We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet again chilled out excellent hotel”
Review of Vila Gale Praia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Praia
Ranked #4 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yet again chilled out excellent hotel”
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Our third visit in two years! has to tell you something!
Staff are very friendly and jolly people which translates into good service and that nothing is too much trouble.
The pool area is a place for chilling out!! please get this people who want entertainment it don't happen at this hotel, read and understand the reviews, don't book with children it has nothing for them, although it's not adult only it is geared up for a relaxing time for couples to chill.
Lovely beach 100m away with three good beach cafe/restaurants, but a walk up to the first roundabout turn right down the side of Gale Mar apts signed Lorenco beach bottom left corner of car park there is a track down to the most lovely small beach bar/cafe over looking the little cove, lovely lunchtimes spent there.
I personally think the hotel restaurant is missing why we go to the Algarve it needs to serve algarve dishes not just the fine dinning.
So, we go to Sao Domingos a 5 euro taxi away not far at all but you wouldn't want to walk when in your muffty!
A family run restaurant great food absolutely immaculate clean, staff very friendly and will look after you if you have any food intollerences as my wife has.
So to sum up, peacefull hotel in a nice area not a resort, clean, good friendly service a place to RELAX!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bonneville900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    171
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
67
481
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed at Vila Gale Praia for the first time in september. If you want high quality friendly service, a superb restauarant, to be waited on hand and foot and access to a beautiful spa and pool, then this is the place for you.
Special thanks to Fillipe and all the team ( E and M Room 310!)
We will definately return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleHoboYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We just came back from a weeks holiday at Gale Praia. We are thankful to the couple who said there is little to do there. Great quality hotel, good food, not a McDonalds, Burger King,Wimpey in site. Small hotel, excellent quality, the staff were ever dutiful, ever smiling. Beautiful pool side, wonderfully relaxing.Thank you

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dcdb1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights of much needed R&R, The hotel is almost in the parking area for the great beach! The hotel is furnished in minimalistic style, but is very comfortable. The staff were great - one of the front desk staff spent hours finding us a rental car! Spent most of our time just hanging out at the pool. Good supermarket within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is situated a little way out of Albufeira itself, but the hotel has a shuttle or you can use a cab if you don't have a car. Will definitely keep this one in mind for next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ecraighead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

My Husband and I stayed at the hotel for 7 days in July and enjoyed every minute. The atmosphere was totally chilled. Selection for breakfast was tasty and varied, snacks at lunchtime were reasonably priced and the food in the restaurant was excellent. All staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean, bright and airy.
The local supermarket, (approximately 10 minutes walk) was very well stocked.
The 'Chill Out' restaurant/bar on the beach was good fun, sitting on comfortable sofas or bean-bags, watching the sunset and having a chilled drink, (or two!)
We have stayed in several 4/5 star hotels, ranging from Spain, Cuba, Brazil and can honestly say this is definitely our favourite and have already booked to return next July.
I am really not sure how anyone can find fault. The brochure is accurate and does not mention any entertainment - Why don't the guests who complain about the fact the hotel is too quiet choose hotels promising 'Keep fit at 10.00 am, volleyball on the beach at 11.00 am, loud music playing constantly, perhaps bingo at 4.00pm and then................... predictable evening entertainment'?
Anyway, hope this helps.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank patricia-herbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Being from the US, the Algarve/ Albufeira wasn't exactly what we expected. VGP was very clean and with good amenities, the rooms are spacious and we had an amazing balcony, the pool was great but it may have been a little too quiet for us. One wierd thing about the room is there is no shower curtain or glass door so water gets everywhere-- strange. Stayed here for 2 nights with my boyfriend and our beach vacation idea is more like Mexico where there are still some people around, and most importantly staff at the pool to serve drinks. VGP was in my opinion lacking in service. No poolside service, drinks were pretty expensive at the bar, and the front desk staff were not too knowlegdable on things to do in town, restaurant recommendations etc. Depending on how you look at it the location was good--- right by the beach, but a little ways from the town center which was mainly where we wanted to go at night for dinner. (The hotel restaurant was too quiet, looked boring). It is about a 10-15 euro and 10-15 minute trip, but when we left the town center had to wait about 1 hour for a taxi to go home, very annoying. Also, you can't tell from the pics but it is as if its in a suburban neighborhood, which was kinda weird to us. One other thing that was disappointing is the hot tub looks amazing in the pics (and real life) but you have to pay 10 euro per day to use it since it is in the spa and it is only available until 9pm. VGP was not exactly for us because we wanted some entertainment as well as relaxation. If you're from US/Canada and thinking the Algarve is like Mexico you may be a bit disappointed, but if you're looking for a ultra-serene environment, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DizzleandYess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Vila Gale Praia Hotel is located a few km's away from albufeira and 2 minutes walking distance from the beach. It was perfect for us. Quiet, friendly staff. Nice hotel room with a menu of pillow choices. Flat screen tv. affordable minibar. heavy curtains to keep the light away and good A/C.

A huge pool area for guests and a really good restaurant. The breakfast was the best I've ever had. I was looking forward to each breakfast! Fresh pastries, fruit, cheese, juice.. even champagne.. ! The eye wanted more that I could eat. We were welcomed every morning by friendly staff, who was quick to serve us coffee or tea. Thumbs up!

When I say the hotel was quiet, I mean quiet. When we arrived it felt like we were the only guests. That evening we had dinner at the hotel restaurant, and we were the only ones there. It was a shame, because the chef is really amazing!

As an alternative to the hotel restaurants, there is 3 beach restaurants, but they cannot compare to the hotel. We also tried a newly opened restaurant called "light house" - recommended!

The hotel has two tennis courts if you wish to burn off some of the breakfast for about 20 euro per hour.

I recommend to rent a car if you are planning a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
3 Thank gryand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
8.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,073 reviews
5.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
7.2 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
204 reviews
7.7 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
1,961 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Praia

Property: Vila Gale Praia
Address: Estrada da Gale | Apartado 2204, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Praia 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adult's only hotel is located in a peaceful Gale district of the city, close to the like-named sandy beach. It is about 8 km to the city centre of Albufeira that offers countless shopping and entertainment venues and that can easily be reached by making use of the public bus service that departs from a stop located just 150 m from the hotel. Faro international airport is located some 50 km away. Completely renovated in 2004, this 3 storey hotel has a total of 40 double rooms. Guests have access to a vast pool and garden complex, a spacious foyer with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk, a games room, a TV room, a newspaper stand, several shops, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area. Room and laundry services as well as medical assistance are on offer and guests may make use of the parking facilities. The tastefully decorated rooms come equipped with a bathroom with hairdryer, a telephone, LCD TV with cable, a hi-fi stereo system, a kitchenette, a minibar/fridge, a double bed, carpeting, air conditioning, central heating, a hire safe, a sitting area and a balcony or terrace. In the outdoor area there is a swimming pool, a snack bar and a sun terrace with parasols and sun loungers laid out ready for use. It is also possible to make use Satsanga Spa with mega Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room/Turkish bath, fitness room, a massage service and beauty treatments. The nearest golf course is approximately 1 km away. Guests may select their breakfast from a wide buffet; lunch and dinner may be chosen from a menu although the evening meal may alternatively be taken a la carte. Guests have the opportunity to book a half board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Vila Gale Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Praia Hotel
Vila Gale Praia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing