We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“vilanova..the last resort” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vilanova Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Vilanova Resort
Ranked #135 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“vilanova..the last resort”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

My wife and I and our daughter arrived here on 1st April 2012. We were booked through Jet2 holidays and the representative was first class, pity about the accommodation. We were given appt 113, when we entered the apartment it was dark and gloomy[ even after we put the lights on] and stank of mothballs. All the rooms were of a similar 1980's style of dark wood, dark ceilings. Despite having booked disabled facilities for the bathroom we were given none. There were shortages in the inventory, there was a microwave cooker but no microwavable plates , no welcome pack or even a dish cloth. The pillows had a strange smell, ditto the beds. We went to see the rep at her meeting the following day and she agreed with our comments that the apartment 'was not fit for purpose' and within a few hours she had moved us to a 4 * complex which was really well adapted to our needs. We met another couple at the meeting and they had similar views on their apartment, they showed me round and it was really awful. This complex was cheap,grimy,and bore no relation to the website and I would not recommend it to any one. Emma the rep was the star of the show and deserves all the praise she should get in sorting out customer complaints efficiently and professionally, I got the distinct impression she had been through the same routine with other clients. The rest of our holiday was first class and Villamoura, Lagos , Quatiera and Saint Vincent were all worth making the effort to go and visit. Would we go back? Yes but to Villamoura or Val de Lobo.

Room Tip: Choose a different complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank alhems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    303
    274
    120
    180
See reviews for
233
361
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

A great place to stay,could not fault the the place.In a good location for restaurants and bars.A big supermarket with cheap prices just up the road.Just10mins to the beach.Booked 3weeks via Lowcost holidays and everything was spot on,good prices and good service at the hotel.No need to use mainstreem holiday companies when you can put a package togeather at half the price yourself.Give the Villanova and Lowcost holidays a try.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LeicesterJohnnyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We got these apartments at a very cheap price so we didn't expect to be blown away by what we got here, although when we arrived the reception staff were very friendly and did everything they could to help; we stayed on a self catering basis and our apartment was cleaned by very friendly cleaners, we had a two bedroom apartment that had 2 bathrooms and it was very spacious for the five of us that were staying there. The location couldn't have been better - right on the strip where there is café's, restaurants, shops, bars, etc. It was also just a five minute walk to the lovely beach.
At the apartments, we had a bottom floor villa, and we couldn't enjoy sitting in the terrace as there was a very strong smell of cat poo, and the beds were also a bit hard, but apart from that, we had a great holiday and would recommend Vilanova to anybody wanting a good holiday, at a cheap price.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kimbxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We have once again stayed at this Vilanova Resort, we stayed last year (6 of us) and really enjoyed our stay. We then had an apartment for 2, but it was VERY big, with a massive balcony that was very private, view over the pool.

This year we (8 of us this time) decided to pay a little more for the one bedroomed VILLA....they were really lovely!!!.

MASSIVE....very big outside patio area...Large living room with TV, good sized kitchen with Oven, Microwave, Fridge & small Freezer compartment, Toaster, Electric Kettle..so EVERYTHING you would need for a very comfortable and very CHEAP week!!

The decor and surrounding areas are a bit dated..BUT....does it really matter when you are out and on the beach most of the day?...OR

Even by the very BIG pool....which is FREE,....and really lovely to sit by, as you are within a short distance from your room, so can nip back for drinks snacks etc......

UNLESS YOU WANT THE 5* ....this is the place to stay...
Cleaned EVERY DAY by the very friendly maids, who make your beds, mop the floor empty the bins...what more could you want for about £75 per week?????

GET BOOKING ....If you are on a budget, you WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED
.....and.....2 mins walk out the resort and you are on the "STRIP"....
Not for me though, that's why we went in March!! LOL

ENJOY YOUR HOLS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! X <3

Room Tip: Although the one bedroom Villas are very nice and EXCELLENT value for money, we did find the stair t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jantex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

My partner and i have been staying here on and off for the last 10 years. We rememer the days back then when it was a thomson holidays haven!! buzzing with families and quite expensive to stay there. we have stayed in the studios, appartments and villas and one year was lucky enough to get the roof terrace.
we have just returned today from 10 days there. I have to say we really enjoyed it once again. This time we had one of the 1 bedroom villas. I suppose you could say that the place has not really been updated in a long while. Curtains, decor ect.. is still the same as it has always been. Hence why now it is so much cheaper to stay there to. We paid £230 for the villa for the two of us on bed and breakfast for the 10 days. Booked with alpharooms and the flight with easyjet. Got the transfer via alpharooms. The company they use are 'best destination ' they were cheap and prompt. We found out a taxi from the airport would be 50 euros each way so transfers work out better value.
Anyway going back to the vila nova i would definatly recomend the villas. They are furthest away from the noisey strip.. We had 8 of our 10 days in complete peace and quiet. 2 days were a bit spoilt by a very large and loud family that spent they whole holiday shouting at each other and the noise carried though to our villa. After a few complaints from various neighbours and ourselfs we think they were moved on so we were back to our peace.
I imagine/know it can get 'very lively' in the summer months. I personally would not recomend it to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday in the peak season. We heard many a drunk person returning from nights out and thats in march. Although i think in the summer they do have a night security man to help controll people returning and disturbing others.
The vila nova resort itself is extrmely clean and tidy. The gardens are well tended to. The staff all do a super job. I think the towells were changed every 3 days and the beds once during our stay. No sign of bed bugs!! I had a good look at the mattress and under the bed with a torch . No bugs to be seen. We never got any bites and i am the type of person that will get bitten if anything is around that bites.
The hot water as someone mentioned in a previous review needs time to reheat between baths. My partner left it 30 mins or so after my bath before he had his we both got hot water then.
Breakfast was either in the reception bar or the pool bar (weather permitting) It was bread rolls, croisants, ham, cheese, jam, fresh orange juice and tea, coffee or hot chocolate. The man serving it was a lovely friendly chap. He happily served it to us when we arrived late due to forgetting the clocks had changed!! It is worth the money but be aware it is not a greasy full English or a buffet. We tended to have some cereal in the villa and then have our breakfast around 11 as more of a lunch.
The pool as stated is full of seagulls!! which put me off a bit. So i declined to us it. But there is nothing the resort can do about the gulls. They obviously think it is theres to use. It was also a bit cold in March. But there were some brave souls (mostly youngters fresh from the pool bar!!)
The weather was fabulous. Only 2 slightly dodgy days. It rained most of last night. The temp was around 20-22. It did get chilly at night so if your going in March take a jacket or a cardie for the evening you wll need it.
The actual resort of Sao joao was starting to open up during our stay. Around 50% of the strip was open and most of the other things showing signs of opening for the easter period. The Montechoro strip was a bit dead with but once again showing signs of life. The bars and resturants on this part of the strip are the more sedate and the ones i would recommend. Try the 60's bar for good 60's, 70,s 80's and 90's music.
please also try senhor frogs pizzeria on the montechoro strip (not the one on the main strip)
I can honestly say it is the best pizza i have eaten in my life. We always visit there more than once.
Heres my top tips. Take a mug (the cups supplied are tiny). Book a villa rather than an appartment. Book breakfast but have it late so it is more of a lunch. Put some sunbeds on your villa terrace it is more peaceful and private than by the pool. avoid during peak season. The better bars and resturants are on the montechoro strip and the santa eulalia road.
Also no gym as advertised on some websites... It used to be in block 5 but appears to have gone.
any questions feel free to ask me

Room Tip: villas are better. although please be aware to get to the mezzamine floor bedroom you do have to cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank takmij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Just back from a weeks stay in villanova had an excellent week had a one bedroom appartment very clean and spacious cleaners in every day ,and no sign of any bed bugs which we were a bit concerned about before we went. Ideal location right on the strip which was a bit quiet but hey still managed to stay out till three or four in the mornng usally having a good time in the blue star and thats from us fiflty somethings. Would definatley stay there again good value for money.Like the previous reveiws we also used yellow fish transfers and found their service excellent the bottle of wine as a gift from them was also a nice touch.

Room Tip: pool view rooms get the most sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Booked to stay 10th to 17th Feb 2012. Great value for money. We had a three bed apartment for just under £90 for the week. Marvellous value for money however the apartment was very "dated" and in need of a facelift. It was clean and very spacious but the hot water was in short supply. After one shallow bath it ran cold. The pool area was lovely and well cared for. I would recommend the location as it is right on the strip but during the height of the season I would imagine it to be very noisy. Just want to mention that the room wouldnt be suitable for anyone with mobility problems as the bedrooms were on ground level but the kitchen and room were up a steep flight of stairs. I would consider staying here again out of season but don't feel it to be worth the £1,400 for a week in August...... Would like to add that the staff were very friendly and helpful.Loved Albufuera. This is our tenth visit. After trying a few other taxi/transfer companies we decided to try "Yellowfish Transfers." We had seen the transfer cars on other occasions. The drivers were incredibly friendly and the service was top class and very competitively priced. Would highly recommend you give them a try, we will be using them again for sure.

Room Tip: poolside rooms bestfor families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#89 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
5.0 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#51 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#39 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#25 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.7 mi away
Choromar Apartments
Choromar Apartments
#65 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilanova Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilanova Resort

Property: Vilanova Resort
Address: Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilanova Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vilanova Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilanova Hotel Albufeira
Vilanova Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing