We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just don't do it”
Review of Balaia Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Balaia Plaza
Ranked #134 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just don't do it”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Me and my friends wanted a nice clean self-catering apartment that was just outside of Albufera. Given the price we paid, we weren't expecting luxury. We just wanted something clean, spacious, with good facilities and free wifi of course! As soon as we arrived the staff appeared unhelpful, blunt and not very apologetic- it was almost as if they expected complaints and that was the norm.

PRO'S: - The pool area just behind the 'hotel' had lots of sun loungers, it was nice and spacious and the water heated up nicely by midday. Also, the bar staff and menu were very qwirky.
- we had a nice long double balcony situated on the top floor with nice sea and pool views.

CONS: - The wifi- quite difficult to connect to. Mine only worked if i stood next to the reception desk. It is supposed to work in communal areas and not in your rooms. I tried to connect on the first night on the sofas in the reception area, and a huge cockroach ran across the sofa, over my shoulder! We did complain however the staff did nothing.

-Aircon- the room is either too hot or too cold.

- The Pillows!- there were 4 of us in the apartment. We had one bedroom with 2 single beds, and 2 sofas which turned into beds in the living room. Our pillows were literally like a thousand cotton balls stuffed in, so lumpy! As it is we were only given 3 pillows, between 4 of us and had to wait until the following day to get extras.

- the towels were extremely small and very rough. They seemed quite reluctant to change them

Location- this was a 20 minute walk from 'the strip', and a 40+ minute power walk from Albufera. In the sweltering heat this walk was just too much. The hotel was too far to enjoy everything without worrys of getting back and forth.

- our room got cleaned on most days however all they seemed to do was replace the loo roll and make the bed.
- the kitchen was ok but the freezer didnt really freeze, the microwave and kettle looked 20 years old and there was no oven provided.

-Taxis!- you have to pay 75cents for the reception to call a taxi for you. They are very slow also.

-The TV- you have to pay a 10 euro deposit to get your remote and when you do, you get one small old tv with no english channels except sky world news. The rest of the channels kept sticking so we'd be stuck with 1 foreign channel throughout 12 channels! This was a shame. A couple of english channels would've been appreciated.

- I saw 2 cockroaches and a lizzard inside the hotel on our top floor. This didn't help us to sleep at ease.

Overall, the hotel was very basic. It wasn't very clean and didnt provide us with much. We were quite laid back but it really was just one problem after the other. It was too far from Albufera and I fail to see how this is called a hotel, it certainly doesnt deserve any more than 2 stars.


  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BinaRiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    83
    81
    28
    36
See reviews for
109
79
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Great hotel all in all based on the price paid, cannot fault it. Mini market on site did the job for snacks / brekkie supplies plus cold beer!
Rooms basic but comfy & spacious, and ours had a decent sea view too!
Beach just a stroll over the road, a local restaurant within 2 mins walk, and the 1st selection of bars just 10 min walk down the road in oura, with happy hours @ 1.50 euro beers! Walkable to the new town, about 30 mins,where you will find the strip of bars, or taxi to the old town for a more civilised meal & few drinks. Visit Piccadilly's cocktail bar in the old town!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Undies6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 1115 pm starving and thirsty!! the bar was CLOSED!! and there wasnt anywhere to get food or drink the nearest restaurant/bar was at least 20-30 min away.WHich would be closed we were told.

The rooms were large and okay not great poor tv nearly hanging of the wall, our towels were changed daily but were incredibly thin and worn not one surface was wiped in the lounge, bedroom or dining area Throughout our stay!! The bathrooms very dated.

There is a gym but at a cost of 5 euros each time you use it very grumpy un helpful man running it, only really wanted to accomodate the locals!! the tennis courts are run down and in poor condition.

The pool was freezing couldnt go in it, hardly ever anyone at the pool bar!! there own super market is poor!! Have to hyke 10 - 15 min to another then lug it all back. The beach is 5 - 10 min walk steep down/up hill flat shoes are a must as every pavement is cobble/stone.

30-40 min walk to Albuferia to get to any bars or restaurants this is not a hotel to go to unless you have a car - Nothing to do here boring dull out of the way no atmosphere this is how I would imagine a hostel to be - WILL NEVER RETURN

Room Tip: DO NOT BOOK HERE unless you have a car or are willing to hyke it everywhere to get anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachnWill2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Just returned from a week's holiday at this hotel. This was my third visit so I knew what to expect.

We had asked for a quiet room as we knew that the road was very busy and noisy and that is what we got. The rooms are large and spacious with a large balcony which is lovely for watching the sun rise and set. We also had a very nice sea view. The rooms are well appointed with a good sized kitchen area, although some of the bathroom fittings had seen better days. Everything was kept spotlessly clean by the staff. The room was ready on arrival which was a bonus.

The pool area is also kept very clean although the sun beds are extremely uncomfortable. There is also quite a lot of noise from the Holiday Village next door, but their midday general knowledge quiz is quite good fun!

The hotel also has free WiFi connection in the reception area and on the first floor area which is another bonus. We did not use the restaurant so cannot comment on this facility.

The hotel is quite a walk from The Strip where there are loads of restaurants and bars, although there is a bus stop outside the hotel. There are a couple of local restaurants and the beach across the road is lovely.

The reception staff are very efficient re checking in and checking out. I can't comment on how good they would be if there was a problem as, in my three visits to this hotel, I've never had a problem.

All in all, we had a lovely relaxing holiday with perfect weather and would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor as most of them have sea view. Also ask for a quiet room as the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wendychampie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aveiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel is situated in a walking distance from beach, we take 5 minutes to get there, and it is also near from the new city center, one may walk, it takes maybe 30 min to get there. which is acceptable to walk at night, to go for a beer or something!
The rooms are clean and with good area. The swimming pool was also clean (both inner and outer pool) and there is tennis field as well as gym with good conditions.

Room Tip: rooms sided to the street are also sided to sea side, and in the upper floors one may see the sea wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielaSofi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I couldn't fault the facilities at this hotel, for the price we paid (1st Oct 2012) we were very pleased, the room was big, very clean and comfortable. The room was cleanded every day and towels changed. The pool was great and we once ate from the pool bar which was ok, more convenient than anything. Did think the pool bar was a little pricey, however there is a small grocery shop on site and they had no objections to you buying drinks in there and bringing them to the pool (70C for a can of beer as opposed to E4.00 for a pint!).
As many people have stated, the location isn't great if you aren't a keen walker! But taxis to the strip and to the old town are very cheap. We did use the bus from the bus stop outside the hotel to go to the old town one evening and it cost us E4.80 for the two of us, but the taxi back only cost E4.50!
The old town is stunning, and by far the better location for a nice meal.
Also, we used yellowfishtransfers.com to get us back and forth to the airport, and I highly recommend them, very reasonably priced and professional and we even received a complimentary bottle of wine to start our holiday off!
Overall this was a great holiday, (even though my partner was ill), great hotel and stunning beaches.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilamoura, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Great experience at a great value.Worth staying for a 4 star.Congradulations !
Excellent smimming pool and bar and a good italian restaurant.Top staff!
Walking area to the beach and a big parking.
Definitly will stay again...

Room Tip: corner suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Eulalia
Hotel Santa Eulalia
#90 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#12 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#33 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
#50 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Ocean Suites, a Luxury Collection Resort
2.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaia Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia Plaza

Property: Balaia Plaza
Address: Estrada de Santa Eulalia | Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8201-913, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Hotel Class:4 star — Balaia Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balaia Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Plaza Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Balaia Plaza Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing