We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vilanova”
Review of Vilanova Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vilanova Resort
Ranked #131 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Just came back enjoyed our stay pools were nice on the strip. Plenty of facilities near by. Basic apartment but spacious 2 balconies . Microwave cooker fridge kettle toaster pots pans utensils. Bath showwr toilet bidet . Cleaned everydayWe were over the strip but didnt mind as we were out on it mostly . Nice pool bar. Lifts to the rooms. Reception with pool table internet phone sofas lockers. And u can leave your key at 24 hr reception if u think u might lose it . 10 min walk to beach .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ruth19811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 1,160 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Not for the faint hearted, or elderly, or romance, or children. In fact unless you're on a stag or hen party this place is grim. Our room had no lighting for the first two days and the toilet wouldn't flush. We were eventually just given a key to the next room. I got bites from the bed and I didn't see any mosquitos.... food is like that of a social club, toasties and burgers order of the day but fine for a group of lads. There were broken chairs, clothes and numerous other random artefacts peppered around the resort. It has beds, a pool and a bar so for that it get's one star. The surrounding area is just a brits abroad paradise, blackpool but warmer. Again, fine for stag and hen parties but grim for anything else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PrideInService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This will be our second attempt at wrIting a review about this resort as the first one was pulled by trip advisor as beiNg too strong of an opinion and honest.

Anyway this resort is not for middle aged couples nor families with children, they cater for hens and stag parties and we all know what that means, if you want to stay in Albufeira then I suggest the old town away from all the noise from the Strip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank scotland69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

When we arrived late on Saturday evening the staff member on duty did not even look at us.
We asked her questions about the area and she said to speak to the staff the following morning. She was not one bit helpful, we saw her on duty during the week as we made our way to the safe and again she did not have the manners to say hello, it cost nothing to do so.
We did meet nicer staff the following morning when we again asked for an upgrade, which we got.
We were told good and bad reviews about this accomadation and the ones who said it was cheap and cheerful were right.
The location was good, and we were lucky enough to meet a group of english ladies who filled us in on what to do and where to go to.
We found that there was no information available at the reception desk to promote the wonderful Train service, the beautiful beach, and lovely resturants in the area.
The cleaning ladies were lovely and very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Kerrymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The booking in process is very straight forward however on entering the room things take a bit of a dive, the room, dishes and cutlery where not clean, from the 8 lights around the 1 bed apartment only 4 worked, after unpacking we went to sit on the small balcony with a drink, there we found the only 2 chairs provided, 1 of which was broken and unusable. during the next days we found that basics like corkscrew, bottle opener and can opener are not provided, don't understand how this rates as 3 star, certainly not upto this rating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just returned from Vilanova Resort. The rooms are pretty basic but didn't spend that much time in them. Some of the beds are on concrete slabs but were very comfy. There were a lot of stag/hen parties staying there, especially at the weekends. We stayed in the garden apartments and never heard any noise from the strip. Did hear quite a bit of noise around 5am some mornings of people returning back after their nights out. This didn't spoil our holiday though.
Everyone there was very friendly and lots to do. Albufeira is lovely and is very easy to get to either by the little train or taxi. All the food we ate whilst there was beautiful and would definitely go back to Albufeira again. Would go back to VilaNova again but probably not with young families.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank hartbreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Not for couples over a certain age or families with kids as can be very rowdy with groups of all males or females, stayed in a studio on Block 4 ( not good )- The noise from people coming and going can be a bit annoying, we went with Jet 2 and for the price we paid I would expect more. Thankfully the train ride to the old town showed us that next time we will stay away from " THE STRIP" and go to the Old Town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alice c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
810 reviews
0.5 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#85 of 154 in Albufeira
3,419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#95 of 154 in Albufeira
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#100 of 154 in Albufeira
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#96 of 154 in Albufeira
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilanova Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilanova Resort

Address: Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £11 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilanova Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vilanova Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilanova Hotel Albufeira
Vilanova Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing