We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Vilanova Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vilanova Resort
Ranked #133 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

These were very nice villas, very spacious, clean & comfortable. Maids did come in every day but bit slow on changing sheets. No kettle until asked for. Someone is on reception 24hrs. Beautiful grounds & pool area. Ideal for 'the strip', masses of shops & bars etc. Unfortunately the beach was to far away for me, had to catch the 'train' & go to next beach down which was in the old town & very nice. Lovely weather too!

Room Tip: the rooms are so nice that unless you want to be near a particular place ie- pool, I don't think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    316
    309
    139
    201
See reviews for
243
386
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We went here just for a quick weeks break and duty free stuff instead of paying silly prices in the uk, weather was great, got a free upgrade to a 2 bedroom villa with garden. Maids were in every day, spotless clean villa. We both slept like a log, beds were good, fantastic location for the strip.
People on reception were very polite and helpfull all the time we stayed there. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants a good base, good location and some fun while you are on holiday. This is the first place where they have not charged us for booking our transfer back to the airport unlike other places.

Room Tip: The villas are great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank inkyBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Not long back from vilanova resort. Unfortunately we got bad weather so it put a dampner of things but not vilanova fault.
We had no kettle but asked for one at reception and one was left in ny room that day.
There was a maid came in every day to empty bins and change towels. The shower was great really powerful.
I was in block 3which overlooked the pool. Each studio has a balcony kitchenette livin area with tv. There is a cooker microwave toaster cutlery and crockery pots and pans.
Eating out is cheap enough and kebab place beside vilanova does lovely breakfast burgers and kebabs. Its open till 4 am.
Location is brilliant. Girls the strip is cobbled street so ur high heels sticks in the cracks. I ended up just wearing flat sandals.
The pool is big and great for relaxing.
The beach is lovely snd about 10mins walk away . The stop for the train to the old town is just accross the road round the corner. Its € 4 for a day ticket.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Ewery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I had read some bad reviews so was pleasantly susprised. yes it was basic but its 3 star what do you expect for the price youve paid. We stayed in a 3 bed villa rooms were quite big and 2 bathrooms It was clean and maids came in everyday. Location was good close to beach and strip. Perfect for partying if you want a quiet relaxing holiday stay somewhere else! Weather was lovely was raining for 2hrs on the friday then the sun came out and it was lovely for rest of the week. Only bad point was not enough plug sockets in rooms and when youve got teenage girls trying to get ready with straightners and hairdryers it was a bit of a struggle.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suebragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just returned back from a 3 night stay here and cant complain really for how little i paid after reading the reviews some people made it out to be a right hell hole but its not that bad at all. Friendly reception staff, checked in fine. We had a room in one of the blocks, quite a big room with kitchenette. Clean but basic. Clean sheets on beds, well sofa beds as you could turn them into a sofa, tv's great as it has bbc1 and itv so the rainy days you can sit in and watch some half decent tv but we never did as we had 3 lovely warm sunny days and spent it on the beach. The hotel is situated right on strip so ideal for the party goers. The hotel block can be noisy i never slept well as there were lots of slamming of doors at 4am every morning without fail. I think its best to ask for one of the chalet type rooms those look better for families and older couples. The pool area is big with a pool bar serving snacks etc. The hotel could be great if it was given a small make over. Dont bother paying for breakfast as we did and never got it and there was no restaurant so dont know where they serve breakfast but theres plenty of places to get a breakfast on the strip and the cost is reasonable. This place is ideal if you want just a bed, mirror, shower like we do as we always go off walking and spend most of our days on the beach but if your the typical british moaner who spends most of their time taking pictures of dirt etc instead of going off and enjoying your holiday/break then dont go here cause you bound to fault it some how, but if your like me and just make the most of the time your there and dont let petty things ruin your holiday then its great think some people just moan for the sake of moaning. Theres plenty of things to do in the area with lots of bars/restaurants for ages,the beach is gorgous lots of rocks and caves to go walking theres also restaurants along beach so you dont even have to move far for lunch. Cant wait to go back and yes i would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool as its quieter than overooking strip
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank R-BIRMINGHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cocoapops
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

After booking a mini break for me and my 11 year old daughter, I was terrified of going here after reading some of the reviews, however I need not have worried. I'm only saying that some of the points are not true however it is no where near as bad as some people make out or perhaps I am just a bit more laid back than others. We stayed in block 4 in a one bedroom apartment.

I will start with the negatives : yes the beds are not the most comfortable that I have ever slept on and to be honest after the first two nights I spent the last two nights on the sofa in the living area which was much more comfortable.

Unfortunately there were about 20 Irish lads who were also staying in our block that decided it was a good idea at 4.30 in the morning when they came in to make so much noise everyone knew they were home, the walls are very thin which does add to the noise.

It is true that some of the buildings could do with a bit of paint but it's hardly a major issue.

Now the positives: the rooms are very clean and we had maid service 2 days out of the 4 that we were there. There is everything you need in the apartment, the shower was lovely and powerful and always warm water. The room was very spacious.

I saw no problems around the pool, there was a big mixture of people, families, older people and young groups.

The service at the pool bar was good and the food lovely, staff friendly. I never had any problems with any of the reception staff and encountered about 5 different people on the different occasions I went. I thought the safe near the reception would be a bit dodgy but it was absolutely fine and is in a room off to the side of the reception.

The hotel is in a prime location for all the bars and restaurants, the beach is not too far away either.

All in all we had a good time, this is not a billed as a five star hotel and therefore that is not what you are going to get.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cocoapops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
standish
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just arrived back from Vilanova Resort, literally. Complex is a large dated collection of apartments and villas, we stayed in a 3 bed villa which was much bigger than expected, a large patio area that lead directly to the pool was great for the kids, the resort could do with shutting down and painting, rooms have well gone past their sell by date! if you looked closely at everything you soon realise the entire complex is in dire need of updating, but, and this I stress, it is a cheap getaway, we didn't pay for the Ritz, so didn't expect it. Rooms were kept clean, beds were okay, pool was large and clean (although the surrounding tiles were broken and had grass growing everywhere) , location sells this resort, as you are right in the middle of everything, food on the strip consists of a variety from seafood and steaks to burgers n chips, something for everyone. Happy hour large beers 1.50 euro, wine from 1 euro. If you want to cook yourself, use the Pingo Supermarket on the main road (turn right out the complex, left at the top of road and stroll down 5 mins to Worm Roundabout) fantastic choice and price.

The Vilanova resort though is not for families with young children, it can get unbelievably rowdy, our kids ranged from 11 to 19 so it didn't bother them, do not book this hotel if you get offended by drunks! Entertainment wise, none! unless you like laughing at drunks making complete fools of themselves. The beach is an easy 10 min stroll, Albufeira old town is about 30 mins, or you can jump the happy train for 2.50 euro,

All in the resort was Okay, for the price we paid we got a spacious apartment, and the kids were happy, yep the weather wasn't brilliant but that's not the fault of Vilanova. Had a great time, all the same.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gaynor p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.6 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#64 of 154 in Albufeira
426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#85 of 154 in Albufeira
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#45 of 154 in Albufeira
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
3.0 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#50 of 154 in Albufeira
583 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#95 of 154 in Albufeira
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilanova Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilanova Resort

Property: Vilanova Resort
Address: Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilanova Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vilanova Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilanova Hotel Albufeira
Vilanova Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing