We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was great! Best of both worlds!”
Review of Vilanova Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vilanova Resort
Ranked #134 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Situated right at the top of the Strip which is full of shops, cafes, bars and restaurants. Good buzz about the place and was busy for September. My boyfriend and I went together and it was exactly what we wanted. The old town is only 15 minutes away on a train-which picks up right outside the resort. Old town is more chilled out and calm than the strip and was nice for chill out evenings-nice pubs, street music, restaurants and stalls. Beautiful beach there aswell! Would recommend wandering away from the main town areas for food. We went to a fabulous portugese restaurant off the strip-and it was top class! Staff were friendly-food was lovely, and so cheap. €33 for 2x starters 2x Mains (one of which was a steak!) 2x deserts, half bottle of wine, pint and coffee! Food on the strip is nice but more expensive than this-but still cheaper than home!!

The resort itself is quite basic. You get what you pay for. The apartments had a bathroom, and a kitchentte/bedroom/living area. The beds where basically 2 matresses in the shape of an L. On a raised cement and tiled area. We pulled the mattressess on to the floor though and it was fine. But do be aware of this-because we arrived and were expecting a bedroom!! The complex is kept very clean. Beds were made everyday, and floors cleaned. Pool is very big and clean. Not alot of sunbeds-considering the size of the complex! But we went down to the beach most days which was lovely and only 15minute walk away. Plenty of sun beds to rent for day.

Staff had very little English. Just don't be expecting to get helpful information off them-they don't have the words to articulate any, or else they are just ignorant..... Would recommend the Slide and Splash Water Park. It was a great day out. The bus was only €8 each-return. The park was €21 adult. Really good fun!

All in all, I would recommend this resort. Location is great-so many things close by! Best of both worlds- the madness of the strip and the chilled-out old town. Room is basic but clean. Just remember the mattresses so you are not surprised. Food and drink is cheap. Air con in the room, huge balcony, grand shower. Staff don't have good english and aren't the friendliest, but everything is at your disposal. Considering how close you are to the strip, you cant hear any music or noise at night time, if the door is closed. Some nights people coming home were quite loud-but that's to be expected.

Room Tip: Request air con. And be aware of the mattresses in apartments for 2 people.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger-That24689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,134)
There are newer reviews for Vilanova Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

848 - 854 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2011

We,ve just come back from the vilanova, it was a nice place to be.Yes the apts are basic but liveable. At first we were given a 1st floor apt opposite the strip, wasnt too happy as i knew this was gona be noisy which was why i,d requested ground floor as far away from the strip as poss. By 5am on our 1st night id had enough and went to complain at reception, i was ready for a good rant but the staff were so kind and understanding about it . I was told to go back at 11am as they will have people checking out and they would move us. Sure enough without any quibble we were moved to a ground floor over looking the pool away from the strip as i had originally requested on booked.So it pays to complain, even if you dont get moved in the first day they will move you asap. It is popular with groups of girls n lads, some are ok , some are loud, its the luck of the draw im afraid. Otherwise the rooms were clean, fairly large and air conditioned and well equipt, ie toaster,oven ,microwave.The pool area is lovely, great for the kids to play as the shallow end is large as well as having a kids seperate pool. Not alot of sunbeds but the grassy area around the pool was nicer anyway.Its handy for the strip and supermarkets though its a distance to the old town , not really walkable, its a 5min taxi ride at 5 euros, or the train goes frequently but would be 16 euros per day for a family of 4. Its worth hiring a car to go to places abit cheaper than using local transport. we hired our car from the reception at 90 euros for 4 days.The beaches are all beautiful, portimao, silves and villamoura are all worth a visit. Would return to the algarve again, though may stay in a different resort thats a little quiter. All in all we had a fab time, so if you,ve already booked and you get a room your not happy with, see them in reception till you get what you want, its worth it to have an enjoyable holiday, dont think we could have stayed in our original room for 2 weeks, but the second room was just perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debnrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

5 of us stayed here for 3 nights in august, we were a group of guys looking for somewhere cheap to lay our heads after a good night of drinking.

The vilanova is cheap and cheerful, our 3 bedroom bungalow had not been decorated since the 80's but was an excellent size and kept very clean. The rating of this resort would be around 2 stars by uk standard but i'm giving it 4 out of 5 for value for money (£240 for 5 adults for 3 nights in august), location and service.

There is a massive pool on site, with diving boards etc, the pool area is generally pretty clean and there is also a nice pool bar serving drinks and snacks at reasonable prices. The resort is right on the strip in the new town with hundreds of bars and restaurants within walking distance.

Vilanova is a good place to stay with mates for a few nights although i prob would not bring my family here as we prefer to be somewhere a little more quiet

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p3ck3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Don't go here if you are over 25 or you have a family.Don't let them put you in block 1 2 or 3 as there is no air conditioning whatsoever,i(f you call a small square fan in the front door).The furniture is very old and falling to bits.Blocks 4 & 5 are a bit better,(as we complained about the aircon & were moved to block 4 & our friends were moved to block 5.)nicer apartments BUT they are right infront of "the strip".Noise off the pubs & people singing,shouting ,swearing & also inside the apartments.I had earplugs in & could still here everything.NIGHTMARE.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawnlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Please Please do not stay here under any circumstances. We only stayed one night, then got travel company to move us ( which cost an extra 600 pounds ) The resort was disgusting, villa was filthy, staff were rude and unhelpfull. If your not robbed here, you would get all kinds of bad illnesses.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janice m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed her last year (2010) and my daughter became seriously ill and was in hospital all holiday and then for 8 week when we got home. We were given another holiday to Portugal at the EDEN RESORT (for 2011) because of our daughters illness whilst staying at the Villa Nova. The EDEN RESORT was absolutely fantastic (see my review), but we decided to go to the Villa Nova to see if it had changed from 2010 and i was suprised to see that it had gone WORSE.

There were young ladies and men hanging from the balconies, drunk, dancing and flashing all their bits to all passers by. Then being sick over the balcony etc. It just remdinded me of the hell hole from the previous year.

If you are on a hen party and want to stay up all night and throwing up round the pool etc., then hey thats fine, but if you are a family then stay away. This hotel is not for a nice holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinah233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

A week long holiday in Portugal was very nearly ruined by our stay at Vilanova.

We arrived aroung midday having made a very early flight from London that morning. We therefore decided to go to bed fairly early that night and had a quiet, non-alcoholic dinner as we were all knackered.

We went to bed at around 11pm. Our room was on the first floor and there was no aircon- the only fan was broken, so we slept with the window open as it was far too hot to do otherwise, but we kept the curtains drawn.

At around 6am I woke up to check the time on my iphone which I kept by my head on the bedside table because i'd set an alarm on it. When I reached for it, it was gone. I woke my friends and they too could not find their phones. All three phones had been taken , including their passports and all their money from out of their bags. Luckily I had put my passport and money in a drawer so we thankfully had some cash.

What shook us more than the stolen goods was the fact that there had been someone in our room at night while we were asleep. What would have happened if one of us had woken and been confronted by him? We were three girls staying alone, anything could have happened and we were lucky it was only money they were after.

We immediately made our way down to the hotel lobby. On our way we saw a security guard aimlessly walking in the courtyard. We told him what had happened. He scratched his head and said that he had seen some men climbing around our block, but that he assumed that they were just trying to get into their own appartment because they had lost their keys or something. I was disgusted that he hadnt even bothered to ask them what they were doing climbing in windows, but we knew there was no point making a fuss as the man could barely speak English.

At the lobby, the receptionist was equally useless. He made it sound like it was our fault for leaving the window open- I don't know whether he thought us baking to death was a better option or what. He kept saying over and over, "and u didn't wake up, you didn't hear a thing?" as though it was our fault for being sound asleep. He was basically insinuating that we must have been drunk and passed out. He was very unhelpful and unsympathetic and kept insisiting that it must have been an 'outside job' or one of the other British tourists. why British tourists would feel the need to steal British passports when they already have their own did not cross his mind.

He let us make one phonecall to cancel credit cards, but then said we had to use the payphone outside. we couldn't buy phone cards because it was 6.30am and the shops weren't open, so we had to take a taxi to the police station because he wouldn't call the police himself.

I have to say that the one positive in all of this was the algarve police. they did not treat us like 3 idiot girls who were "probably-too-drunk-to-look-after-themselves-and-therefore-deserved-it ". they treated us with respect and although they couldn't speak very good English they did not blame us like the hotel receptionist did.

We vacated Vilanova that day, the thought of spending another night there was unbearable, and we continued our holiday at the lovely Alagoamar aparthotel instead which was well worth the money and had a lockable safe in the room.

So please, if you value your life and want a good holiday where hotel staff respect you and help you rather than treat you like a criminal, do not stay at Vilanova. I caught a glimps of their "security camera" monitors and the picture quality in all 8 cameras was blurred, foggy and unclear. they clearly do not care about the safety of their guests, choosing instead to cut corners with cheap security cameras and an incompetent security guard.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank globetrotter470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#99 of 154 in Albufeira
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
0.4 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#95 of 154 in Albufeira
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#69 of 154 in Albufeira
443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
3,350 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#51 of 154 in Albufeira
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilanova Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilanova Resort

Address: Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £12 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilanova Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vilanova Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilanova Hotel Albufeira
Vilanova Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing