We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Again”
Review of Vila Gale Praia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Praia
Ranked #4 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Again”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Had another fabulous 9 day R&R at the beautiful Gale Praia. Staff excellent especially Filipe and Catarina whom we have come to know over the years. Spotless and great breakfast choice. Get a car and visit the many great local bars, beach bars and restaurants, São Domingo's, Jompra, Solar Das Oliveras O,Girasol, and Arcadia Bar and the famous Cabanitas which never disappoint

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    166
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
65
469
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Over the years we have stayed many times and always enjoyed the ambience.
The staff selection process at this small 40 bedroom hotel is bang on as all the staff are excellent.
Hotel guests now have free access to the Spa and many treatments were reduced so they were good value for money.
The swimming pool needs to heated and the black sunbeds need replacing.
Free wifi needs to be provided in bedrooms only and not in the public areas.
We never expect the days of the turndown service with chocolates, the slippers, entertainment twice a week, and the Manager's welcome drinks party to return but the hotel thoroughly deserves the high ratings that it consistently receives.
You pay a premium to stay in the Gale' area - the three beach restaurants are all similarly priced and a little more expensive than the norm - in fact the Hotel's restaurant is now very competitively priced and the food very good.

Room Tip: It's worth booking a pool view room although all the rooms are furnished similarly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I spent a week at the hotel and had the most wonderful time, could not fault it at all. The staff were all fantastic, helpful, polite and very kind. I had recently had an accident and was using crutches to get around, and nothing was too much trouble. The bedroom and bathroom were beautiful, really comfortable and spacious, and spotlessly clean. The pool was lovely, with plenty of sunbeds, and spacious gardens surrounding it. I made use of the spa facilities, having a healing facial treatment and reflexology, which were just fabulous....the reflexology in particular, and the ladies there were excellent, I felt totally pampered. The Jacuzzi was good too, spacious and in a lovely setting. The food was all beautifully presented, the breakfast buffet was amazing! and the quality was excellent. All in all I cant wait to go back asap!

Room Tip: My room was on floor 1, which was brilliant for my reduced mobility as the restaurant, bar, spa and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jannieren21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel and facilities. Calm serene clean. Staff very helpful and friendly especially Katarina in the restaurant and gentlemen covering the reception desk. Spa facilities were excellent inc. The jacuzzi (big and spacious). Pool clean but not heated. Was nice to swim in however. Restaurant and room service excellent. I am a fussy customer but i found everyrhing to be on point other then the Wifi connection which kept signing out. Overall would go again. Ideal getaway. 7 minutes from old town in a taxi costs €12 would recomment Meet Bar (say hello to Frankie Ricardo and Ricardo really lovely bar men) go to Bank Bar has great dancers... overall had an amazing holiday would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayKhanom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We spent a week at this hotel on half board, and were not disappointed. It is peaceful, spotlessly clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. If you are after a lively atmosphere this hotel would not be for you.
Being on half board we did find the choice of starters and desserts limited, and learnt that the menu is only changed on a monthly basis - not a problem if you're on B & B and only eat at the hotel a couple of times in a week. That said we found most of what we did eat to be excellent. We had a room with pool view on the 3rd floor, available at a supplement, and would say it's worth paying the extra. Rooms at the back overlook a residential area.
In response to a previous reviewer's comments regarding a lack of pool cleaning, we did see staff cleaning/adding chemicals early in the morning. This is also the only hotel I have ever stayed at where, no matter what the time of day (and the hotel was full at the time of our stay) there were always sunbeds available. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSB5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was our first visit to Portugal and we don't imagine it will be our last. The hotel is wonderful! Small, relaxing and quiet - just what we wanted, with the bonus of being child free! The staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble. The restaurant staff are beyond excellent! The food is fabulous, beautifully presented and good value. There was a huge choice at breakfast with specially prepared extras if needed. We could even make Buck's Fizz! Don't bother with the beachside cafés as we thought they were over priced for what they were - matter of taste and opinion, naturally. The free shuttle bus was brilliant and good to be able to experience the busy atmosphere of Albufeira. The whole hotel was immaculate. The rooms spacious and a balcony overlooking the pool was worth the extra. Pool and sunbeds aplenty! We took a travel kettle as there were no tea/coffee making facilities and the fridge was an added bonus for keeping drinks cold. There is a supermarket very close by and a small shop and cafe next to the hotel - useful for papers, post cards and a coffee if you so desire! The absolutely beautiful beach is a very short walk away, where there is also a fresh fruit stall. We don't venture far on holiday but we did visit Sir Cliff Richard's vineyard for a tour and also to the Algarve Shopping Mall on one cloudy morning. Both nearby and worth a visit!! Both the spa and gym looked good but we didn't sample them!

Room Tip: One overlooking the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at Vila Gale Praia and once again it didn't disappoint. We had a fabulous holiday and all members of the staff are helpful and friendly and make your stay an extremely pleasurable experience. I can see us returning for many years to come. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room with a pool view it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
8.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,032 reviews
7.2 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,240 reviews
5.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
1,925 reviews
4.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
191 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Praia

Property: Vila Gale Praia
Address: Estrada da Gale | Apartado 2204, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Praia 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adult's only hotel is located in a peaceful Gale district of the city, close to the like-named sandy beach. It is about 8 km to the city centre of Albufeira that offers countless shopping and entertainment venues and that can easily be reached by making use of the public bus service that departs from a stop located just 150 m from the hotel. Faro international airport is located some 50 km away. Completely renovated in 2004, this 3 storey hotel has a total of 40 double rooms. Guests have access to a vast pool and garden complex, a spacious foyer with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk, a games room, a TV room, a newspaper stand, several shops, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area. Room and laundry services as well as medical assistance are on offer and guests may make use of the parking facilities. The tastefully decorated rooms come equipped with a bathroom with hairdryer, a telephone, LCD TV with cable, a hi-fi stereo system, a kitchenette, a minibar/fridge, a double bed, carpeting, air conditioning, central heating, a hire safe, a sitting area and a balcony or terrace. In the outdoor area there is a swimming pool, a snack bar and a sun terrace with parasols and sun loungers laid out ready for use. It is also possible to make use Satsanga Spa with mega Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room/Turkish bath, fitness room, a massage service and beauty treatments. The nearest golf course is approximately 1 km away. Guests may select their breakfast from a wide buffet; lunch and dinner may be chosen from a menu although the evening meal may alternatively be taken a la carte. Guests have the opportunity to book a half board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vila Gale Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Praia Hotel
Vila Gale Praia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing