We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a 4 star trip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Ranked #94 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

My Husband and I stayed here for our 4th Anniversary. We we looking forward to having a nice, relaxing, romantic break, in a warm climate, in a NICE all inclusive hotel.
First off, the beds in our studio apartment were so uncomfortable and hard, that neither of us could sleep, so waking up for the repeated buffet breakfast, by a certain time, was difficult. When we asked for a different room, we were told none available, but when we inquired about an upgrade, we were shown a sheet and quoted another 25 euro a night for a 1 bedroom. Turns out, after looking at our booking details a bit more careful, THAT was the room we should have had in the 1st place, and when we pointed that out, they moved us, MUCH nicer room, more comfortable beds.
The apartments were well kitted out, with pots, pans, dishes, fridge and microwave, and each of the rooms were cleaned daily. We didn't get fresh towels every day and if you try and have a nap during the day, the housekeeping staff can be very noisy and the paper thin walls do little to insulate noise.
The food was good and the restaurant staff were pleasant, again, breakfast was a repeated buffet every day (ok, sometimes it was bacon and sometimes it was sausage, but everything else, same) and the bar staff were nice as well, with the "free" local drink selection being more than enough for me, as they poured quite heavy. The only entertainer that we saw at the hotel was a keyboard player/singer, who seemed to have a following of regulars, but was not to our taste.
The outdoor pool was absolutely freezing, and the "heated" indoor pool was luke warm at best and too shallow to really swim in.
As far as things to do in Albufeira...there is New Town and Old town. And most everything of real interest was shut do too it being off season.

Room Tip: Make sure they put you in the room you booked, and try and get a room overlooking the pool, as the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maat1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    854
    676
    347
    275
See reviews for
1,297
696
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked a short break last minute for £130, the hotel was quiet but I think because it was out of season. It was clean, drinks were reasonable, the resort was really cheap. I wouldn't get excited about the 4 stars it was a lower end 4 star.If you come out of the hotel and turn left on the main road and keep walking you will see a sign for the old town which is beautiful and has some lovely local restaurants. If you come out the hotel and turn right and keep walking straight you will end up on the modern strip. This is also great for couples all ages, families and Club seekers if you want it. It was fairly quiet when we were there but some nice restaurants open and bars and we met some lovely people that we will stay in touch with. Definitely visit albufeira again but maybe a smaller hotel.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Little-lou08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange over sands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed all inclusive 5 -10 November. Excellent hotel, room serviced daily with clean towels. Food of very high standard even a Tex Mex night one evening. Friendly staff. In a nutshell - clean, comfortable and enjoyable. Certainly no where near as bad as some reviews on here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Simon83N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Our room number was 517. 5th floor
THE ROOM..... It was a 1 bedroom apartment, consisting of a lounge come kitchen almost fully equipped ( we took our own electric kettle), a full bathroom, and a bedroom with ample storage. Both bedroom and lounge had patio windows leading onto a large balcony, which overlooked the hotel pool and garden area and further over the residential houses to the sea.
THE HALLWAYS..... The hall ways were carpeted so no noisy footsteps waking everyone up at an unearthly hour. The doors to rooms didn't bang shut, except when the wind blew them shut. This has always been a sore point to us, folk who bang doors with no respect to others
ROOM CLEANLINESS... cleaned everyday, towels changed daily, beds made up every day and bed linen changed regularly. We saw no evidence of uncleanness inside or outside the hotel.
DINING AREA.... Fresh clean, well organised, very polite and friendly staff, always there if you needed advice , very knowledgeable of places to visit in surrounding areas of Abuferia.
FOOD..... Well done all you chefs, cooks and runabouts, you served us well. Food varied everyday, plenty for everyone.
BAR.ENTERTAINMENT ROOM.......all inclusive is a must if you like a drink or 3. Prices are similar to UK prices. Again, polite and friendly staff, we hardly every queued for drinks.
ENTERTAINMENT.........8pm till 9pm children's hour. If you haven't got children, then go for a quiet walk until after 9pm. I'm not sure who made the most noise, the fantastic entertainment team or the children........but the kids loved every minute of that hour(and beyond!!!!!!)
THE RECEPTION AREA......Clean, welcoming, comfortable with staff who couldn't do enough for you
OUTSIDE RECEPTION......Well kept gardens and driveway leading to shops, roads, bus stops, supermarkets etc..
POOL AREA......Pool cleaned every morning,pool water clean, all surrounded pool area washed down. Sun beds & mattresses plentiful, parasols not enough! Large garden area and pool area for sunbathing. Mini golf course, tennis courts,. The pool itself was a large cold water pool with a diving pool 3mts depth.with a small a bridge over the middle.
THE PROBLEMS!!!!!..........Needed is a television lounge or quiet conversational lounge where one can escape the noisy entertainment room.
SATURDAY NIGHT.....How cheeky the locals are to invade the entertainment room, dance the night away, and sit with either a glass of water, their own drink they have brought with them, OR nothing at all, but they took all the seats they could put their botts on. We saw paying hotel guests leave the room to go else where rather than put up with watching the locals dance the same dance each time they got up. We made a point of not giving up our seats and sat playing cards all night with some angry looks sent our way. But we didn't care.
THE POOL....Not enough law and order at the poolside. Being a keen swimmer I would have liked to use the pool regularly but I used it only twice in the 2 weeks. The reason is most bathers continuously jumped into the pool from the sides, the diving area and the bridge, children AND adults. DANGEROUS, if anyone is swimming underneath! We saw drunken behaviour at the poolside and IN the pool. Some of the pool side area was in need of repair.
CHILDREN.....More than most were well behaved, a minority were like madkids let loose from an asylum, running mindlessly round and round for no apparent reason and with no care of knocking someone over, (which happened to my spouse, but he gained his balance the child didn't!) parents didn't seem to care either. Perhaps the kids were in the same minds as their parents.......no respect for others.
OVERALL......loved the holiday and all the people we met, even some of the kids were little stars and kept us entertained.
TO THE STAFF OF THE PARAISO DE ALBUFERIA, KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.
TO the person who wrote a terrible review which we read before we went on holiday, it almost put us off going, but we're so happy we chose to ignore your report. So sad you couldn't see the good points of the hotel, and how hard the staff work to keep so many people happy. Better luck next time. hey xxxx

Room Tip: 1 bedroom apartments overlooking the pool.Room 517 5th floor Use the local buses and taxis, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank trevjudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Not a 4 star at all. Maybe the reception area, rest in need of a big revamp. Rooms could do with reprinting. Beds not great nor pillows. Comparable to some hostels. Bit drab and dated. Didn't use restaurant or spa .good location between old town and new town.weather beautiful for time of year.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnMarieDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

absaloutley fantastic hotel all staff work extemely hard inclouding les from sun star and the rest of the thomas cook reps they made my son hughies holiday very central 2 both stips the apartments are huge the cooking facilitys are very good cleaners are fantastic portuges shopping centre 5 mins from hotel supermarket very cheap lidl and aldi 20min walk from hotel pool kept well clean the same with the gardens would recomend high tide bar on the strip had many great nites would defo return 2 these apartments wouldnt listen 2 negitive reviews great apartments my only quam was the internet at the reception area dont use waste of money well done paraiso will return excellent

Room Tip: pool veiw lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotlandcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed (a couple) at Paraiso De Albufeira from 5th to 8th November - very nice hotel - we had a one room apartment facing the pool area (Room 221) which was roughly 20 footsteps to the restaurant, which was handy. We were all inclusive and ate there everyday and the choice and quality of the food was great. It is out of season and the place in general was quiet; there was one night of entertainment midweek and a decent crowd in the bar. Would definitely stay here again, great location between strip and old town - taxi to Algarve Shopping Centre will cost 9 or 10 euros. We did find out that the all inclusive drinks stopped at 11pm, after which you'd pay normal price, but they would now give you normal sized glasses - we didn't realise the measures were smaller (just meant going top the bar more often!) Overall, great trip and I would recommend the all inclusive

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisDerry2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
0.2 mi away
Luna Miramar
Luna Miramar
#65 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#64 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#16 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paladim Aparthotel
Paladim Aparthotel
#18 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#27 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira

Property: Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Address: Rua Municipio - Lote 31 | Cerro da Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal (Formerly BlueBay Paraíso de Albufeira)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira is a family resort located in the heart of Albufeira. Just a few minutes from the main beach Playa de los Pescadores and the city center, it is the perfect starting point for a vacation surrounded by the intense life of this great tourist resort. The use of some services such as Fitness Centre, Spa, Games Camps has an additional cost. The use of swimming cap in the indoor pool is mandatory. Customers can buy caps at € 3.50 / each at the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Onthebeach so you can book your Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraiso De Albufeira Hotel Albufeira
Paraiso De Hotel Albufeira
Paraiso Albufeira
Paraiso Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Paraiso De Hotel
Aparthotel Paraiso De Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso De Albufeira Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing