We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room 102”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim
Ranked #143 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just recently stayed at this hell hole, on arrival (which was late evening) we were offered room 102, our first impressions was it was a big spacious apartment and looked fairly clean.. on the second day (thursday) we realized you had to step over a muddy grass area, just past the sewer pipe, to the swimming pool. This during the afternoon was packed full of dutch 18 yr olds and a rather noisey stag party. The sunbeds were an absolute insult to anyone wishing to relax on their hard earned holiday..! And there were no matresses available (as advertised).

That second night was when we heard the water sprinklers come on and drench the whole patio area and furniture.. which is as most of you know, where you dry your towels! NEVERMIND we won't let it spoil our holiday we said, even after we found the dying cockroach at the back of the toilet door.

Friday and the weekend passed and cockroach still back of door and no clean towels had been given.. That was when my other half lost the plot, after endless nights of no sleep (due to late arrivals and the clattering of suitcases and dustbin men removals at 5 in the morning) the whole NEVERMIND mantra went out the window and he blew his stack with the rather disillusioned hotel management.

The whole holiday outside of the apartments was amazing, some lovely beaches, excellent restaurants and the old and new towns had a huge variety of entertainment. The people are really friendly and I would go back, just not that place..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jowatkin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Jowatkin007
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay in Luna Valmangude Jardim.
Albufeira is known for its beautiful beaches, landscapes, typical architecture, gastronomy and nightlife, among other features. It is also a popular destination for hen and stag parties, when people tend to be somehow exceed themselves and that we are unable to fully control. We do apologize for the noise and any inconvenience caused. Regarding the sprinklers, our irrigation system is scheduled for night time so it does not bother the guests during the day; usually the water does not get to the balconies, and we will make sure to adjust it.
We sincerely apologize for the cleaning issues, as the situations you refer do not meet our service standards. We will check it with our housekeeping staff to make sure it does not happen again.

We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations and hope that this experience does not keep you from returning to the beautiful Albufeira area. Kind Regards, José Parreira, Manager, Luna Valmangude Jardim (valmangude@lunahoteis.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed here with my partner and our 2.5 year old daughter. Our first holiday abroad as a family, and I can honestly say we had a really good time.

Due to our working schedules we could only book last minute during peak season, so we weren't expecting it to be quiet.

The staff were very friendly and helpful... especially Ruben who worked evenings, he recommended to us a couple of great restaurants. The cleaners changed the bedding and towels and cleaned the apartments regularly. The rooms were very basic. If you wanted a kettle or a toaster you had to rent them, didn't find this a problem, although there were very limited utensils and no condiments at all... had to buy stuff like washing up liquid, dish cloths, sugar, tea's/coffee from the local supermarket.

I am not sure if the air conditioning wasn't working at all or if you needed to rent a remote control from reception also, but didn't really bother us, as we spent most of the time out of the apartment.

The hotel is very central to everything. The old town is a 20 minute walk but taxis are reasonable enough and can be ordered from reception. The new town area is only 5\10 mins walk away and they're are loads of great restaurants and plenty of bars.. but as this was a family holiday we found that there could have been more for children to do especially at the hotel. Our daughter was happy to play at the kids pool every day but that was all really.

As we came during peak season they're loads of stag/lads groups staying at the hotel... a couple of occasions I had to gesture to a few 'neighbours' to keep the noise down but there were no issues raised. On our last two nights there was a very large group of very rowdy British lads who just took over the pool area... lots of bad language and heavy handed carry on while other hotel users were trying to use the pool area. I wouldn't recommend families staying during peak season.

Overall, the hotel and staff was very good... very central location and handy to get to everywhere... clean and basic and you get what you pay for.

I would stay here again, although maybe not on a family break.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had our first family holiday with our 11 month old, after looking at different apartments we came across this price was great. Reading the reviews before we came wasn't a good idea, but how wrong some are the place was brilliant, rooms are very spacious kitchen area had everything expect for the kettle & toaster as you had to pay €20 for each of them but you get back at the end of your stay. Cot was set up for our little one, bedding made every day & towels were changed, maids were in every day expect Sundays which was great. Marcio who works at the pool bar was so kind and made everyone feel so welcome, and had a great choice of snacks for by the pool. Spar was just round the corner which was extremely handy, strip was 10 minute walk and the old town was 15/20 minute walk. Overall had a great experience here and definitely would be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jade O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Jade
Thank you for choosing Luna Valmangude Jardim and for sharing your experience about your recent stay with us.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcome you again soon.
Kind Regards, José Parreira, Manager, Luna Valmangude Jardim (valmangude@lunahoteis.com).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here back in June with our 2 year old grand daughter it is very central about 15 mins walk to old town and about 7 mins walk to the strip.
Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Also their internet in reception was very good.

The apartments are very spacious and had everything you need for a holiday. We were put in a ground floor apartment and asked to get moved as our grand daughter could open the door and it was no problem to get moved it seemed nothing was any bother to the staff. The only thing I thought that was a bit of a problem it was 20 euros each to hire a toaster and a kettle but you got it back at the end of your stay. We went with Jet 2 holidays and I think this should have been pointed out as if you were going on a budget 40 euros is a lot out of it.
Rooms were cleaned every day and towels changed also.
Pool was excellent and very clean.
We went across the road every evening to the Bora Bora bar and they were very good with the child and their beer was only 1.50 euro through the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthernIrelandMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear NorthernIrelandMandy,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay in Luna Valmangude Jardim. It is great to know that you have enjoyed the staff, the service, the location and the facilities at the hotel. Looking forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Jose Parreira, Manager Luna Valmangude Jardim (valmangude@lunahoteis.com).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Did 3 nights here on a lads trip at the end of the tourist season so the strip was very quiet and it rained in the day an hour or so warm in the evening didn't eat here rooms were fine clean and ticked the box few drunken people singing to all hours which upset a few people. Went upto Lisbon which we were told was only a couple of hours away?? Try 4 and a half !!!! Every restaurant we ate the food was amazing

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I had our first sun holiday here,booked it 2 weeks prior so we weren't expecting the Hilton! But what we got was a clean spacious studio apartment that suited us perfect! I don't know why people complain when you always get what you pay for?..
We were on the 2nd floor with pool view(all the rooms have view of the pool anyway) the sofa beds are quite hard so I suggest lying on the blankets provided for extra cushioning! The hotel is located on the corner of a busy main road so at night it can be quite noisy(traffic wise) so bring some ear plugs if your a light sleeper!
There's many plus sides to it's location! There's a big spar across the street! Plenty of nice little bars & restaurants! 10 minute walk to the gorgeous beach! 10 minute walk from the main strip! Or 4-5e in a taxi!
Pool area is grand,plenty of sunbeds,handy having the poolside bar! 20e deposit for toaster or kettle but you get this back if you return them in one piece! Staff & cleaners very friendly!
All round we had a fantastic holiday and would definitely return here!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Louisesreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Louisesreview,
Thank you for your review and for chosing the Luna Valmangude Jardim.
It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your time in Albufeira and in the Hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards, Jose Parreira, Manager Luna Valmangude Jardim (valmangude@lunahoteis.com).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great value accommodation, in a good location - easy to walk to the beach and to the Old Town.

Big apartment, loads of space - very clean and tidy.

Didn't do much around the apartment during the evening as we went into the Old Town, and caught a taxi back up to the apartment which cost under 5 euro.

A lot of the sun loungers were not in great condition, but the pool and surrounding areas were clean.

The wifi in the public areas works pretty well, we didn't pay the extra to have the wifi in our room.

The 24 hour reception made it convenient to check in and out as we had an early flight on our last day. We used Resort Hoppa to get to and from the apartment, which was really good!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bexindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Bexindevon,
Thank you for choosing Luna Valmangude Jardim and for sharing your experience.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a great time with us.
We take reviews very seriously and we apreciate your comments about the sun loungers. We will try to replace some of them as soon as possible.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Jose Parreira, Manager, Luna Valmangude Jardim (valmangude@lunahoteis.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.7 mi away
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
#142 of 154 in Albufeira
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#94 of 154 in Albufeira
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
#37 of 154 in Albufeira
816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#89 of 154 in Albufeira
3,049 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim

Address: Lote 5/7 Rua de Dunfermline | Apartado 859 - Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-278, Portugal (Formerly Luna Valmangude Jardim)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range: £39 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valmangude Jardim Aparthotel Albufeira
Valmangude Jardim Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing