We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but noisy”
Review of Hotel Baltum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Baltum
Ranked #40 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Salford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, but noisy”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Location of this hotel is perfect for centre of town, but if you have a room overlooking taxi rank.forget having any sleep, probably ideal for young people, breakfast is just above a continental one, Receptionists are very helpful and polite, hotel clean, shower is just a hand held one, not good for a proper shower, Would recommend for younger people.

Room Tip: do not have rooms 101 or 103 , noisy, best on side you get sun on the balcony in the afternoon,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1946reds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    138
    76
    14
    10
See reviews for
34
199
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I chose the Baltum for it's reasonable price and central location. The hotel and the room I had (a double for single use) were not at all run down. The paintwork looked fresh and the shower/WC room look as though it had been recently refitted. The room was cleaned & towels changed daily. Because of poor reviews of the breakfast I opted for room only and ate next door in Jo-Jo's most mornings - basic breakfast and coffee for 3.99 Euros - so I can't comment on the Baltum's food. There is some noise from Bar St. into the early hours so that won't suit some early bedders but the location is so good, any number of bars & restaurants within a few minutes walk. Fisherman's beach is no more than 3 minutes walk away.
If I go back to Albufeira I'll stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms face the slightly quieter end of Bar St so bear that in mind. I had no difficulty sleepin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derekcgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

hotel baltum situated in the old town of albufeira right next to shops cafes bars and 2mins walk to lovely beach,hotels nice an clean modern rooms nice food and friendly staff..only 6 euros taxi to the strip if you want a louder night out but once you sample the old towns bars the strip dont become that appealing,taxi stand right outside hotel also.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 00paul00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We chose Baltum because it was in the middle of Albufeira old town. In that respect, the hotel has the perfect location. We could get anywhere within minutes and the taxi stops in front of the hotel.
But because of the location it could also get very noisy and it wasn't even a busu season.
The rooms were clean and okay, staff is friendly.
But the hotel has its other downsides.
Breakfast.... Well there was hardly breakfast so we ended up eating breakfast out.
The hotel has nothing extra's, you can't lounge in the sun or anything, it's just a hotel room.
So if you really just use the hotel to sleep it's good, but if you come to relax and rest, better find another hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daisy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montefollonico, Italy
Level Contributor
194 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

This hotel is well situated, next to Buses,Restaurants, the old town and any place in the town is within walking distance. A bit run down but the rooms are comfortable and unbelievably inexpensive. I had many errands to do and never took a taxi os Bus, The Buses to Lisbon Airport are less than 10 minute walk away. It needs to be modernised.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nazir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed at Hotel Baltum for a week in October. Location is great: the hotel is located near the beach and all the main streets and sights. Rooms were also clean, but little outdated. We barely sleep during the whole week because of the noise that came from the bar street right next to the hotel. So bring earplugs, seriously! Our room was in the first floor and the balcony door was so thin, that it couldn´t keep the noise outside. Maybe it would have been little more quiet in the upper floors. Anyway nice hotel in this price range. I would recommend this to all who like to party and sit at bars all night, but not for families with children.

Room Tip: Upper floors could be more guiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed in the Baltum hotel July 2011 very unexpected. We were very surprise for what we got for the price. We will surely be going agian in 2013. Little bir noisy if you on the ground with all the shopping around but perfect location for shopping and to be on the beach.Rooms are fare size and modern and so are the bathrooms. The only thing missing was the barfridge and complimentary tea and coffee.

Room Tip: rather choose to be on the higher floors and on the entrance side ( south side ) not the beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lecozmo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#36 of 154 in Albufeira
1,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#67 of 154 in Albufeira
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Recife
Hotel Vila Recife
#95 of 154 in Albufeira
669 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 154 in Albufeira
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baltum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baltum

Property: Hotel Baltum
Address: Avenida 25 de Abril 26, Albufeira 8200-014, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baltum 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baltum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltum Hotel Albufeira
Hotel Baltum Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing