We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and very good standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vila Gale Collection Praia
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my wife at this hotel and we thought it was excellent. Staff very helpful and friendly. Facilities were excellent, great spread at breakfast and we ate at the restaurant one night and had a good meal. Quite hotel and not many families which was perfect for us. The hotel is situated pretty much on the beach and a 15 minute taxi ride from Albuferia. Some restuarant and bars close by so if you want a wild time, probably not the hotel for you.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Collection Praia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you your visit and preference.
The reviews are important for us, to maintain high quality and guest satisfaction.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel location is only 10 minutes away from the beach, and only a 15 minute away from Old Town.
The hotel itself is very modern and is very clean, hotel staff are friendly and the food provided at breakfast is very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank antrich9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Collection Praia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank your preference.
Your opinion is important for us.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We went last year to this hotel and decided to return with another couple because of the location, peacefulness and service we received from the staff.
Rooms are large and all with air con, beds are very comfortable. Cleaned thoroughly every day.
The staff are so professional and never too busy for a chat. Philippe and Jose in particular we were glad to see they were still working there, but truthfully every member of staff we encountered was lovely. I highly recommend the Grasshopper cocktail! Lunch prices are reasonable, if you have the room for it after the breakfast blowout.
My friend and I treated ourselves to a massage which was offered at a 50% discount. Well worth the 45 euros.
The spa is the perfect place to retreat after a long stint in the sun. There is a small gym that is not particularly well equipped, but let's be honest I'm not going to work out on a relaxing holiday.
The food is delicious and there is something for everyone at the breakfast buffet. 2 mins way from the beach. 10-12 euros in a taxi to Albufeira old town.
The only negatives I can think of, which in no way detracted from how good our overall experience was, is that they used to provide a free shuttle bus into town 2 or 3 times a day, which they no longer do. Also they cut the grass area around the pool once a week which seems to take all day, from 10am til around 4pm. Honestly, the grass is fine, leave it alone!
Best tip I could give is regarding the three restaurants on the beach. O Galeao served the best meals we had the whole ten days we were there. Chateaubriand for about 17 euros each, amazing fresh fish and the best steak any of us had ever had. The fish restaurant to the left of this, we went the first year and we did not go back as it was expensive, and they had lobsters in the tank with their claws tied together. Roll your eyes all you want, but as an animal lover from Essex this did not sit right with me. The waiter also laughed at when I asked how much to set one free. The restaurant to the right (I think just called Vila Gale Praia) was nice for a casual dinner, again the fish was wonderful, but did not match up to ) Galeao.
All in all if you are looking for a quiet break with a touch of class (and no screaming kids), this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank rozandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Collection Praia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank your preference.
Your opinion is important for us.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a fantastic time at Hotel Vila Gale Praia. The hotel is beside a beautiful beach, but also has a lovely relaxing pool if you prefer. Morning breakfast is a delicious buffet of a variety of food- high standard. We also had a very nice dinner there one evening. For variety, other evenings we chose to eat either in one of the local restaurants or took a taxi into Albufiera; roughly 10 euros. Generally the area is quite residential, but there is a large supermarket close by and a scatter of restaurants around. The rooms were clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I also benefited from a massage. There is a small gym there as well that we didn't use. Some reports had advised taking a room overlooking the pool for the views. We preferred to be at the back of the hotel where the balcony was cooler in the summer sun. We will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Some reports had advised taking a room overlooking the pool for the views. We preferred to be at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Grainne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Collection Praia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank your preference.
Your opinion is important for us.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I wanted a good-sized pool, a gym, privacy and sun. My husband wanted great food, quiet surroundings, a spa and a stylish retreat. We were both delighted! The food is utterly fantastic, and in hindsight we should have opted in for full board. Hugely varied breakfast buffet, great value lunches and high quality dinners meant we only ate out twice during our week-long stay. The staff are incredibly attentive and pretty much all bi-lingual. We cannot WAIT to return!
Room 318 has a fantastic view and wonderful sun terrace. Recommend!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank SJC249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Collection Praia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank your preference.
Your opinion is important for us.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

omg this is by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in. great facilities and the staff cannot do enough for you. as stated already this is a child free hotel which results in a nice quiet holiday but is only a short taxi ride to town. The beaches nearby are amazing especially the one to your left as it is like a private beach.

All the restaurants around the hotel are brilliant and good value for money. We cannot wait to return next year for more fun in the sun

Room Tip: rooms with a pool view 307 is a fab room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Collection Praia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you your visit and preference.
The reviews are important for us, to maintain high quality and guest satisfaction.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is an ideal hotel for an adult only place to relax and enjoy peace and quiet without small kids screaming their heads off all day :-)

The rooms are pretty basic and the TV is in urgent need of an upgrade even just to watch the news for half an hour. There is a fridge but no coffee making facilities and in my opinion the AC is not adequate.

Breakfast has a wide choice and is on until 11:00 when the bar opens so no complaints there! The pool area as mentioned is quiet and there are plenty of sun beds that are not usually all taken, again there are the few that "bags" a bed and disappear for hours which is selfish and not monitored by hotel staff.

The hotels location is ideal for the beach and the three bar / restaurants located there which all provide good food for a fair price. The Jamaica bar in the hotel complex is fantastic value for money where you can get snacks and drinks all day and night for a price you would not believe.. give it a try please!!

I think the hotel flatters itself giving it a four star rating, it has a number of good facilities which must tick all the boxes for a four star but there are a number of things missing such as a porter, a turn down service, pool towels at the pool, a stocked mini bar, coffee maker. The rate is similar to the Tivoli Victoria, which is a bigger hotel but has all the afore mentioned services, but allows kids.. So you pay your money and take your choice. For me despite some things lacking, and a really bad smell of drains in the public areas I would still come back again.

Room Tip: The pool view rooms are extra and get the sun all afternoon which can make them really hot go for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank notrevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Collection Praia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you your visit and preference.
The reviews are important for us, to maintain high quality and guest satisfaction.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
8.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,170 reviews
4.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
7.7 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
5.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Collection Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Collection Praia

Address: Praia da Gale | Lote 33, Apartado 2204, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#2 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £85 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Collection Praia 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Located just 150 m from Gale Beach, this stylish hotel offers rooms with balconies, some of which overlook the swimming pool and palm tree garden. It features a spa and saunas. Each room at Vila Gale Praia offers modern furnishings, including a flat-screen TV and DVD player. It has a seating area, work desk and a private bathroom with bathtub and hairdryer. The Gale Praia features an open-plan bar and restaurant serving a wide choice of beverages and a la carte meals. A rich breakfast buffet is served each morning in the dining room. The hotel’s cosy lobby area has plenty of seating, a library and billiards. Alternatively, guests can relax in Spa Satsanga offering several body treatments and yoga lessons, as well as a hot tub and steam rooms. Vila Gale Praia can arrange rental bikes for exploring the beautiful Algarve coast. Free parking is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Prestigia, Expedia, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vila Gale Collection Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Praia Hotel
Vila Gale Praia Albufeira
Vila Gale Collection Praia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing