We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Holiday”
Review of Vale de Carros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vale de Carros
Ranked #55 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were four adults and a 20 month old baby. Perfect for us. Spacious one bed. Dated, yes the usual pine furniture but very clean. Cooking facilities are limited to a two ring hob so cooking was basic. Plenty of kitchen wares though. My bathroom was my main complaint. Although clean it was alright for a quick shower but anything more was difficult. However that aside the gardens were lovely. The Pub was great. Because we were a taxi ride from Albufeira (€10) people tended to gather around 10pm usually following dinner in one of the lovely restrurants near by and the atmosphere was friendly and sociable. Full English/Irish breekie available for €4.95 inclu Tea/Coffee for breakfast lovers. Although the menu was limited to bar food, it was very tasty food. The staff were fantastic, couldn't be nicer. We'll be back for sure

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

The external view and grounds which Vale de Carros sits in doesn't reflect the poor state of the apartments.
Good points: The apartments are clean, ground are lovely and have two pools and a tennis court. We did get a kettle in the room without any additional charge. Good size bathroom.
Negative Points: The apartments are very dated, our apartment had a hole in the ceiling from a previous leak which hadn't been resolved properly and you can hear a lot of what your neighbours are doing.
The property sits on a road which is quiet during the day but appears to be used as a drag race track between 1 & 3 AM.
There was barking from a possible kennels all through the night and the windows couldn't be closed due to the heat in the rooms, there is no aircon but you can hire a fan, which seemed a bit pointless as all it would do would move the heat around the room.
Single beds, which normally would be pulled together to make a double but these beds had surrounds on three sides turning the double bed into a large cot, so beds had to be seperated to avoid falling off the bed when getting up.
Reception staff aren't great, we asked for help with an issue we faced and got nothing, resulting in a stained, very wet and smelly mattress being left out in the sun on next doors balcony, making our balcony not very nice place to be in the sun due to the rancid smell coming from the mattress.
One family had a leak the morning we were leaving and were at the pick up point for transfers at 06:35 despite the fact that their transfer wasn't arriving until 09:00. Reason for them being there so early, their room had a leak and there was no answer when they tried the emergency number for the apartments, so they got out early.
One of the three pillows in the apartment was very lumpy.
Towels changed once in the seven days we were there and the bedding wasn't changed at all, not great.

In summary, the rooms need updating and aircon. I wouldn't personally use these apartments again but if you want/need cheap as possible and clean, the apartments are OK - just.

Room Tip: If you want peice and quiet, the rooms at the end of the complex are best and if you want a large, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tibz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Me and my husband stayed from 1st September- 8th September. When we arrived, we were given a downstairs appartment, which was nice and spacious, but we wanted upstairs with balcoby. Hubby sorted it out, no probs. Apartment nice, as people say I think the pillows need replacing but all good. Some lively local restaurants the Italian is amazing, Antonio's is very good and also purity purity x brothers bar seems to be good place too! Daily trips to beach is fab, supplied by hotel. Falesia beach is a must, beautiful! Don't listen to bad reviews, obviously left by stuck up people lol..well worth money, great place! I will return x

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed first 2 weeks in September. You get what you pay for re a clean and tidy apartment but a little dated. Annoyingly, even tho it was self catering, you had to hire individually a kettle and toaster. Whilst we did not cook in the room we found that the hob did not get hot enough to melt a chocolate teapot let alone boil water. The apartments are a little isolated from the beaches etc. However, if you are willing to walk, Olhos De Agua is about 20 mins away. This has a really good beach which is supported by a number of bars and restaurants. We walked this every morning and back again in the evening with a 5 euro cab on the final return. Albufiera is a 12 euro cab fare and Vilamora is 15 both worth a visit! All in all a very relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alipickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This hotel was a pleasure, we went oct 2011 me and my partner and luckily had brilliant weather. Was given a room overlooking bottom pool with a huge balcony, it was very clean, a little dated but overall served its purpose (a place to sleep). Bar man was very social and helpful. Located in a quite area close to supermarket and some bar/restaurants. Daily buses free from hotel provided to beach and back but it's only a 20 min walk anyway. Food limited but very nice and well cooked. Entertainment was good (not much for children) but as we had none it suited us fine. It was our first holiday together and must say it was overall brilliant!! Trip into new town is a €12 taxi and worth it for a day out. Also recommend slide and splash water park, brilliant!!!!! Defo recommend ignore bad reviews!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kadie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Had a fantastic stay here in August. All of the staff are very friendly and there is a welcoming feel in the entire complex. The apartments are basic but extremely clean and spacious. The top pool near the bar is more for the kids that want to splash about and make noise whereas the bottom pool is nice and quiet and there are plenty of sun loungers (unfortunately always taken by idiots placing towels on them for the most part). But if there are none, the grass is soft and plenty full.

The bar is fully loaded, food for all of the day is English styled good honest grub - Full breakfasts, sausage, chips, pizza's, pies and much more. Everything is reasonably priced and again, everything is clean and well kept.

It's a short walk to the nearest restaurants and bars but if you want to go to the beach, you'll need to get a bus, but this is no problem in the grand scheme of things.

All in all I highly recommend Vale de Carros and I would definitely go there again. Only one small niggle, the beds were a bit hard, but that might just be me lol. Do go there, for the money, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just back from a great stay at Vale de Carros with my husband and our 2 children (aged 2 and 4 years). We stayed in a one bedroom apartment, which was great for us. There is a supermarket and many nice restaurants nearby, and the beach is within walking distance. Albufiera is a 15 minute bus/taxi ride away (approx. 12 euros for a taxi) and we arranged trips to Zoomarine and a boat cruise through a local tour operator. The apartments are excellent value for money and ours was spotlessly clean. We had requested a quiet apartment and were further away from reception and the bar area, but there was a second pool just outside our apartment, which was lovely and very quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful. We did hire fans, as there is no air-con, and there were also a few mosquitos about, so pack repellent!

Would recommend this to anyone looking for a great value-for-money holiday - I would definitely return!

Room Tip: Our apartment was one of the furthest from reception and the bar area and was very quiet - great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank khnorthernireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
8.0 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#47 of 154 in Albufeira
467 reviews
2.6 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#27 of 154 in Albufeira
809 reviews
2.4 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Jardins Vale de Parra
Jardins Vale de Parra
#76 of 154 in Albufeira
142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#24 of 154 in Albufeira
713 reviews
7.1 mi away
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
#65 of 154 in Albufeira
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale de Carros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale de Carros

Address: Apartado 6015 | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8201-925, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range: £15 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vale de Carros 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vale de Carros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale De Carros Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Vale De Carros Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing