We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Vilanova Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vilanova Resort
Ranked #131 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This will be the third time I'll be going back to the Vilanova Resort, because of the prime location. Its just off the Alubufiera Strip, meer seconds away from the hub of nightlife. The staff can be slightly rude, on first meeting however since we've been back they've been very accomodating and recognized us. We stayed in one of the villas by the pool, and were impressed by the size. Could do with redecorating, because the rooms are quite dated however we werent bothered. Could have been cleaner, it wasn't by any means filthy. Maid was in daily, however on one occasion we did have to request new towels as one was dirty! Really liked how the villa had patio doors and its own private patio, for sitting out in the evening and gave good access to the pool. Pool is nice, big and 3 diving boards, so quite deep. However there are a serious shortage in sun loungers- you'd have to be up at the crack of dawn to get one for everyone. We often had to lay on the grass, which wasn't very comfortable. Plenty of fantastic restaurants and bars close by, also supermarket if you fancy eating in. Wouldn't recommend for families, as there are more family friendly hotels in the area, and the Vilanova attracts youngsters, and stags and hen weekends, because of its location. Will definitely visit again, as every time we've been we've had a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crazygal1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2013

I will keep this short. I booked this as a holiday for my mum's 50th birthday.

it is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

absolutely stinking and when you complain receptionist does not listen. very rude staff

DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mlv_belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I have stayed for a weekend in a 3 bedroom villa. The villa is basic with all things necessary. The best in this resort is the location and the areas, because we are at the heart of Albufeira town and look that we are in the country! Really good areas! I recomment

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xfparreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Always try to book Vilanova when in the Algarve. Good value for money, always clean. Yes it is dated but it is one of the oldest in town.Staff are friendly, helpful.Very handy for the 'strip' and the nightlife, restuarants and shops.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank kevandor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Just back from the Villanova 30.10.12 and to be honest this was an ideal hotel for my family. As stated yje hotel is dated but it;s very clean and the appartments are very well equipt for anyone wanting to go self catering. The hotel has a great garden area surrounding the pools, a very nice pool bar open from 10am to 5pm in the winter.

This hotel has a fantastic location being set on the strip, shops, bars and resturaunts are on the doorstep, trips leave from the front of the hotel and the tourist train leaves from across the road.

Don't be put off by the cheap price of a room per night, I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I was in block 4 and it was nice and quiet and a large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rotorboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We have just got back from the vilanova resort. To be honest i wasn't sure what i was expecting as i go to Benidorm twice a year but because portugal came up cheap we just went for it. We booked through our local travel agents and the photo's looked nice what we didn't know was we had actually booked a studio and we thought we were going to stay in a villa. We arrived around 4pm and it was raining:( The receptionist was very nice, she spoke good English. She gave us a map and i thought we were gonna get lost but we didn't. She said if u go out here follow this pass the pool walk straight ahead u will come to block 2, go round the back in the lift and your room number 2204....omg!!!! The studio's are very basic but its what u need if u wont be in much. it had a small kitchen with all the essentials that u need. we even had a kettle... that's good, usually u need to boil the water in a pot. The room did smell of smoke though and it never went away. The rooms are needing updated. we had lamps beside the bed which were on the wall...wooden blocks with a cheap tackie light bulb which someone scored there name in it in 1994. That's how old the place actually is. Anyway we only paid 200 pounds for so we shouldn't really complain. The maids did come in every day but didn't do a thing until one day we were in and asked if they can change the bed sheets and towels after 5 days of being there. They were nice enough though and did change them. The location is ideal. Right on the strip so no need for taxi's as all the entertainment on your doorstep. If u walk across the road u can jump on the road train. 3 euro 50 for an all day ticket. Takes u to the old town and i must say the old town is very nice. Nice beach, a few shops and lots of cafe's and bars. If i ever go back to Portugal i think i would rather stay in the old town. There is a really good takeaway that is underneath the Vilanova who does the best pepperoni pizza's :)......Oh the beds in the studio's are on a bit concrete with a matress on top but they are comfy enough. Not good for couples though as the other bed is like a mile away. If your young your better going to the other end of the strip. Great club called Savanah also cafe mambo and La Bamba. There all good place's to drink. 5 euro a vodka and you get a free shot in every bar. Cocktails are around 5 6 euro each and a jug of sangria is 8.50 euro on happy hour after that 12.50. I did have a good time in Portugal but wouldn't go back in a rush. The people are really friendly, we met some nice people there.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a villa....much nicer which sits around the pool area. Although if your wanti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claire51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Just returned from a week at the vilanova resort. To be honest I was a little nervous due to reading through the reviews before we went. However the apartments were exactly what we needed for our stay. We had a studio which was ideal. Small kitchen area with everything you would need for self catering. Clean bathroom with fresh towels twice a week. Room was cleaned daily with beds also being made. Only downside to the room is that there was only 1 mirror that was in the bath room. Nothing near a plug!

Staff were really friendly both at the poolside bar and reception. There are very few sun beds around wasn't sure if this was due to it being low season but you would really struggle in the high season.

Location is great just behind the main strip but right near the stop for the train in the old town.

Would definatly return and recommend to a friend.

One thing I will say is that you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lotti28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#30 of 154 in Albufeira
812 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#94 of 154 in Albufeira
488 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belavista Avenida
Belavista Avenida
#100 of 154 in Albufeira
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
0.3 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#102 of 154 in Albufeira
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilanova Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilanova Resort

Address: Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £11 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilanova Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vilanova Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilanova Hotel Albufeira
Vilanova Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing