We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim
Ranked #152 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great value, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great value accommodation, in a good location - easy to walk to the beach and to the Old Town.

Big apartment, loads of space - very clean and tidy.

Didn't do much around the apartment during the evening as we went into the Old Town, and caught a taxi back up to the apartment which cost under 5 euro.

A lot of the sun loungers were not in great condition, but the pool and surrounding areas were clean.

The wifi in the public areas works pretty well, we didn't pay the extra to have the wifi in our room.

The 24 hour reception made it convenient to check in and out as we had an early flight on our last day. We used Resort Hoppa to get to and from the apartment, which was really good!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bexindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Bexindevon,
Thank you for choosing Luna Valmangude Jardim and for sharing your experience.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a great time with us.
We take reviews very seriously and we apreciate your comments about the sun loungers. We will try to replace some of them as soon as possible.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Jose Parreira, Manager, Luna Valmangude Jardim (valmangude@lunahoteis.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    71
    54
    32
    66
See reviews for
81
78
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We got back today from our first family holiday. Myself my partner and our 9 month old baby went here for 10 nights. I was dreading this trip after I read some of the reviews on here! I thought it was going to be such a dive and was ready to complain to the rep before even getting here! How wrong I could be! It was a excellent location, all staff especially the maids and bar staff where super friendly- I think you have to show respect to gain respect! The pool was freezing but it was clean and after a quick swim you warmed up a bit! The rooms were basic, you get a hob and a microwave, so take a kettle if you want a cuppa. The rooms are huge and we had to have a cot for our child to sleep in which they sorted for us within a few hours of us arriving. We also travelled with another couple who had a 6 month old and a 4 year old and they also felt the same as us. The only thing it needs is a bit of a update and new sunbeds. If recommend sitting on a chair instead- they are so uncomfortable! But overall a great place and a brilliant location!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Afton A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Afton A,
Thank you for choosing Luna Valmangude Jardim and for you kind comments about your recent stay. Its wonderful to know we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the services and facilities at the hotel. Regarding the sunbeds, we will try to replace some of them as possible.
Looking forward to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, José Parreira, Manager, Luna Valmangude Jardim (valmangude@lunahoteis.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Staff were rude and unpleasant. No kettle or toaster in self-catered. No iron after repeatedly requesting one (only 1 for whole hotel) so could not wear some nice dresses.
Apartment had no bed (2 sofas which were rock hard).
Shoe imprint on wall and remnants of a dead cockroach that has been splattered, toilet was broken and filthy.
2 pairs of dirty women's underwear on balcony for the duration of our stay - no one would remove them.
Bar did not sell snacks as advertised.
Pool was very small and cold and loungers were so old fashioned and many broken.
Location was good but still a 15 minute walk to the old town (up hill on way back).

All in all I would say avoid this place like the black death and fork out for something better!

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor had more balcony/outdoor space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Melanie P,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience about your stay in Luna Valmangude Jardim.
After verifying your booking, the accommodation you mention is a studio apartment, which has 2 sofa beds in the living room.
Regarding the kettle and toaster, in fact this equipment is not available in the apartments, but we have some on request on Reception. As for the cleaning, we will check with our staff and make sure it does not happen again.
We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations, and hope this experience does not keep you from returning to the beautiful Albufeira area.
Kind Regards, José Parreira, Manager, Luna Valmangude Jardim (valmangude@lunahoteis.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Booked here for 12 nights in June!! We found a bargain and booked it. I was apprehensive after reading some of the reviews after I'd booked.

I can honestly say there is nothing wrong with these apartments!! Staff where nice when we arrived, always pleasant but could have been a little friendlier.

The apartments are big and spacious, with air con. They haven't a kettle but it's easier enough to bring you're own. The spar across the road is cheap and very handy.

Maids came in most days except Sunday from what I remember. Beds made, bins emptied and fresh towels.

Poolside could possibly do with some new sun loungers and more umbrellas, but there were never any arguments over loungers!!

Apartments are pretty central to most things, the beaches, the strip and the old town. There is a little train that u can get to the old town for €4 per person from the strip, to be honest it's a nice trip but expensive to use all the time. We got a taxi from the old town one night and it cost €3.90, so I would recommend getting a taxi instead of the train.

All in all we had a great time and would have no problem going back!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikd87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Nikd87
Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay in Luna Valmangude Jardim.It is very important for us to know that we have acomplished our goals and have provided a nice atmosphere for our guests to enjoy their time with us.
Looking forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Jose Parreira, Manager Luna Valmangude Jardim (valmangude@lunahoteis.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I went with my girlfriend for a quiet relaxing hoilday and thats what i got. Staff are very nice when we got there they showed us the map and how to get to everywhere, big pool. Rooms where very big and had everthing you needed. Central for everthing both strip and old town, super market 2 mins walk, will be going back again. Before i went we where a bit scared as it had such bad reviews but trust me thats not what its like. I like quiet hotels and this is what you get wifi in the reception was very good, pool table aswell and its next door to a pub fat catz what sells cheap nice food and drink and and across the road there is a pub called bora bora that had the done the nices pub i have ever tryed, i would recommend this if you are going as a couple or a family as lots of thing for kids and everything is close by even the beach is a 5-10 min walk

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Darren G
Thank you very much for taking time to share your good experience about your stay
in Luna Valmangude Jardim.
It is wonderful to know you enjoyed the Hotel, its services and facilities, and the staff’s hospitality. It will be a pleasure to have you again as our guests.
Kind regards, Jose Parreira, Manager, Luna Valmangude Jardim (valmangude@lunahoteis.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo_2727
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Just returned having availed of a great value deal. For budget accommodation it was excellent. Large, spacious apartment with air con, TV, daily maid service etc. Lovely balcony over looking the pool and we fortunately got the sun every evening. Pool was great, although some of the sun loungers are broken so get your towels on early! Snack bar by the pool was handy but the offerings were limited.
The location is excellent with a nice snack bar/restaurant, Bella Canella just across the road for breakfast and a Spar shop close by also. Easy access to both the old town and the strip (if that's what you're in to!).
Mixed experience with the staff. Some definitely more friendly and competent than others. Overall a good stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo_2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We arrived late evening nothing open at the hotel so had to go up the road to a bar for a drink and water. Our apartment very large but no kettle or hair dryer had to boil water in saucepan. Three off us staying but only 2 beds made up so had to make our own. As it was only a 5 day stay we thought we would make the best off it . The WIF was very hard to connect to and had to be done at front desk which most times it was turned off even thou the very unhelpful lady said it was fine. On our second night very late a group off very noisy men woke us and the noise was so bad we did not get any quiet till 4.30 am. They were out by the pool when we got up so we decided we would not spend our day there, when we opened the sliding doors there was a towel covered in blood on our balcony we bagged it and took it down and gave it to the lady that was on duty and told her we were not very happy did we get any reply or a sorry NO. We spent all day out and were happy that that evening was quiet even thou you can hear the noise off just people walking about and cars going by as it is right on the road and the front door has a large gap around it the bedroom window was screwed shut so it was dark in there all the time. All that I can say on the good side was that it was central and a nice place to eat just up the road called Fat Cats. When our taxi collected us did the staff say goodbye No...... Don't think we will ever bother to stay here again..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank internetgay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.7 mi away
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
#156 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ondamar Hotel
Ondamar Hotel
#96 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ondamar Aparthotel
Ondamar Aparthotel
#40 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#89 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#25 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim

Property: Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim
Address: Lote 5/7 Rua de Dunfermline | Apartado 859 - Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-278, Portugal (Formerly Luna Valmangude Jardim)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valmangude Jardim Aparthotel Albufeira
Valmangude Jardim Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing