We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stinking sesspit”
Review of Vilanova Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vilanova Resort
Ranked #133 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A stinking sesspit”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Hotel advertises it has daytime activities and entertainment in the casablanca bar. Not so...
Nothing to do during the day except lie on a broken sunbed & the bar is closed for good. They also sell rooms to groups of spanish lads on stag weekends. So as yoi settle during the week amongst the hoards of Drunken dutch lads the spanish armada invade at the weekend. Please Do Not stay here if you have a family..... You will regret it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loppy1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    316
    309
    139
    201
See reviews for
243
386
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This foul, fetid, festering place has the audacity to call itself a resort. I have holidayed abroad for 30 years the last sixteen as a family and I have never experienced accomodation as ditry, decrepid and decomposing like this was. The place was not cleaned, maintained and was filty inside and outside with the walk ways and roads stinking of urine at all times. This place allows families to stay along with hen ad stag parties, and young people who treat this place with contempt and no respect as they ran rampage at night and until at least 6am in the morning. If you want to live in an infested hovel with no sleep and subject your children to the lowest posible standards and disgusting behsviour go to this place. I am certain hell cannot be this bad

Room Tip: there are none its disgusting
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank val k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Mysely and my boyfriend stayed here for 10 days at the start of August. We stayed in a studio appartment overlooking the pool area. The studios are standard with the matresses on concrete slabs but were ok. The balcony was nice and had a lovely view over the pool. After reading some reviews before we went we were quite apprehensive about staying here mainly due to the reports on the noice levels at night. On our first night we were woken at least three times when some residents came in late and seemed to have no consideration for anybody else. The next few nights were ok noise wise. After that we had another couple of sleepless nights as the sound travells right through the building.
As stated above we stayed here for 10 days and during this time our towels were only changed once. The cleaners came daily to change bins and give toilet roll and never swept the floors until we asked them one day.
The air conditioning in our room started to leak after a few days so we had to turn it off at night or when we were leaving. This was annoying as it was almost 40 degrees most days. I made the hotel receptionist aware of this straight away and two days later there was still nothing done about it so I complained again and still nothing was done before we left.
Overall the resort is basic but in a good location if you are looking for a lively holiday. I would not recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quiet holiday or if you enjoy your sleep. We went out every night mostly into the old town as the strip gets very boring after a few nights and the old town has a better mixture of bars and restaurants to suit everyone.
There is a train which pulls right outside the resort which brings you to old town and its only €4 for a day ticket.
The strip is slightly tacky and can get very rough in the early hours of the morning. Drugs are readily available on the strip which is a bit of a turn off.
The beach is a 10 minute walk down the strip and is excellent. We went to beach most days as it was much more enjoyable and relaxing than staying around the pool.
Finally we would probably not stay here again mainly due to the noise levels but we will definately be returning to Albufeira again and will more than likely stay in Old Town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ormond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2011

It's a case of where to start! If you book this hotel for a holiday where your family only requires around 3-4 hours sleep per night then this is the place for you. The place was full of young people out for a good time (no problem with that) but the total disrespect for anyone else was hard to comprehend. Music would blast from apartments till the early hours as they got tanked up before going on the town and then return 3 or 4 hours later with the sole intention of making sure everyone in the Vilanova knew they were back. The 2 bedroom apartment we were allocated was of a decent size but pretty basic. There was a leak in the bathroom ceiling which had a distinct smell of sewage (this was remedied by the hotel staff placing a bucket under the offending drip for a quick fix to a problem that was never corrected during our stay)+ It had no air-con which made it extremely uncomfortable, especially at night and the room servicing left something to be desired (the sheets were never changed and the towels had to be left out in full view to shame the cleaning staff to change them)
All in all I could rant on for ages but my message to anyone considering staying here is DON'T !!! (unless you're under 25, single and like to party at the expense of any other peoples enjoyment.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I have never written a review of any kind before , however i feel its my duty as a human being to advise people about this hotel. Its shockingly bad!!
This was the first holiday I've ever been on where by the end of it i was glad to be going home to my own bed, once you experience a bed at the Vilanova you will never moan about your own again. Two tiny mattresses on the floor on top of a concrete slab. I work in a police custody block and now i know what its like for the prisoners staying the night in a cell.
I wish the beds were the only thing i could tell which were bad, but that would be a lie. The pool area was made up of hen/stag do's all taking over the pool and sunbeds, shouting, swearing, and dumping rubbish area. Where were the staff you ask to calm this down? I don't know, i never saw one person the whole week! You could literally walk off the strip into the complex without being challenged.
Night times were not much better either, constant banging off doors that echoed around the whole block, stag do's coming back at silly o clock with music full blast. I made the mistake of asking one group to keep quiet, every night after they ran down the corridor banging on our door.
Once outside the complex i was greeted by the usual 3-4 drug dealers asking me for to purchase cannabis or cocaine. You take a walk along the strip and get harassed by the pubs and clubs to come in and have a good time, only to see they have one customer and no atmosphere.
Thankfully most of my time was spent at the beach which was lovely, hot and some great water sport activities. Also at night went over to the old town, which is where we should of booked, and had some lovely meals.
On the morning i flew home i was making up my own rhyme "GLAD ITS ALL OVER AT THE VILANOVA!".
Anyone who writes a review about the Vilanova stating it was a good hotel etc etc, clearly has never experienced a decent holiday above a 2* rating. I for one will never make the mistake of trying to save money by booking a cheap late deal.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamespickering2090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed here in July 2011 and saw the reviews unfortunately after booking about the Hens and Stags that stay here - THIS WAS NOT A PROBLEM AT ALL. We were allocated an 'apartment' in Block 1, we unlocked a rickety door and entered an extremely basic room, with a curtain dividing the bedroom which didnt even contain a wardrobe! After refusing to stay we were offered a Villa which we thought would be fab, turns out to just be a bigger version of the first room! Extremely dated, which we could deal with had all the other problems
not been present. The A/C didn't work ( we asked for someone to look at this 4 times) we were eventually told there was no maintenance man employed there and it would not be fixed)! Light fittings were coming away from walls exposing wires, beds were like concrete slabs, bathroom was rank, mildew shower curtain, dirty walls, filthy windows and floors etc. We opened a draw and found it full of hair and tobacco - needless to say we didnt use it! There was no kettle or cups, the apartment was generally under equipped. Patio area was absolutely stinking, table was full of ring marks from drinks, whole floor are was covered in leaves and there was a huge concrete slab with a rusty pole sticking out where a parasol should be, we couldnt let the children go outside as this was stuck in the middle of the patio and too heavy to move. We arrived on Monday evening and despite many requests we were finally given clean towels on the following Saturday and they were never changed before we left the following Thursday. We were also told we had to pay an extra 200 Euros for this place, which we refused to do so. The pool area is lovely however so we stayed out the entire day, but still, cleaniness is expected even when you decide to do this. Would I go back? - NEVER!!!

Room Tip: Apparently apartments in Block 4/5 are more modernised but I think they are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarawelshgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

been in portugal umpteen times these are the worst appartments ive ever stayed in. not family friendly, full of stag & hen parties who take over the pool late afternoon,empty bottles. glass etc left by the pool, staff dont care security guard hides under a tree. ifyou want stag or hen this basic accomadation is for you .but notsuitable for families. rating -10

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williestewart57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.6 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#65 of 154 in Albufeira
426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#86 of 154 in Albufeira
460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#43 of 154 in Albufeira
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
3.0 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#49 of 154 in Albufeira
583 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#95 of 154 in Albufeira
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilanova Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilanova Resort

Property: Vilanova Resort
Address: Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilanova Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Onthebeach, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vilanova Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilanova Hotel Albufeira
Vilanova Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing