We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Ranked #89 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked a short break last minute for £130, the hotel was quiet but I think because it was out of season. It was clean, drinks were reasonable, the resort was really cheap. I wouldn't get excited about the 4 stars it was a lower end 4 star.If you come out of the hotel and turn left on the main road and keep walking you will see a sign for the old town which is beautiful and has some lovely local restaurants. If you come out the hotel and turn right and keep walking straight you will end up on the modern strip. This is also great for couples all ages, families and Club seekers if you want it. It was fairly quiet when we were there but some nice restaurants open and bars and we met some lovely people that we will stay in touch with. Definitely visit albufeira again but maybe a smaller hotel.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Little-lou08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,960)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,493 - 1,499 of 2,960 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed all inclusive 5 -10 November. Excellent hotel, room serviced daily with clean towels. Food of very high standard even a Tex Mex night one evening. Friendly staff. In a nutshell - clean, comfortable and enjoyable. Certainly no where near as bad as some reviews on here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Simon83N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Our room number was 517. 5th floor
THE ROOM..... It was a 1 bedroom apartment, consisting of a lounge come kitchen almost fully equipped ( we took our own electric kettle), a full bathroom, and a bedroom with ample storage. Both bedroom and lounge had patio windows leading onto a large balcony, which overlooked the hotel pool and garden area and further over the residential houses to the sea.
THE HALLWAYS..... The hall ways were carpeted so no noisy footsteps waking everyone up at an unearthly hour. The doors to rooms didn't bang shut, except when the wind blew them shut. This has always been a sore point to us, folk who bang doors with no respect to others
ROOM CLEANLINESS... cleaned everyday, towels changed daily, beds made up every day and bed linen changed regularly. We saw no evidence of uncleanness inside or outside the hotel.
DINING AREA.... Fresh clean, well organised, very polite and friendly staff, always there if you needed advice , very knowledgeable of places to visit in surrounding areas of Abuferia.
FOOD..... Well done all you chefs, cooks and runabouts, you served us well. Food varied everyday, plenty for everyone.
BAR.ENTERTAINMENT ROOM.......all inclusive is a must if you like a drink or 3. Prices are similar to UK prices. Again, polite and friendly staff, we hardly every queued for drinks.
ENTERTAINMENT.........8pm till 9pm children's hour. If you haven't got children, then go for a quiet walk until after 9pm. I'm not sure who made the most noise, the fantastic entertainment team or the children........but the kids loved every minute of that hour(and beyond!!!!!!)
THE RECEPTION AREA......Clean, welcoming, comfortable with staff who couldn't do enough for you
OUTSIDE RECEPTION......Well kept gardens and driveway leading to shops, roads, bus stops, supermarkets etc..
POOL AREA......Pool cleaned every morning,pool water clean, all surrounded pool area washed down. Sun beds & mattresses plentiful, parasols not enough! Large garden area and pool area for sunbathing. Mini golf course, tennis courts,. The pool itself was a large cold water pool with a diving pool 3mts depth.with a small a bridge over the middle.
THE PROBLEMS!!!!!..........Needed is a television lounge or quiet conversational lounge where one can escape the noisy entertainment room.
SATURDAY NIGHT.....How cheeky the locals are to invade the entertainment room, dance the night away, and sit with either a glass of water, their own drink they have brought with them, OR nothing at all, but they took all the seats they could put their botts on. We saw paying hotel guests leave the room to go else where rather than put up with watching the locals dance the same dance each time they got up. We made a point of not giving up our seats and sat playing cards all night with some angry looks sent our way. But we didn't care.
THE POOL....Not enough law and order at the poolside. Being a keen swimmer I would have liked to use the pool regularly but I used it only twice in the 2 weeks. The reason is most bathers continuously jumped into the pool from the sides, the diving area and the bridge, children AND adults. DANGEROUS, if anyone is swimming underneath! We saw drunken behaviour at the poolside and IN the pool. Some of the pool side area was in need of repair.
CHILDREN.....More than most were well behaved, a minority were like madkids let loose from an asylum, running mindlessly round and round for no apparent reason and with no care of knocking someone over, (which happened to my spouse, but he gained his balance the child didn't!) parents didn't seem to care either. Perhaps the kids were in the same minds as their parents.......no respect for others.
OVERALL......loved the holiday and all the people we met, even some of the kids were little stars and kept us entertained.
TO THE STAFF OF THE PARAISO DE ALBUFERIA, KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.
TO the person who wrote a terrible review which we read before we went on holiday, it almost put us off going, but we're so happy we chose to ignore your report. So sad you couldn't see the good points of the hotel, and how hard the staff work to keep so many people happy. Better luck next time. hey xxxx

Room Tip: 1 bedroom apartments overlooking the pool.Room 517 5th floor Use the local buses and taxis, they...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank trevjudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Not a 4 star at all. Maybe the reception area, rest in need of a big revamp. Rooms could do with reprinting. Beds not great nor pillows. Comparable to some hostels. Bit drab and dated. Didn't use restaurant or spa .good location between old town and new town.weather beautiful for time of year.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing pool area
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnMarieDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

absaloutley fantastic hotel all staff work extemely hard inclouding les from sun star and the rest of the thomas cook reps they made my son hughies holiday very central 2 both stips the apartments are huge the cooking facilitys are very good cleaners are fantastic portuges shopping centre 5 mins from hotel supermarket very cheap lidl and aldi 20min walk from hotel pool kept well clean the same with the gardens would recomend high tide bar on the strip had many great nites would defo return 2 these apartments wouldnt listen 2 negitive reviews great apartments my only quam was the internet at the reception area dont use waste of money well done paraiso will return excellent

Room Tip: pool veiw lower floor
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scotlandcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed (a couple) at Paraiso De Albufeira from 5th to 8th November - very nice hotel - we had a one room apartment facing the pool area (Room 221) which was roughly 20 footsteps to the restaurant, which was handy. We were all inclusive and ate there everyday and the choice and quality of the food was great. It is out of season and the place in general was quiet; there was one night of entertainment midweek and a decent crowd in the bar. Would definitely stay here again, great location between strip and old town - taxi to Algarve Shopping Centre will cost 9 or 10 euros. We did find out that the all inclusive drinks stopped at 11pm, after which you'd pay normal price, but they would now give you normal sized glasses - we didn't realise the measures were smaller (just meant going top the bar more often!) Overall, great trip and I would recommend the all inclusive

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisDerry2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

After reading reviews I was nervous about staying here (heard about roaches etc) but I must admit its a lovely hotel.
Me & my boyfriend arrived on 31/10 and were checked in right away and given our key (only 1) and also a remote to control the air con - it was great and not as noisy as other hotels ive stayed in - we stayed in a studio apartment (341 3rd floor) and it was huge !
Ok so the kitchenette was a bit dated and the tv was tiny but who goes on holiday to admire the decor of the room and watch tv - not us anyway - the balcony was okay with table and chairs. My only issue was the beds, there is 2 single beds and the mattresses were awful I didnt get a full nights sleep once throughout our weeks stay. The maid service is good and there is no need to take towels as the towels are massive and can easily be used as beach towels or taken to the pool.
The pool is massive but the water is freezing, I never saw more than 3 people in it however the indoor pool is great if its quiet but you have to wear a swim cap.
The bar is very expensive if you arent all inc, it was €5 for a smirnoff ice/wkd, at the weekend the hotel bar was very busy with Portuguese dances and singing etc.
The hotel is in great location between the old town and the strip, id recommend the old town for day and night although it is quiet as it's out of season but great food, I particularly liked Doce Jardin and also Buddy's for a lunch/evening meal although be warned, at every turn is a local trying to pull you into theyre establishment.
We went to the strip twice but it was dead and also quite tacky with drunks and kebab shops etc. The beach at the old town is stunning however dont be fooled into any excursions as they are a rip off. We booked 3 hours reef fishing in the neighbouring town of Villamoura altogether costing €78 which turned out to be 20 minutes of fishing and the 2 crewmen were too busy drinking beers and enjoying lunch. We complained but of course as I am 18 and my boyfriend is 19 they done nothing, the locals are very unpleasant and we could only put it down to us being a young couple, in particular we had a terrible experience in the restaurant next the hotel - chines (chinese restaurant) - they didnt give us eye contact or ask how the meal was etc, we had to ask twice for our bill and waited around 20 minutes then as we got up to leave they finally gave us it. I found the Portuguese woman to be very arrogant and if you are wearing a summer dress be warned, you will be looked at as if you just came off a space ship !
I would recommend the gypsy markets for leather bags and boots etc but they only happen a few times a month so ask at reception to ensure you dont miss out as its an eye opener.
Over all we both really enjoyed the hotel, old town, food etc and if we return to Portugal we would 100% be staying here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Greenock23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,774 reviews
0.8 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,340 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#27 of 154 in Albufeira
1,646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#23 of 154 in Albufeira
470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#50 of 154 in Albufeira
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira

Address: Rua do Municipio | Lote 31, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal (Formerly BlueBay Paraíso de Albufeira)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#46 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £28 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira is a family resort located in the heart of Albufeira. License No. 843 The use of some services such as Fitness Centre, Spa, Games Camps has an additional cost. The use of swimming cap in the indoor pool is mandatory. Customers can buy caps at € 3.50 / each at the front desk. Guests with food allergies, food intolerances and/or other special dietary needs must notify the hotel before arrival. For groups of young guests and/or stag/hen parties, a security deposit of EUR 250 per person will be requested, in cash or by charging the amount on a valid credit or debit card, at the time of check-in. If the guest refuses to pay this security deposit, the entrance in the property will be denied. This security deposit will be refunded if no damages are made to the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Onthebeach, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraiso De Albufeira Hotel Albufeira
Paraiso De Hotel Albufeira
Paraiso Albufeira
Paraiso Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Paraiso De Hotel
Aparthotel Paraiso De Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso De Albufeira Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing