We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, does what it says on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pateo Village Apartments
Ranked #69 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good value for money, does what it says on the tin”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

My wife, 1yr old son and I stayed here for a week at the end of May. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on a self catering basis. We fully reviewed what we were getting for our money in advance and Pateo lived up to expectations.

It is out of town (at the top of a steep hill), it is on the "budget" side and the transfer is an hour and a half from the airport. However, the apartment very much did the job and we even had a large private balcony with sunbeds on (courtesy of it being on the top floor which we had requested as per a previous trip advisor review tip!).

The apartment itself is fairly clean (although floor not great when you've got a crawling child!) and well equipped (kettle, decent oven with grill and hob, microwave, sufficient crockery and cutlery). The safe costs extra (so we didn't bother) and cleaning doesn't happen every day.

There is a well-stocked (albeit on the slightly expensive side) shop, the bar has a happy hour and does take-away pizza, the swimming pool is decent (although not heated so quite cold even on a hot day) and the cafe next to the pool does a good range of well priced and surprisingly tasty food, snacks and drink but only during the day.

...Usual issues with people (almost entirely British!!) bagging sunbeds at 8am and actually coming out to use them several ours later but where doesn't that happen?!... We also saw that a few reviews commented on the stray cats and dogs hanging around. We saw about 4 of each but quickly saw that the reason they hang around the resort is because some guests feed them! We ignored them and had no trouble with them.

There are cheaper supermarkets nearby (Alisuper - right out of Pateo down the hill then left and right just after the traffic lights) and a few decent restaurants - Mamma Mia (good views but no longer does the buffet), O'Leme (good steaks) and Monteiro (random and a bit more of a walk but great price and really good food with a comedy old man serving). These are all right out of Pateo down the hill then left and along the road - Mamma Mia and O'Leme are fairly close but Monteiro is about a 10 minute walk further along the same road (it's down the road on the left just before the Pepsi but worth the walk in our opinion). If you don't want to do the walk down to the town, the bus is every half an hour and only costs a couple of euros (although takes a bit of time to get there) and the taxis cost 4-5 euros.

All in all, if you're not looking to spend a fortune, looking for self-catering or at least not looking for all to be done for you and don't mind being out of town, this place may well be for you.

Albufeira itself is split in two; new town and old town. The new town is for the youth to do their boozing and boogying (note the jealousy in my typing!). The old town is for all. It has a nice square, cobbled streets, decent beach, lots of touristy restaurants and shops and has seemingly lost much of its character but is nice enough.

Food is well priced, good range of cuisine, some nice fish dishes, a couple of reasonable Portuguese lagers and the wine is pretty cheap. Service is what you'd expect and of course they all speak better English than I do!

Room Tip: Top floor (although you obviously have stairs to negotiate if you have a kid + pushchair but worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank dangerousjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    189
    100
    41
    32
See reviews for
167
161
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Just returned from 10 days at Pateo Village, was there with my family,the kids pool is excellent as so is the main pool,we had a ground floor apt which was very clean and well equiped,our pateo lead onto the grass which wad great for the children.
The place is very friendly and staff are very helpful,would definatley go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

if you want a quiet, relaxng place to stay then this is the perfect place. the rooms are huge and standard. me and a friend went for 4 nights for a short getaway in february however and the room size is not a bonus when in winter.. its too cold but im sure in summer its lovely. Its quite a distance from the main town so i wouldn't advise young people to stay there if there wanting a close place to the bars. they have a nice large pool indoor and outdoor, however the indoor pool isnt heated like its meant to be so couldnt go in that when we stayed. had the jacuzzi and thats it. staff are ok, one is more helpful then the others though. if your an older couple and just wanting a quiet place again this is lovely but be prepared for the distance into town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wardy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton on tees
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Could not fault Pateo Village, perfect for a relaxing family holiday a very friendly place with good sized clean appartments, the grounds where well maintained and is somewhere i would definetly return to in the future
Walk into the local town centre and beach front does take around 20mins which is a pleasent all down hill walk there but the uphill return can take it out of you though a taxi is only 4 Euro's

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thame, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Just returned from a stay at the Pateo Village. This is a Budget Holtel, so don't expect luxury, but what you do get is a large, extremely clean, relatively comfortable (Lots of points lost for hard beds and lumpy ,inadequate pillows!) appartment with two balconies, plenty of very hot water, and a kitchen with just enough equipment for a weeks stay ( There were only two of us but I think a family would find the cooking facilities in the apartment a bit restricted for a longer stay) The swimming pools were brilliant, two outdoors surrounded by grass and paving with lots of sunbeds, and a (very) warm heated indoor pool with spa. We had Bed & Breakfast, continental style, lovely crusty rolls, thick hot toast, Jam, Honey, Marmalade, Ham, Cheese and a big cup of cappuccino served at the pool cafe by friendly staff.
As mentioned by previous reviewers, there are some stray dogs and cats, not much of a bother really, don't feed them or they're yours for the stay!
The walk down to the square was OK, the walk back not to challenging if your relatively fit. (I was a lot fitter after a week of walking up and down) but if your not fit budget for Taxis at approx 4 euros each way, though a lot of people took the busses. We had a car for 3 days for approx £50, worth every penny to visit Silves (Castle -quaint town 25 miles away) Gale beach and Portimao. First (but not last ) visit to Portugal and the people, beaches, food and weather were a joy. Will review a few of the restaurants later.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have biggest balconies, and best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catawayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

hi went with my daughter and 2 year old grand son 18th may for 8 days. i liked it when we got there but as the days went on was disapointed on the 3rd day my daughter opened the window in her bedroom to let air in and the wind blow the door closed and the frame came away from the wall my grandson was standing right there we told the staff at reception it was fixed when we were out but no one came to ask were we ok or appoliged and the day before we were living i was out and the male staff came into the bed room were my daughter and her son were having an afternoon nap and said that were to be out of the apartment as they had people ready to move in she was so upset and her son was crying . for there mistake they said we could have a complamentry breakfast wow..... well i wont be back i booked pateo village as there was more good reports then bad but i was disapointed . the staff seamed nice,they were polite but i found that they were very laxed this is our experience thanks

Room Tip: go for a higher room if you have small children every thing is at there level bring covers to cover...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank zilmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here in November 2011, they are great apts with all you need in the small kitchen, cups, saucers, cutlery etc,.the bedroom is a fair size and the apartment is fairly big with a good sized balcony which overlooks the swimming pool. there is 24 hour reception and all the staff are very nice people.The apts, are very cold in November but, there are plug in heaters provided which makes the rooms bearable. The outside pool is also very cold although there is a covered area with a heated pool and Jacuzzi pool.The cleaners are in a few times a week, with fresh towels and bed linen. The bar area is adequate, prices are on a par with the bars in town.The only problem with the Pateo village is that it is about a 15 to 20 minute walk into town, this didn't worry my wife or myself as we enjoy walking but, it may put others off.Taxis only cost a few euros into and back from town.People in Albufeira are very nice and anyone going there will go back again, as we will be doing.

Room Tip: Go for a room for with a balcony, as there are a group of cats which haunt the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.1 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
2.5 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#65 of 154 in Albufeira
420 reviews
4.9 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#50 of 154 in Albufeira
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Novochoro Apartamentos Turisticos
3.1 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#49 of 154 in Albufeira
444 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#67 of 154 in Albufeira
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pateo Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pateo Village Apartments

Property: Pateo Village Apartments
Address: Pateo Village - Apt 908 | Rua Bem Parece - Pateo, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pateo Village Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pateo Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pateo Village Apartments Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Pateo Village Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Pateo Village Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing