We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small and sophisticated”
Review of Vila Gale Praia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Praia
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“small and sophisticated”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here early May 2014 with my adult daughter and had 5 wonderful days. Adult only, small and intimate with first rate service from every one of the staff. We had a pool view room on the third floor with a lovely view of the pool, gardens and sea beyond. room was quite spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast tasty and plentiful with more than enough choice. We had dinner in the restaurant once and lunch by the pool a few times, food was excellent. There is a gorgeous beach 2 mins walk from the hotel with a couple of nice restaurants, we particularly liked Pedras Amerelas, the furthest left on the beach. Unfortunately I didn't get into the spa but will make sure I do next visit. Pool area is really nice and spacious with plenty of comfy sunbeds no one put towels out to reserve beds as it was completely unnecessary. Every where was pristine and very well maintained and we came back thoroughly relaxed and chilled. I would give this hotel 5 stars. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are nicer but there is a supplement
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pollyanna89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Praia, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you your visit and preference.
The reviews are important for us, to maintain high quality and guest satisfaction.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    163
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
64
461
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west london
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our initial experience was not good as we were taken by 'shuttle' GREEN BUS to our hotel. Unfortunately we were dropped at the wrong hotel which turned out to be another Vila Gale. (Be aware there are 9 of them in the Algarve and at least 3 in Albufeira) After receiving the devastating news that we had been deserted at the wrong hotel by the driver who had quickly left the scene, the hotel staff at Vila Gale Atlanica were very helpful, advising us that our hotel was 10 minutes walk away, offering to walk us there or call us a taxi and calling Vila Gale Priai to confirm they were expecting us. We got a taxi in the end.
The moral of this story is that if you are being dropped off by a driver, get him to wait while you confirm your accommodation.
We were met by Ricardo who was very apologetic on behalf of the shuttle driver and after giving us a cold tea and wet towel we went to our room. There are only 40 rooms on 3 floors. We paid a small amount extra to overlook the pool and this was definitely worth it. The view is lovely (you can see the sea too on the 3rd floor and our double bed was enormous. The room was extremely quiet and dark too, thanks to blackout curtains.
The pool is lovely albeit cold and there were always spare loungers. There were no children and just quiet chatter to be heard. So peaceful.
There is a fridge in the room and a supermarket about 10 minute stroll away for milk. Don't forget your kettle like we did.
Breakfast is very nice - the normal juices, fruits, cooked bits and breads.
There is a library near reception with plenty of books left by guests.
There is a pool table near reception, just ask for the triangle and balls and play to your hearts content! No charge - which is nice.
Wifi can be a bit slow and currently not available in rooms but good enough.
There is a little shop next door for ice cream, postcards, and bits and pieces. Also a little bar.
The hotel has a bar and does snacks which are very nice.
The hotel has a restaurant. We had two very nice meals there. Limited choice on the menu though.
If you are limited with packing don't take towels, the hotel supplies them free of charge.
There is a 2* Michelin restaurant across the road - Vila Joya. We had lunch there for the experience and it was fabulous although drink extortionate. Go for a once only ocassion - the food was marvellous!!
The beach is 5 minutes casual stroll from the hotel and is lovely and sandy.
There are 3 bar/restaurants on the beach which are all good for lunch but Pedras is outstanding for supper and you can watch the sun set too.
Sun loungers on the beach are 13 euros for two per day!!
We had a marvellous holiday here with wonderful weather. The hotel staff were all lovely and friendly. The hotel was clean. It If you want action and excitement don't go here, it's a fair trip to the centre of Albufeira. In fact we never even went there, we were too chilled out!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a pool view. 3rd floor will give you a sea view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cleocat46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Praia, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank your preference.
Your opinion is important for us.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

If you're wanting a quiet relaxing break in excellent surroundings in a lovely hotel with fist class staff you need look no further.
Always wary about returning to a hotel but this one didn't disappoint still as good as our previous visit a few years ago.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jotim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Praia, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank your preference.
Your opinion is important for us.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Well located to local amenities book a pool view room rooms very clean and well kept quiet at night entertainment average would go again lovely pool not many sunbeds with towels on to reserve on a morning good thing

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Praia, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you your visit and preference.
The reviews are important for us, to maintain high quality and guest satisfaction.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I wrote a review in October 2013 on tripadvisor stating that it was time for new sunbeds and the good news is that the Gale Praia have responded and replaced all the sunbeds AND provided mats. We stayed for 25 nights in April, a little too long for me but I have difficulty dragging my wife away! The swimming has been retiled and four tiled sunbeds have been located actually in the pool. Some rooms have new baths and other rooms are set to have only a shower. All the staff were once again excellent - It's a pity that the Head of Reception, Sofia, is leaving the hotel to work closer to home. It is difficult to criticise this Hotel but there are a number of issues that you only notice during a long stay. Staffwise, the hotel is run on a shoe-string and it is only because the restaurant staff are so dedicated and hard working that it functions - the Hotel Manager is based at the nearby Atlantico so sees/hears less than a long stay guest. The garden is beautiful and some new trees have been planted but the grass mowing and strimming takes days even though a new sit-on mower is in use - a bigger team to do the job in a day would be better for guests. The swimming pool could do with a little heat.
Guests still have free access to the Spa and many treatments were reduced so they were good value for money.
We never expect the days of the turndown service with chocolates, the slippers, entertainment twice a week, and the Manager's welcome drinks party to return but the hotel thoroughly deserves the high ratings that it consistently receives.
The Hotel's restaurant is now very competitively priced, compared to the three local beach restaurants, and the food very good.

Room Tip: All rooms are similarly furnished but if you want a bath and not a shower you need to stipulate a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Praia, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you your visit and preference.
The reviews are important for us, to maintain high quality and guest satisfaction.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We'll appointed hotel in central location with excellent staff and good food. Small intimate relaxing hotel, ideally suited for couples as has a no children policy. Rooms with pool view are extra and pick up the afternoon sun for relaxing on the veranda.

Room Tip: Choose first floor if not paying for room with pool view as better outlook than lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrianMcC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Praia, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest
We thank you for you’re visit to our hotel.
We believe that you’re appreciation is important to us.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have just returned from a very enjoyable holiday in Portugal and stayed at Hotel Vila Gale for the first time. The hotel was lovely. The service was great. The food was delicious. The beds were comfortable and the staff couldn't do enough for you. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Praia, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
8.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,009 reviews
7.2 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,207 reviews
7.7 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
4.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
178 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Praia

Property: Vila Gale Praia
Address: Estrada da Gale | Apartado 2204, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#2 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Praia 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adult's only hotel is located in a peaceful Gale district of the city, close to the like-named sandy beach. It is about 8 km to the city centre of Albufeira that offers countless shopping and entertainment venues and that can easily be reached by making use of the public bus service that departs from a stop located just 150 m from the hotel. Faro international airport is located some 50 km away. Completely renovated in 2004, this 3 storey hotel has a total of 40 double rooms. Guests have access to a vast pool and garden complex, a spacious foyer with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk, a games room, a TV room, a newspaper stand, several shops, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area. Room and laundry services as well as medical assistance are on offer and guests may make use of the parking facilities. The tastefully decorated rooms come equipped with a bathroom with hairdryer, a telephone, LCD TV with cable, a hi-fi stereo system, a kitchenette, a minibar/fridge, a double bed, carpeting, air conditioning, central heating, a hire safe, a sitting area and a balcony or terrace. In the outdoor area there is a swimming pool, a snack bar and a sun terrace with parasols and sun loungers laid out ready for use. It is also possible to make use Satsanga Spa with mega Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room/Turkish bath, fitness room, a massage service and beauty treatments. The nearest golf course is approximately 1 km away. Guests may select their breakfast from a wide buffet; lunch and dinner may be chosen from a menu although the evening meal may alternatively be taken a la carte. Guests have the opportunity to book a half board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vila Gale Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Praia Hotel
Vila Gale Praia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing