We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vale de Carros”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vale de Carros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vale de Carros
Ranked #47 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Vale de Carros”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 5 night break and had an amazing time. We were looking for a nice relaxing time and that's exactly what we got. The apartments are a little bit dated but very clean and had a lovely big balcony with sun loungers and a table and chairs. The staff on reception were very friendly. The apartment surroundings were beautiful with well kept gardens and full of beautiful plants and flowers.
You could get a free bus from the apartments to Falesia beach but we preferred to walk and it took 15-20 mins. The beach is beautiful and very unspoiled and was a very relaxing place to laze about in the sun.
We took the bus into Albufeira one day and visited the old town where we're lots of lovely shops, bars and restaurants. The beach was very nice but a lot busier and more touristy than Falesia beach. The area in general was a lot busier which is fine if that's what you want but we much preferred where we were staying as it was a lot quieter.
There are some nice bars and restaurants 5 mins away from the apartments. Our favourite was Hugo's serving lovely tapas and other meals , all reasonably priced and huge portions. You could get a huge beer for 2 euros which is a bargain!
On the whole we had a fantastic break and thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Portugal. We will definitely stay here again. If you want a cheap relaxing break in the sun then this is the place for you. For any one giving the apartments a bad review, stop moaning when you're getting a bargain.

Room Tip: First floor rooms further away from reception are best. The swimming pool is empty .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matildarose32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    235
    92
    29
    18
See reviews for
187
236
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Great place, paid £380 inc. flights & transfers for 2 adults & a child. Absolute bargain. Cute apartments with large sun trap balconies, bed wasn't the most comfy but sheets and towels were changed regularly. Kitchen had 2 rings a plentiful pots & pan & crockery, fridge with a small freezer section. Bathroom was basic , functional shower, sink, wc. Cleaned every other day I think.

2 good sized pools, which were lovely: one by the bar, one at the quieter end of the complex.
Looks as good as it does in the pictures, gardens with well kept and well maintained apartments

Bar does good family entertainment in the evenings and a basic menu, reception and all staff were friendly and helpful, handed an informative resort booklet that was useful, they go out of their way to help you. We asked for bus info for a trip to albufeira and the offered to take us, free of charge...
They also provide a free bus to and from Falesia beach very day.

.. Acoteias, the village,is a 7 minute walk where there are around 20 cafe/bars/restaurant to cater for most tastes and various budgets. , with good local produce. Most of which offer free wifi - not always advertised. Cheap cafés to Japanese dining. Local foods, Chinese, Italian, .......
There are a handful of touristy, souvenir shops. No night clubs or rowdy / lively night life

The stunning Beach is a 20 minute, hilly walk. But as I said, there is a free bus if you're not feeling too energetic. There are a couple of eateries on the beach too.

Albufeira was a 15/20 minute bus ride, old town was nice , beach was beautiful but very commercial on the whole.

We were hoping for a quiet family holiday, which is exactly what we got, very relaxing and restful. Would recommend and would definitely return, especially at that price

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I have recently stayed at Vale De Carros for a 10 day holiday with my boyfriend. The rooms were in need of an update but were definetly clean and tidy and included the basic of what we needed. Extras such as a toaster, CD player and hairdryer were 1€ a day to rent. The apartment had a large balcony which caught the sun everyday. The beds in the apartment were just fairly comfortable but for the price of the stay we didn't expect much better. Friendly cleaners regularly cleaned our room throughout the stay, changing towels and bed linen.

The apartment surroundings were beautiful, the gardens were well kept and the pools were clean. All the staff at Vale de Carros were friendly and happy to help you with whatever you needed. Vale de Carros provided a courtesy bus which took you to the nearby beach which is a 15/20 minute walk otherwise.

The local buses could take you into the town of Albufeira throughout the day hourly at a cost of around 3€.

Overall we had a lovley stay at Vale de Carros and would return again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Lucinda94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just returned from a 5 night break at the Vale De Carros. We didnt pay a great deal of money for this break and new we werent getting top class accomodation. What we did find were very pleasant looking apartments surrounded by well maintained gardens. The room which although appeared slightly dated was in fact clean and tidy. We stayed on the first floor with a large balcony which was hit by the sun all day. The accomodation is situated 5 minute walk to a scattering of local restaurants and bars. We found the staff to be friendly and pleasant and would have no problems returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have travelled and stayed in many places, and i totally understand you get what you pay for but this hotel does not meet standard hygiene.

Beds are made but Sheets are not changed and you are provided with very old brown fleece blankets very worn out and most likely not washed for many months.Floors are not sweeped by cleaners you have ants crawling around in the kitchen (where a bed was located for 2 which resulted all of us sharing 2 single beds in the bedroom) even though i was constantly sweeping ants out. You can hear flies buzzing around you when your trying to sleep. The kitchen rooms are partioned with a wooden frame from next door which means you can clearly hear your neighbour.

The pool is in very poor condition you have dead insects floating and dirt floating on the top, i didnt see it being maintained at any point. Would not want my children dipping the pool.

The bathroom had no ventilation, therefore we had to leave the bathroom doors wide open to be able to breath when having a shower with all the steam.

Hairdryers, irons, travel adaptors you had to pay to use each day, including paying a deposit.

No security and no reception 24 hours. Not great if in need of emergency as we were stuck left in one night as we had no contact to get out and get a taxi as the hotel is quite far out.

Reception were ok with help could have been better, bar staff were great and food was basic but nice.

Overall i would say this place has more disadvantages than positives. And if you do go with this place HAPPY HOLIDAYS!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissCPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Parent in laws stayed at Vale De Carros last year and had a lovely time, so they treated myself, partner and our little boy. We was greeted with a warm welcome the staff are very friendly and family oriented. The rooms are a little dated but this wasn't a problem for us as we was never in the room. Joah,the owner has a driving service that will take you direct to the beach and also pick you up, we also used his service to take us to the Old town and also our day at the water park.
When we was there a few people we spoke to who was staying at Vale De Carros had a few bad things to say about the changing of the sheets and towels, we had our towels changed everyday and bedding every other day, could tell these people where just complainers. I couldn't fault anything.
The local restaurants have amazing food, it's also worth it to have a good long walk around as we found lots more places to eat and drink. Will defiantly stay at Vale De Carros again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kking1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stopped there for 5 nights.

The reception people are very rude except a man as he was nice to us. The rest of the reception was very rude and very moody. Didn't feel welcomed to the hotel when we arrived from UK.

Outside of the hotel look gorgeous as ever but when we got in the room. It's was smell horrible and it's too small for four of us staying there. There are one twin beds in one room and two sofa bed is in another room which is kitchen/ living room. Two sofa bed look very uncomfortable sleeping. There is one bottom sofa bed that one of us can sleep on it but we don't want to sleep on that bed because there will be insects around it and smell under of the sofa bed. So four of us had to sleep together in twin beds for 5 nights.

Also there is few insects on the floor and lots of flies around the room. The cleaner ladies come after 3 days. So the towels are very dirty as we came back from the beach etc using same towels. We want those clean towels more often at least 2 days max but it's change after 3 days. Also at the same time the ladies cleaned the room but they only mopped the floor. They HAVE NOT CHANGE the bed sheets and pillow as it's been 5 nights!! It was disgusting. They didn't clean the sink as well as it's still dirty.

The bathroom is okay but there is no fresh air. So we couldn't breathe in that bathroom. In May weather was a bit cold. So we use hot water.. But the shower was too hot as it was like burning hot which is no good for us. They should have temperature of the water for us to shower.

The rooms are so OUT OF DATED. Very old curtains, bathroom etc. They need to change and need more new modern.

Swimming pool look nice but there is some few dirty bits on the water and doesn't look to clean for us to go in swimming pool. So we couldn't have good time in swimming pools.

When we stayed in the kitchen/ living room. We can still hear next door as they were talking! It's so awful!!

We still have to pay hair dryer, irons etc and including we have to pay deposit to have it! Those hotels is an apartment so it's should have hair dryer, irons including for free charge! But we had to paid for that extra which costing us too much! £1 per day to have it. £5 for deposit. That night we were about to go out but the reception were closed till 9am in the morning the next day! So we couldn't go out because we couldn't get cabs as the reception were closed! They should be open all the time in case if there were emergency.

The bar/ restaurant is nice but the food took ages while we were waiting for the food to arrive because there only one lady that cook it all for those people to order foods. The food are good.

Location is crap. We have to get cabs to go to shopping and nightclubs/ bars which cost us to much £10 one way from the hotel. But they will take us to the beach which is free only between 10-12pm and coming back at 2pm. There is restaurant around the hotels but there are not many nice restaurants.

The day before we headed to the airport. I paid deposit for the hair dryer but never got deposit back and I was so angry and lost my money. So we had to get the coach which was 8.35am. So I RECOMMEND NOT TO STAY THIS HOTEL because this is nightmare and very unwelcome and very uncomfortable place. I will NOT STAY THIS HOTEL EVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.4 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#63 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#48 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
2.6 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#26 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Torre Velha Hotel
Torre Velha Hotel
#74 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
7.1 mi away
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
#65 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
7.4 mi away
Jardins Vale de Parra
Jardins Vale de Parra
#78 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale de Carros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale de Carros

Property: Vale de Carros
Address: Apartado 6015 | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-925, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vale de Carros 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vale de Carros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale De Carros Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Vale De Carros Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing