We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,287)
Filter reviews
3,287 results
Traveller rating
648
1,043
814
413
369
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
648
1,043
814
413
369
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thomas cook reps self catering hotel paraiso old town off licence kids club games room crazy golf can't comment on the food entertainment team bit dated outdoor pool great holiday family holiday large hotel all inclusive food one bedroom apartment
Filter
Updating list...
1,787 - 1,792 of 3,287 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Me and my partner have just got back from the paraiso, after staying here about 7 years ago and referring to it as the best hotel I had ever stayed in, it seems a shame to say this times stay has completely changed my mind.
The food was fantastic with a good mixture to suit everyone, different meats every night in the main restaurant, breakfast was great! However The outside pool snack bar is very dated, to the extent it looks grubby and there are a lot of flies knocking about which can easily put you off straight away.

The outside appearance of the hotel was also a shock looking back at photos from my last stay was a sparkling 5* looking hotel with a fountain and glass windows all around with a spinning door. This time we arrived at a dirty coloured hotel with a filthy fountain and the spinning doors where out or order and the windows smashed. 'Faulty towers came to mind'.
The reception was once grand but now is also dated, with the same furniture as my previous visit but worn so much you sunk into the seat, it was miss coloured and had a funny smell. a re-furb is definitely in need. The pool area was great bar service fantastic and entertainment was fab.

DO NOT BOOK A STUDIO ROOM!
we had to upgrade due to the two single beds after asking for a double and no way of pushing them together, and the dated ugly kitchen in the same room, it cost us 80euros to upgrade but our next room was lovley. All inclusive was 100% worth it. overall a good stay but would not return to paraiso im sorry to say.

Room Tip: ensure you get a room at the back of the hotel, all we could hear was bottles being thrown into the bin and deliveries at all times of the day/night
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kazzam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Booked this hotel on a recommendation from a friend, but spent 3 weeks before our hols fretting from the mixed reviews on here.
Needn't have worried.
The hotel is a family oriented hotel, and is what I would class as "Perfect" for your family holiday.
Onsite entertainment day & night (until end of Oct) for kids and adults alike. The entertainment staff are great, full of fun and provide plenty of entertainment.
Leave the hotel and turn right, and walk approx 10 mins and you're at the Strip, turn left & in 10 mins you're in Old Town.
Off LIcence in hotel is excellent value. Supermarket (turn left leaving hotel) and 3-4 min walk. walk further on about 10 mins and you have aldi & Lidl.
Excellent Indian Restaurant - Clay Oven, Leave hotel and turn right, 3-4 min walk.
Bar prices are €2.50 pint of local beer, €4 labeled spirits, €3 local spirits, Mixers steep (€2 for dash) , you can buy cans of juice in off Lic for .85c, or €1 in shop. Red bull €5 at bar, €2 in shop.
Rooms/Apts were perfect, not v fancy or modern, but were clean, and had everything you could need in them, full oven, microwave , toaster and lots of crockery & cutlery. Beds were slightly on the hard side, but not unbearable.
Had a pool view, which I would definitely recommend, as the view onto the road didn't look very appealing.
Small restaurant in the middle of the Strip, called the Cottage, English owned, serves English Breakfast at reasonable prices, coffee here wasnt great though. Bakerys called PAO DA ALDEIA are beautiful & very reasonable, & Coffee here is Excellent.

Room Tip: Pool view good choice.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tincar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just returned for a trip with the hubby from Paraiso!! Hotel is huge and that also goes for the rooms! We had a 1 bed apt on the 5th floor. Little bit dated in decor but lots of space and fully equipt kitchen, even had a full oven!! Shop downstairs is very overpriced but the off licence is very cheap.

We were self catering so never ate in the hotel but we went for a drink and prices were morre expensive than at home. Vodka & coke was €5.50....

Location is ideal between both strip and old town although walking back from old town is all uphill. Taxi is 3.80€.

Indoor and outdoor pool nice but I can imagine it could be very crowded in summer months!

The only downside was not having a pool view room!! We were located at the front, NO SUN WHATSOEVER during the day which made it seem cold & damp.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudesA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here in June a couple of years ago - Basically it was a Cattle Market!!. If you don't want hustle and bustle and screaming kids everywhere then don't go here.
I have never been on a holiday where everyone gets up at 6am to get a sunbed!! (and usually when you go back at 9am it has usually been pinched anyway!!)
I also got stuck in the lift twice, which is also not a pleasant experience :)
Basically, the rooms are ok but this hotel is catered for families who don't go out and just indulge on all inclusive for a week/fortnight.. . Ok, fair enough if you want that sort of thing then fine, but if your a couple I wouldn't touch it with a barge pole!!.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MightyMacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Me and my family stayed here in october 2013, when we arrived the hotel looked nothing like what it does in the pictures. When we entered the apartment it was very dated - shabby sofa beds, 14 year old tv, cracked cupboards in the kitchen, lamps that didnt work - the list can continue! we went to the bedroom and there was 2 single beds pushed together to make a double- no quilt just a tatty blanket and 2 flimsy pillows. The bed was so hard I may as well slept on the floor! because of this I ended up with severe back pain and cramps in my neck. The cot was filthy and also broken had to ask for replacement which never got done the balacony is unsafe which we were told by the staff not to lean on as there have been incidents of them collapsing also not child safe as no more then 3ft high and no railing on top.
The Indoor pool is a joke you have to wear a swimming cap for hygiene reasons, apparently! Never heard or seen this anywhere else. There were cracked tiles around the pool aswell as inside the pool. This is more of a health and safety matter rather than Hygiene! The outdoor pool bar was out of use, snack bar a rip off, food was awful, there is no food court just 2 restaurants! The list could go on and on! This hotel is more like 2 star, it is a shambles and misleads its customer just to fill rooms. False advertising.

The maids were good, clean towels daily, empty bins and bed made.
The reception staff were miserable, rude and no help whatsoever!
The noise from the corridors of an evening to early hours was unbelievable. Not once did we see a security guard.
The shop on site is handy and the ladies that work there were pleasant.

The location isnt excellent but the distance to New & Old Town is walkable within 10-15 minutes or a €4 cab ride.

I will say that this is the only holiday that we have been on that has MADE us leave earlier than we were expected too. We caught an early flight home. For us, we will never return to Portugal again let alone Paraiso Albufeira!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SKI201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews