We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,311)
Filter reviews
3,311 results
Traveller rating
655
1,048
818
416
374
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
655
1,048
818
416
374
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thomas cook reps self catering hotel paraiso old town off licence kids club games room crazy golf can't comment on the food entertainment team bit dated outdoor pool great holiday family holiday large hotel all inclusive food one bedroom apartment
Filter
Updating list...
1,806 - 1,811 of 3,311 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed here at the end October 2013. Would definately stay again. Lovely clean place. Massive pool (plus indoor heated pool). Has own Spa & Health club. We had a peak into other 4* hotels thru'out Albufeira..none of them seemed to be as nice. The location is between the Old Town & The Strip - Old town is a nicer place (day & night). We stayed self catering only because we wanted to eat out (which I would have to recommend the Old Town Area for also). There is entertainment nightly & it seems to be a great place for families as young kids are kept entertained. The self catering rooms are huge - with air con. Its a bit of a trek to the beach but a good one.

Room Tip: Look for a south view (pool view).
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Heekin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in September 2013, towards the end of the season. The hotel was really nice. There was no overcrowding of facilities. Staff were friendly and helpful. The self catering apartments are of excellent standard. The apartment consists of a large spacious double bedroom with access to the balcony, a very spacious sitting room with a kitchen strip, and a combined shower and toilet facility. The apartment fulfilled all the expectations of a 4 star hotel. The weather was lovely towards the end of September, around 30-35 degrees. We didn't eat in the hotel, so I can't comment on the food. This hotel is situated between the Old Town and the New Town, although there are restaurants and shopping facilities within 10 minutes walk, if you prefer. Taxis to the Old Town and New Town are booked via a computer at reception. They are metered, but it never cost more than 5€ to get to either one. All in all this is a great place to stay. I can't say fairer than that. The price was fair too!!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Me and my partner have just got back from the paraiso, after staying here about 7 years ago and referring to it as the best hotel I had ever stayed in, it seems a shame to say this times stay has completely changed my mind.
The food was fantastic with a good mixture to suit everyone, different meats every night in the main restaurant, breakfast was great! However The outside pool snack bar is very dated, to the extent it looks grubby and there are a lot of flies knocking about which can easily put you off straight away.

The outside appearance of the hotel was also a shock looking back at photos from my last stay was a sparkling 5* looking hotel with a fountain and glass windows all around with a spinning door. This time we arrived at a dirty coloured hotel with a filthy fountain and the spinning doors where out or order and the windows smashed. 'Faulty towers came to mind'.
The reception was once grand but now is also dated, with the same furniture as my previous visit but worn so much you sunk into the seat, it was miss coloured and had a funny smell. a re-furb is definitely in need. The pool area was great bar service fantastic and entertainment was fab.

DO NOT BOOK A STUDIO ROOM!
we had to upgrade due to the two single beds after asking for a double and no way of pushing them together, and the dated ugly kitchen in the same room, it cost us 80euros to upgrade but our next room was lovley. All inclusive was 100% worth it. overall a good stay but would not return to paraiso im sorry to say.

Room Tip: ensure you get a room at the back of the hotel, all we could hear was bottles being thrown into the bin and deliveries at all times of the day/night
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kazzam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Booked this hotel on a recommendation from a friend, but spent 3 weeks before our hols fretting from the mixed reviews on here.
Needn't have worried.
The hotel is a family oriented hotel, and is what I would class as "Perfect" for your family holiday.
Onsite entertainment day & night (until end of Oct) for kids and adults alike. The entertainment staff are great, full of fun and provide plenty of entertainment.
Leave the hotel and turn right, and walk approx 10 mins and you're at the Strip, turn left & in 10 mins you're in Old Town.
Off LIcence in hotel is excellent value. Supermarket (turn left leaving hotel) and 3-4 min walk. walk further on about 10 mins and you have aldi & Lidl.
Excellent Indian Restaurant - Clay Oven, Leave hotel and turn right, 3-4 min walk.
Bar prices are €2.50 pint of local beer, €4 labeled spirits, €3 local spirits, Mixers steep (€2 for dash) , you can buy cans of juice in off Lic for .85c, or €1 in shop. Red bull €5 at bar, €2 in shop.
Rooms/Apts were perfect, not v fancy or modern, but were clean, and had everything you could need in them, full oven, microwave , toaster and lots of crockery & cutlery. Beds were slightly on the hard side, but not unbearable.
Had a pool view, which I would definitely recommend, as the view onto the road didn't look very appealing.
Small restaurant in the middle of the Strip, called the Cottage, English owned, serves English Breakfast at reasonable prices, coffee here wasnt great though. Bakerys called PAO DA ALDEIA are beautiful & very reasonable, & Coffee here is Excellent.

Room Tip: Pool view good choice.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tincar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just returned for a trip with the hubby from Paraiso!! Hotel is huge and that also goes for the rooms! We had a 1 bed apt on the 5th floor. Little bit dated in decor but lots of space and fully equipt kitchen, even had a full oven!! Shop downstairs is very overpriced but the off licence is very cheap.

We were self catering so never ate in the hotel but we went for a drink and prices were morre expensive than at home. Vodka & coke was €5.50....

Location is ideal between both strip and old town although walking back from old town is all uphill. Taxi is 3.80€.

Indoor and outdoor pool nice but I can imagine it could be very crowded in summer months!

The only downside was not having a pool view room!! We were located at the front, NO SUN WHATSOEVER during the day which made it seem cold & damp.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudesA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews