We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Summer Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Ranked #89 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Spent 10 nights, all inclusive here in July and couldn't of asked for a better place! There was mixed reviews on this hotel when i was firstly going to book, which always puts me off, but to be honest everyone moans about something. I can understand why people were complaining about the rooms. They aren't completely modern and could do with refurbishment but i wasn't exactly worrying about what my room was like, as long as it was clean!

The all inclusive is really worth the money! The range of food was good, the snack bar was so handy and you didn't have to stand in a Que for long. The staff were really pleasant and made you feel welcome. The atmosphere around the pool area was great! The Thomas cook team had music daily,quiz's and games that every age could participate in. The entertainment at the hotel and bar area was also great with different acts every night so you didn't get bored.

The location is also great! 10 minute walk from the beach, the old town and new town so taxi's are cheap if you don't fancy walking or if you have had a few drinks..

I personally loved this hotel, it really made my holiday and i would defiantly advise anyone to go here and ignore the bad reviews..as long as you aren't fussy about rooms!:)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank hanna j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Hanna

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Paraiso in the near future.

PS - we are working on a partial renovation of the apartments, and hope to improve your experience on your next visit!

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,861 - 1,867 of 3,042 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

This is our second stay at the Paraiso de Albufeira. I stayed again 2 years ago - about the same time of year again.

We arrived at about 11.30am, checked in and were given our keys straight away. Reception staff very friendly and helpful.

This time we had a 2 bedroom apartment on 7th floor. The apartment was really spacey and very clean. We had a query about the balcony doors on arrival but this was sorted out within an hour of checking in - so no complaints or problems.

We went all inclusive as I knew the food was great when we were last here so weren't too worried about the negative comments. Once again plenty of choice even with 2 fussy eaters (aged 9 and 15). There was plenty of choice and we were always full - most days too full to even have a dessert. Waiters and Waitresses all really polite and friendly. We ate all our meals in the restaurant. We had a few snacks at the outdoor snack bar and no complaints here either. The lads enjoyed the fact that they could help themselves whether food or drink.

Althought the indoor pool was out of action - we used the gym pool in the basement which was great! Even braved the outdoor pool most days. The lads enjoyed it. We made use of all the facilities and had a great time.

We went into the main bar every evening and enjoyed the entertainment. Thomas Cook were still there at the beginning of our holiday which was great (for our 9 year old) but the entertainment was still good after they left.

We have no complaints about the Paraiso. We even plan to visit again (our 3rd visit) next year.

If you are planning on going to Paraiso but unsure after reading negative comments - why not visit and make your own mind up. The feelings are very mixed but I can say - we were really pleased - making our 5 night visit great! - Thank you Paraiso.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying the extra on a south facing room - you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holidayz4Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Madam

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We are very happy to learn that we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with an enjoyable stay with us. Your comments have been passed on to the service personnel involved in making your visit a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit to the Paraiso next year!

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

After reading quite a few negative reviews was a bit sceptical about staying here. There were more good reviews than bad!
Somebody I knew posted on Facebook that they had stayed here just a week before we went and they said it was fine, although they had a 1 bedroom appt and we had booked a studio.
I needn't have worried the hotel had a lovely fountain at the entrance and a very grand reception area.
It even had a spa and a hairdresser.
Our studio was one of the largest we've stayed in lots of space fully equipped, TV and free air conditioning. We felt very comfortable here.
Lovely location found a short cut to beach which wasn't too crowded, lots to do 'The Strip' lots of bars for the younger people and the 'old town' which we loved offered something for everyone.
Only 1 niggle asked for sunny balcony but ours NEVER got any Sunil day!
Will definitely consider going back will just make sure I have a sunny balcony! Lol.
Now go and enjoy!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debzandgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Deb

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with an enjoyable stay with us.

As nearly all the studio apartments are north-facing, unfortunately they do not get a lot of sun - only in June/July when the sun sets further to the north-west. And so I'm afraid you'll have to go for a south-facing T1 one-bedroomed apartment for your next visit.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

This review will only be useful for people that book a holiday which starts in late October and finishes in early November.

I have just returned from a week’s all inclusive for half term (26th October – 4th November) and having read most of the reviews on here I agree with some points, but not with others.

Yes the hotel is a little tired, but this didn’t detract from our holiday one bit. The major plus point was it was immaculately clean and the cleaning staff were constantly buzzing around. I did get asked a couple of times by people on the ground floor, if we were having problems with cockroaches especially after a couple of heavy downpours. However we were on the sixth floor and had no problems at all.

On the 1st November All Inclusive turned into ‘All Inclusive light’ despite being advertised until 3rd November. Complaints reigned in as AI guests were now being charged for numerous things including sunbed mats, towels, crazy golf and tennis, despite having paid the AI rate. The poolside bar closed and snacks were withdrawn unless you were willing to pay 4 euros each. When faced with angry customers the manager conceded on the sunbed mats but refused to budge on the other withdrawn items. As it rained for much of the remainder of our holiday, the hotel didn’t make any money but what could have been a major PR coup for the hotel, suddenly became a bone of contention amongst guests.

There was a lot of unwarranted criticism aimed at the hotel over the Children’s Club. We were one of the many families who had booked the hotel during half term, based on the good reviews about the club. It was advertised as running until the end of half term; however Thomas Cook packed up and left the day before we arrived, so beyond the hotel’s control. Note to TC if you’re going to make a commitment to a hotel, you should at least honour it!

It was the same story with the food as there were complaints that the same food was served every day. As committed veggies we tend to get the least choice of everyone and yet we had ample selection every night. I think the problem was it is out of season with only one of the four eating areas open, so every meal was in the same room. The staff didn’t help as they tended to seat people at the same tables (table 30 in our case), every meal and groundhog day often sprang to mind. The food was perfectly OK, but I understand why people were bored and ate out towards the end of the week.

The staff in the bar and the dining room were fantastic, always smiling and pleasant. However the beer was either alcohol free, watered down or I become an overnight beer monster. The beer did improve once a large group of paying Germans arrived, but unfortunately it was the end of our holiday.

We did speak to people who had enjoyed their stay at the hotel in the summer so much that they re-booked for half term. They all said how disappointed they were this time and although they would return in the summer, they couldn’t wait to get home this time.

Room Tip: Keep off the ground floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy_DE21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Andy

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor.

We regret that on this occasion, not all our services lived up to your expectations. The 'All Inclusive' package is contracted with all tour operators to terminate on October 31st (when we move to AI Lite), and therefore I don't understand why guests were charged differently. Maybe you should check back with your travel agent and ask for a breakdown of charges.

Regarding the beer. It is of course alcoholic and it is certainly not watered down. Lager beer here in Portugal typically has an alcohol volume content of between 4.9 and 5.1%.

Meanwhile, your comments about the Thomas Cook entertainment programme have been passed on to the contracts manager for TC.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We have just returned from a weeks holiday all inclusive.
After reading some of the reviews, we were a little apprehensive, but i must say our stay was very comfortable, the food was very good and there was always something on the menu good to eat.
The staff are very friendly and the resception staff extremely helpful.
Entertainment of the evening was very good and the Michael Jackson tribute on halloween was a very good touch, finishing off with Thriller.

Disappointing was the closure for refurb of the indoor pool, with the weather not being warm enough to swim outside, i think the planning to refurb the pool at this time was a little short- sighted.
There is an indoor pool in the leisure centre in the hotel but attendance is limited and you need to buy a swimming cap from reception.

Bar area is good, but getting a drink on a few busy nights does mean a bit of a wait.

Overall a good budget priced hotel and i would recommend for families.

Room Tip: Reception don't tell you that you require a swimming cap for the spa pool, buy one before walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Paul

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We are very happy to learn that we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with an enjoyable stay with us. The issue with the indoor pool is regrettable, but the hotel did provide an on-site alternative in the health club. Regarding the bathing caps, this is a requirement for all indoor pools and Jacuzzis in Portugal

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

we've just got back from a self catering week for the half term, glad to be home, to start the staff was all so lovely and friendly especially with the children, the cleaners was always cleaning the room or offering clean towels etc... but did have a problem on ground floor with cockroaches!!! the corridors had dead ones laying there all week, and a big mother on the wall too, also we had a couple in our room, NOT IMPRESSED...

the rooms are very spacious but old fashioned and do need to modernised a little, had falling debris from up above as outer walls are crumbling,

the pools were ok kids enjoyed them,
but the tennis courts and crazy golf were deposit and then a fee per person, nothing was free, you had to pay to use the pool table by the hour which by the time you got a turn it was bedtime lol, same with the dart board!

the shop was also very over priced would advise the supermarket over the road, quite cheap.

the old town and strip was a 10-15min walk pleasant on a nice day, or the bus service and train was every 20 mins...

overall i did enjoy my time there (even tho it rained 5 out of 7 days lol)
its got all the potential to be the 4* it claims to be with some work and a good clean

Room Tip: ground floor for children as easy access to pool area, as hotel is a very large one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hayley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Hayley

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We regret that on this occasion, not all our services lived up to your expectations and we will take a good look as to how we can improve on the specifics that you have kindly brought to our attention.

In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Paraiso in the near future.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Well, we too read the reviews on here and thought oh dear what have we booked!
I'm now wondering if the days of holiday reviews have had their time?

We had a great holiday!!!
I'm not taking anything away from all the other experiences that have been shared on here but I can only speak as I find.

We booked a week at half term for 5 people in 2 one bedroom apartments on all inclusive.
We had apartments 620 and 621 facing the garden and pool with a seaview in the distance.

The apartments are HUGE and very spacious and have everything you need to be self catering. The decor is circa 2001 with swags and tails over the bed and matching style pictures BUT it was clean and well maintained.

The balcony covers the length of your bedroom and lounge area with a maiden for drying clothes, 4 seats and a table so in other words, plenty of room!

The public areas are lovely, marble, well laid out and spacious.

Our 3 teenage girls LOVED the games room downstairs which was more like an arcade with video games, table tennis, air hockey etc it was like an in house youth club, supervised by an attendant and open till midnight but with most kids up to their rooms around 11pm.

The hotel has an indoor pool which was having work done to it the day after we arrived and I was concerned we would be without the use of an indoor pool if the weather changed BUT there is another pool in the gym downstairs!!!!
So with all the intentions of using that along with the sauna, steam room and gym.......we never went near the place as the weather was nice enough to stay outdoors and we decided to give the gym a miss for a week while we were on holiday. (you need a swimming cap to enter all the indoor pools and this can be purchased for 3 euros if you haven't your own to take with you)

The pool outside is MASSIVE and at half term we had plenty of sunbeds and space to sunbathe but I would be the first to admit that when this complex is fully booked in the height of summer, I imagine this would not be the case.
Although there would be plenty of space to put your towel on the grassed areas, sunbeds I could well imagine are in short supply.

When you are on all inclusive, you receive a towel card (adults only) for fresh towels to be used by the pool each day which was a god send. You also get sun mattresses for the loungers which I believe you pay for when self catering?

I too read all the reports on here slagging off the pool attendant and poolside bar staff etc etc and all I can say is behavior breeds behavior and if you let them do their job and take into account that while you're relaxing by the pool, they have to put up with 100s of kids running round and acting the goat for 9hrs a day :-) give them a break.
Same can be said of the reception staff, the place is huge and the kids are constantly running up to the desk to ask for things so just bare with them as I'm quite sure if this was a hotel in the UK we wouldn't be quite so patient?

Right then......the food!
After reading the reports on here I was prepared to be in a back room eating slop and thought never mind at least my waist line will benefit.
But the food during half term was BRILLIANT!
We didn't have 1 bad meal the whole time we were there. Breakfast had everything you needed juices, cereal, cooked items, fruit, waffles, coffee, breads etc etc

Lunches and dinner had soup, salads, various hot dishes, fruit, cakes, ice cream and plenty more.

The food from the pool side bar consisted of baguettes, hot dogs, onion rings, wedges, chips and ice cream so the kids bloody loved it.

Location of this hotel as stated is excellent, between the strip and old town.
I always hire a car from Auto Jardim as I used them when I worked as a Rep in Albufeira in 1992. I would strongly recommend you book on line as I saved 50 euros on a Ford Focus for 3 days by booking on line with Auto Jardim rather than going into the resort office in Town (even though we collected the car from there, they couldn't price match their on line prices face to face)

Now then I saved the best till last.......The Entertainment.
This wasn't supplied by the hotel this was courtesy of the Thomas Cook Team who were brilliant.
They arranged activities throughout the afternoon such as giant jenga, pub quiz, killer pool, 5 a side footie and rounded the kids up and had them jumping in the pool to see who won the daily "biggest splash"
Then in the evenings they gave out certificates, played games and entertained the younger ones from 7-9.30pm
At 10pm each night they put on a show of some sort which could be anything from Sounds of the 80s, Queen tribute to Mr and Mrs Paraiso.
After being a Rep myself, believe me this team are not just a bunch of reps covering the evening shift, they are trained entertainers who can sing, dance and compere with great comedy.
They worked hard and made this hotel great in the evenings and as an independent traveler with Travel Republic, I'd like to say Thank You Thomas Cook :-)

Many things make a holiday and all of the above certainly helped but make your own holiday experience and make your own mind up too......don't always rely on other peoples reviews :-)

Dee
X

Room Tip: High floor garden rooms are great for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank dee_gee100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Dee

Thank you for your very complete, candid and yet positive review of your holiday experience with us.

I very much enjoyed reading your contribution and look forward to welcoming you back to the Paraiso in the near future.

PS - the entertainment that Thomas Cook provides throughout the season is charged to the hotel, but has certainly been a good investment this year.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#15 of 154 in Albufeira
1,826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paladim Aparthotel
Paladim Aparthotel
#19 of 154 in Albufeira
699 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#84 of 154 in Albufeira
3,416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#29 of 154 in Albufeira
1,712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ondamar Hotel
Ondamar Hotel
#94 of 154 in Albufeira
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira

Address: Rua do Municipio | Lote 31, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal (Formerly BlueBay Paraíso de Albufeira)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £12 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira is a family resort located in the heart of Albufeira. License No. 843 The use of some services such as Fitness Centre, Spa, Games Camps has an additional cost. The use of swimming cap in the indoor pool is mandatory. Customers can buy caps at € 3.50 / each at the front desk. Guests with food allergies, food intolerances and/or other special dietary needs must notify the hotel before arrival. For groups of young guests and/or stag/hen parties, a security deposit of EUR 250 per person will be requested, in cash or by charging the amount on a valid credit or debit card, at the time of check-in. If the guest refuses to pay this security deposit, the entrance in the property will be denied. This security deposit will be refunded if no damages are made to the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Onthebeach, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraiso De Albufeira Hotel Albufeira
Paraiso De Hotel Albufeira
Paraiso Albufeira
Paraiso Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Paraiso De Hotel
Aparthotel Paraiso De Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso De Albufeira Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing