would go again!”
Review of Vale de Carros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vale de Carros
Ranked #47 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We would go again!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed first 2 weeks in September. You get what you pay for re a clean and tidy apartment but a little dated. Annoyingly, even tho it was self catering, you had to hire individually a kettle and toaster. Whilst we did not cook in the room we found that the hob did not get hot enough to melt a chocolate teapot let alone boil water. The apartments are a little isolated from the beaches etc. However, if you are willing to walk, Olhos De Agua is about 20 mins away. This has a really good beach which is supported by a number of bars and restaurants. We walked this every morning and back again in the evening with a 5 euro cab on the final return. Albufiera is a 12 euro cab fare and Vilamora is 15 both worth a visit! All in all a very relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alipickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    239
    92
    29
    19
See reviews for
189
239
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This hotel was a pleasure, we went oct 2011 me and my partner and luckily had brilliant weather. Was given a room overlooking bottom pool with a huge balcony, it was very clean, a little dated but overall served its purpose (a place to sleep). Bar man was very social and helpful. Located in a quite area close to supermarket and some bar/restaurants. Daily buses free from hotel provided to beach and back but it's only a 20 min walk anyway. Food limited but very nice and well cooked. Entertainment was good (not much for children) but as we had none it suited us fine. It was our first holiday together and must say it was overall brilliant!! Trip into new town is a €12 taxi and worth it for a day out. Also recommend slide and splash water park, brilliant!!!!! Defo recommend ignore bad reviews!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kadie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Had a fantastic stay here in August. All of the staff are very friendly and there is a welcoming feel in the entire complex. The apartments are basic but extremely clean and spacious. The top pool near the bar is more for the kids that want to splash about and make noise whereas the bottom pool is nice and quiet and there are plenty of sun loungers (unfortunately always taken by idiots placing towels on them for the most part). But if there are none, the grass is soft and plenty full.

The bar is fully loaded, food for all of the day is English styled good honest grub - Full breakfasts, sausage, chips, pizza's, pies and much more. Everything is reasonably priced and again, everything is clean and well kept.

It's a short walk to the nearest restaurants and bars but if you want to go to the beach, you'll need to get a bus, but this is no problem in the grand scheme of things.

All in all I highly recommend Vale de Carros and I would definitely go there again. Only one small niggle, the beds were a bit hard, but that might just be me lol. Do go there, for the money, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just back from a great stay at Vale de Carros with my husband and our 2 children (aged 2 and 4 years). We stayed in a one bedroom apartment, which was great for us. There is a supermarket and many nice restaurants nearby, and the beach is within walking distance. Albufiera is a 15 minute bus/taxi ride away (approx. 12 euros for a taxi) and we arranged trips to Zoomarine and a boat cruise through a local tour operator. The apartments are excellent value for money and ours was spotlessly clean. We had requested a quiet apartment and were further away from reception and the bar area, but there was a second pool just outside our apartment, which was lovely and very quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful. We did hire fans, as there is no air-con, and there were also a few mosquitos about, so pack repellent!

Would recommend this to anyone looking for a great value-for-money holiday - I would definitely return!

Room Tip: Our apartment was one of the furthest from reception and the bar area and was very quiet - great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank khnorthernireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

This is our
Second visit to Vale de Carros. In 5 years
Not changed still very well run and small friendly Family Run Apartments.
The area is nice safe with good beaches. Beaches are about 20mins walk from Apartments but there is shuttle bus if you need it.
Apartment grounds are kept beautifully and service is very friendly.Lovely restaurants near to Apartments recommend Lacostira lovely food.
2 pools not all that big bit well maintained. Apartments on the small side enough space for 2 people but studios maybe quite tight with 3 in. Also has 1 room apartments. Balconies all pool faceing big balconies sun on all day.
Only negative for me was the extra charge for wifi if you wanted it and also people putting towels on sunbeds in the morning and saving them around the pool and not using them till late morning. It clearly states around the pool not to do this.Also the 2 ring electric stove is not good if you want to do all of cooking and if you want electric kettle you have to hire them.
I would return to Vale de Carros again it is a lovely relaxing area to stay and apartments are good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

this resort is amazing, it is great for a family hoilday and is great for a partying hoilday for younger people as there is a briliant strip in the new town, the staff are amazing.... the apartments are very clean are you do get what your paying for, you are getting a good deal for your money. the pools are very clean and are great for people of all ages. i really enjoyed this hoilday and i am considering going next year!!

Room Tip: all the apartment are very nice clean and in good condition!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtney E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at the Vale de Carros apartments . The self catering facilities are very basic, and I would have to disagree with the details on their web page which states "Very spacious and bright with modern furnishings"! We thought the fixtures and fittings were a tad dated, although both of the apartments were clean. We were a family party of 5 and very obligingly we were facilitated with adjacent upper apartments at the lower pool end of the complex, away from the reception and bar area. It was lovely and quiet. Both apartments were a different layout to each other -- one had a much smaller living / cooking area with a good sized bathroom comprising of toilet, bidet, bath and shower, along with decent shelf space for toiletries etc. The other apartment had a decent sized living / cooking area with a small and basic shower room with no shelf space worth talking about. Having reported a faulty electrical socket and two light fittings, they were fixed the next day, however, the light fitting over the sink promptly became defective again and remained so until we checked out. The lighting in both apartments is poor. The apartments are regularly serviced and kept clean, and supplied with clean towels. Bed linen is changed on a weekly basis, and toilet paper is supplied, ( I have been to s/c before where it was necessary to supply your own!!!). Towards the end of the holiday my back was beginning to suffer from the mattress on my bed which may need changing, or may be OK for others, I don't know, but back in my own bed the problem has been resolved!

The whole complex was kept lovely and clean and it was very quiet and peaceful with pleasantly laid out gardens and flowers. The bar area was OK, and the food available was good enough for the money paid, although on one order which included two baked potatoes, both of them were cold, otherwise any other food we got there was quite tasty, with the menu comprised of what you might expect to get in a bar! Sadly we thought the entertainment in the evenings which started at 10pm and was scheduled for two hours was a bit too late for the kids, and consequently we didn't experience it.

The nearby town is quiet with a good range of restaurants, with the usual tourist shops and small bars and goods. There were two good supermarkets, and of the two, we found the smaller one to be more economical and friendly.

Overall an enjoyable stay, however, we did feel that the accommodation was on the basic side and lacking in facilities. We were very fortunate to experience excellent weather, with the temp usually in the mid to high 30s, and once or twice in the lower 40s. There is no air conditioning and the fans which we rented for our stay from reception were totally inadequate. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the provision of a mini bus to go into Albufeira was very economical for our family of five. We have only rated the property with a 3 because of the lack of facilities within the apartments, and probably because of that we would be unlikely to return, although we did have a lovely holiday nonetheless.

Room Tip: Ask for the lower end of the complex, away from the reception/bar area, although in fairness I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.4 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#66 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#49 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
2.6 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#27 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Torre Velha Hotel
Torre Velha Hotel
#75 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
7.1 mi away
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
#58 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
7.4 mi away
Jardins Vale de Parra
Jardins Vale de Parra
#76 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale de Carros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale de Carros

Property: Vale de Carros
Address: Apartado 6015 | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8201-925, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vale de Carros 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vale de Carros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale De Carros Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Vale De Carros Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing