We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect introduction to The Algarve.”
Review of Vila Gale Praia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Praia
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Perfect introduction to The Algarve.”
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Overall a wonderful stay. The staff were attentive and extremely helpful.

The breakfast each morning served a good range of food, although there is a lack if toast unfortunately (and when I ordered some it never showed up). But the tea was good which is always hit or miss in Europe.

Normally I am quite a foodie and never return to the same restaurant but we ended up eating dinner in the hotel three out of four nights. The bread/sparkling wine/amuse bouche for 2.50 euros as the starter is fantastic and we were given a voucher for a free bottle of wine.

Due to the bad weather we had to rely on the spa, which was worth the 5 euro cover charge. However, I did resent the 2.50 euros each for the swim cap to use the jacuzzi in addition. When it did brighten up, it would have been nice if the outdoor pool had been heated. Lovely, comfy loungers by the pool though.

This was my first each holiday and I would happily return again to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tal202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    163
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
64
461
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
woking
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

It was our third visit to this Hotel, having stayed for 2 weeks in September, and a weekend in February, I decided that this was the perfect place to stay for my 40th birthday.
The hotel is beautifully quiet, and on arrival you just immediately unwind..
We had invited a group of friends to join us, as we were having a party at Pedras Amarellas restaurant, on the beach front, and this was the ideal location. Considering it was not high season yet, and therefore there probably wasnt as many staff on duty as in high season, we found the service to be fantastic, with all of the staff being helpful, and always around when we needed them, and the restaurant staff teriffic, especially Pedro and Felipe.
I would highly recommend Pedras Amarellas restaurant, the staff were amazing, and really pulled out all of the stops to make my birthday the best ever, putting candles on the beach and on the rocks, and lounge furniture and bean bags outside, so that you could sit and listen to the waves!! We also hired a local singer called Jaoa Faisca who was amazing, and had us dancing into the early hours!!.. The food was also amazing, having fresh fish and local portugese wine. Louis, Marco and their staff deserve a medal!
All of our friends are hotelliers, and were all very impressed by the service from the hotel, and the restaurant
We will definately return, to what i believe was the perfect hotel, the perfect restaurant and and the perfect location.

Room Tip: Third floor, pool view has a surprise sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Travelled with a friend for the first time to Portugal ( Albuferia - Gale) over the Royal Wedding weekend. The hotel was excellent. Tranquil and peaceful; a place to really get away from it all an recharge batteries. However, depending on your individual expectations and requirements it may be too quiet for some as there was no entertainment on offer either in the hotel or in the immediate area save for a couple of restaurants. Initailly i was disappointed by this as the Gale area had a feeling of a 'ghost town' with no atmosphere, largely, i am told, due to the fact of being low season and the vast majority of the surounding properties being private holiday villas not yet occupied.
However having briefly sampled the tawdry 'delights' of the old town one evening we were very glad to retreat back to the classy haven of Hotel Vila Gale Praia.

In terms of Location the hotel couldn't be better placed just 200meters from miles of wide, clean beautiful sandy beach with interesting rock pools and caves to explore.
The hotel is approx 10k from the old town, accessed via the free shuttle bus they provide or taxi ( 10e). In my opinion the quality of the hotel more than compensates for the quiet surroundings.
The hotel itself is furnished and maitained to a high standard in termsof cleanliness and decor; a mix of modern and portuguese flavours. The pool area is delightful. The staff are extremely obliging, friendly, professional and very attentive - nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast was to a high standard and an extensive variety was on offer. We dined once and a pleasant dinner was enjoyed with a complimentary bottle of wine.
All in all the perfect hotel for a classy, 'get-away-from-it- all' holiday but i feel the ambiance could be enhanced with some quality entertainement (not bingo or kareoke etc)

Room Tip: Not a lively place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sonnetts67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire, U.K.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We had visited this hotel four years earlier and were very pleased to see that nothing had changed, apart from the price! It was actually slightly cheaper to stay in one of the lovely rooms overlooking the pool.
The staff were very friendly but not overbearing. The food was excellent and the wide variety of Portuguese wines would be hard to beat in any resort.
Outside, the grounds are under-stated but perfectly tranquil with ample sun-loungers.
You must visit the spa and experience one of the health treatments available but make sure you book in advance as the therapists are in demand by guests from other hotels and private residences.
The beach with its wonderful sands are about three minutes stoll away, as are a small selection of local bars and cafes.
We're going again in September!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Utnapishtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

A lovely hotel with very helpful staff. a very quiet and peaceful hotel with very clean rooms, wonderful breakfast (served 7 till 11 am, ideal for those who like holiday layins) makes a difference to those hotels with breakfast ends at 9am and you feel rushed as they clear up around you.. Dinner in the evenings very good if rather expensive and fine dining style ! free bottle of wine on 1st (and only) visit. take dvds a limited selection available. English but all subtitled with portugeese. It is an ideal hotel if you just want to chill, take walks on the beautiful playpit type sandy beaches 100yds down the road, read books etc but not a lot else to do in this mainly residential area, I recommend hiring a car for a few days as we did and go out exploring the beautiful beachs and area in the day. We ate at Sao Domingos (as recommended by a reviewer) very nice food and service and found the little cove up the road . The Spa is charged extra at 5e a day each which i think is a shame, you expect to pay for treatments etc but not a dip in a bubbly pool lovely as it looked . All in all we had a wonderful few days and would go again, we went in off peak season I wonder if the hotel and beaches would be crowded in peak..

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Me and my girlfriend stayed in the hotel 31 december till 2 january. Very nice hotel and very friendly and helpfull staff. We recomend the romantic and spa package, very good value for the service. The massage was outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezinore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

A spotless hotel just a minute's walk to a gorgeous beach. On arrival we were greeted with refreshing mint tea and cool towels, very welcome as we sought to acclimatise to the hotter weather. The food was surprisingly outstanding, I recommend in particular the veggie sandwich served poolside, it involved lovely home made pesto, crisp vegetables and tasty bread. Before arriving João was very helpful in organising the airport transfer, a level considerate attentive service maintained throughout our stay. We went in the off season and this was fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RainLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
8.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,009 reviews
7.2 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,207 reviews
7.7 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
4.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
178 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Praia

Property: Vila Gale Praia
Address: Estrada da Gale | Apartado 2204, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#2 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Praia 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adult's only hotel is located in a peaceful Gale district of the city, close to the like-named sandy beach. It is about 8 km to the city centre of Albufeira that offers countless shopping and entertainment venues and that can easily be reached by making use of the public bus service that departs from a stop located just 150 m from the hotel. Faro international airport is located some 50 km away. Completely renovated in 2004, this 3 storey hotel has a total of 40 double rooms. Guests have access to a vast pool and garden complex, a spacious foyer with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk, a games room, a TV room, a newspaper stand, several shops, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area. Room and laundry services as well as medical assistance are on offer and guests may make use of the parking facilities. The tastefully decorated rooms come equipped with a bathroom with hairdryer, a telephone, LCD TV with cable, a hi-fi stereo system, a kitchenette, a minibar/fridge, a double bed, carpeting, air conditioning, central heating, a hire safe, a sitting area and a balcony or terrace. In the outdoor area there is a swimming pool, a snack bar and a sun terrace with parasols and sun loungers laid out ready for use. It is also possible to make use Satsanga Spa with mega Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room/Turkish bath, fitness room, a massage service and beauty treatments. The nearest golf course is approximately 1 km away. Guests may select their breakfast from a wide buffet; lunch and dinner may be chosen from a menu although the evening meal may alternatively be taken a la carte. Guests have the opportunity to book a half board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Vila Gale Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Praia Hotel
Vila Gale Praia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing