We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic, but who spends their holiday in the hotel room?!”
Review of Vilanova Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vilanova Resort
Ranked #131 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very basic, but who spends their holiday in the hotel room?!”
Reviewed 24 October 2010

I try never read reviews before I actually go on holiday, but because I was traveling with a very young family, I thought It might have been a good idea just to read what other people and some families thought.

I read such things as bugs in the beds, non-stop noise, mold in the bathroom... This is exactly why I don't read what other people think until AFTER I come home!!

The Vilanova Resort is very good value for money, and as a result, is very basic. But come on! How much time do you spend in your room when your on holiday!?
I was there with a young family (2 kids aged 3 months and 4 years) and when we arrived (after midnight) the reception staff were very helpful (if a little slow!)

We finally got to the one bedroom villa (after negotiating a tricky and quite poorly lit route through the resort) and were so tired that we just fell into bed. The following morning, we awoke to a lovely little cottage-style villa with a kitchen (inc. microwave, toaster, kettle, oven, hob and all the utensils and crockery) with a patio area and a huge bathroom.

Now, I'm not gonna sugarcoat it: the villa could have done with a lick of paint and some poly-filler, but it was clean and tidy. There was no mold in the bathroom and no definitely no bugs in the beds!!

The pool area is lovely (unfortunately, not heated which would have been nice in October!) with plenty of sun loungers. There is also a lot of grassy areas to sit on. We didn't make use of the pool-side bar, but it was always busy.

As for the noise... we didn't hear a sound our entire trip. It does depend on where you stay in the resort because 'The Strip' runs along one entire side of it. There are clubs, bars and restaurants that are open until the wee hours! During the day though, The Strip is a perfect little area for shopping, eating and just generally walking around!

You can book excursions to some really nice places - We went to ZooMarine (which is perfect for kids, with swimming pools, slides, animals, fairground rides and some really good animal shows) and I would definitely recommend it. There are others that include day trips to Gibraltar, shopping trips to Lisbon, really fun water parks and safari-style Jeep rides.

There are tons of amenities right on your doorstep when you stay at this hotel. Take the Tourist Train (which stops right outside the main entrance to Vilanova) up The Strip and along to the amazing beach or stay on it and ride around the area.

So, still not sure if Vilanova Resort is for you? Go on! Take the plunge and have a fantastic holiday!! :)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pinkgem_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    310
    305
    133
    193
See reviews for
238
383
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Just back from Villanova, Albufeira (30/9/10-5/10/10). We were a group of 12 40+ girls on a 5 night stay and it was cheap accommodation so our expectations were not high. Our villa was basic, served the purpose, they are a little dated and I would not go back with hubby & kids for certain. Pool a little grubby and green, think it needs a good clean, also absolutely freezing, we didn't venture beyond our knees in it. A group of 4 girls in late teens having a drinks fest round pool one day at 4pm - tipping drinks in a funnel down their necks - not very nice for the kids with families around pool to witness. But biggest word of warning to any potential holidaymakers - BEWARE OF THIEVING ROBBING SCUMBAGS - our apartment broke into on night 3. They came in via patio door, which is not very secure, didn't take them much effort to lift it a couple of inches in order to open it. We had all our euros, english cash, ipods, mobiles, credit cards taken - no fun arriving back at 2am to a trashed room. Management not really interested, no apology. Police not really interested, came and had a look round that night, but when we went to station the next morning the officers had not logged it. There are no safes in the rooms and we only found out there are safes at reception that can be rented AFTER WE WERE ROBBED. Might have been nice to have had the offer of them when we arrived. Anyway we tried not to let it dampen the rest of our holiday and slightly lucky for us our fellow 6 holidaymakers who were 5 doors down did not get robbed so thankfully were able to bail us out and get money for us. Also luckily one of the 6 in our room took our passports out with her, and tickets were with the other apartment. So just bear in mind the security side of things and RENT A SAFE because you never know who is going to be next. Definitely won't be back in a hurry. Lesson learnt for sure though - our possessions will not be left out ever again! Resort is a bit of a Benidorm, heaving with stag weekends, etc, but if that's what you're after then give it a go, drinks and food were cheap, so that was a bonus (well for those who have money left and don't get their room robbed LOL). Have fun.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amsiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
bedford uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

i had made enquiries with the hotel about a room and what facilities one would have and they put all info on our form however when one arrived not given request room but given a room that you thought you had your own disco in it change next day but the corridors in the early mornings people thought they were great echo chambers so no a lot of sleep. Meals out were very good breakfast at hotel was good beds were matress on a concrete tile block so no sleeping together even though requested it.The coach transfer waited and hour and a hlf at airport before we moved we had alrady been delayed and this then made it very very long day would not recommend coach transfers.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raybray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Ok, its not the best in town but we paid £600 for 2 in a villa flight included. Great location for bars and beach. Not noise or dirt in the swimming pool.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamours3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

After reading reviews of this Hotel i was slightly worried about going however we arrived at the hotel a few hours before our check in time and went to reception just to see if they would let us check in early and the lady on reception was ver helpful, made a few calls and we got checked in straight away, there were 6 girls between the ages of 17 and 27 staying in a two bedroom villa which basic but was plenty big enough for us, the location of the complex is excellent literally a 2 minute walk to the strip where there are great restaurants and bars (windsurf being our favourite great for food and karoke).

This is a very young a lively complex there are lots of groups of people and it can be quite noisy if your looking for a nice quiet family holiday then this is not the place to stay but as far as it go's for people wanting a lively holiday this is the perfrect location, we will definately be going back !!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nats1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

during our stay we witnessed vomit floating in the pool on two occasions,the tiles around
the pool were so dirty people had wrote names in the dirt,poolside groups drinking all day with staff not clearing rubbish grassy areas filthy with fag butts,bottle tops etc.this was a bad surprise to us as we had stayed in a villa 8yrs previous and had an excellent time.either the management has changed or just given up!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riddle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Went to albuferia last week with my husband and 15mth old baby. Stayed one night out of seven nights. Ran out of there and booked into Ondamar Apt hotel which was much nicer. The Vilanova was a terrible apt. Stayed in Block 1 at back of the complex - opposite to the strip, so only good thing no noise, but a long walk away from reception. No Air con, one fan, no kettle or toaster. Stained mattress in babies cot. Staff in reception were very helpful. Large complex with large pool and baby pool. Suitable for hens & stag parties, with gangs drinking during the day around the pool area.

Definate NO!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#82 of 154 in Albufeira
453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#65 of 154 in Albufeira
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#42 of 154 in Albufeira
755 reviews
3.0 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#50 of 154 in Albufeira
575 reviews
1.3 mi away
Turial Park
Turial Park
#110 of 154 in Albufeira
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilanova Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilanova Resort

Property: Vilanova Resort
Address: Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilanova Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vilanova Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilanova Hotel Albufeira
Vilanova Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing