We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Ranked #90 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Nice location midway between old town and The Strip ( pub crawl heaven). Spacious room with balcony and pool view. Staff pleasant. Housekeeping good. Definitely worth a look see. Plenty of shops and cafés and supermarkets nearby. Would go again if price right.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank chrissiecross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,483 - 1,489 of 3,015 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

So as the title states, great position for either The Strip or The Old Town. End of positives!

Hotel Dated. The noise you can hear from each room is unacceptable.

Food Poor. The choice you get is poor, and the temperature is luke warm. So much so that even though we had paid for All Inclusive we began eating out!!!

You cannot get anything other than beer, soft drinks or wine with lunch and dinner.

You get one key per room and for the fact that a lot of stag and hen do's use the hotel, is not functional.

Around the pool you can only get small beers.

The bar of evening is minimally staffed so All Inclusive customers, need not have bothered.

We are a group of 16 golfers who have used All Inclusive together and separately and found this to be the worst example of all our experience.

All in all I would not recommend unless you can accept all of the above, at the end of the day it is all about opinion but 16 of us would all; never return! You decide!

Room Tip: Don't do all inclusive, in fact think twice about choosing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nbroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just home from a fantastic 5 day trip to this hotel. We stayed Monday 4th May to Friday 9th May. When we turned up we were welcomed by very friendly and helpful staff, we were checked in at 11am and asked to come back at 12pm for our all inclusive bands. We went to our room, we stayed in room 313..which is the ground floor if you enter via reception on the main road. The room looked a little old fashioned but I think all the rooms abroad do anyway. The room was a lot larger than I had imagined it would be. We had a kitchenette with kettle toaster and microwave, fridge freezer oven and electric hobs (we didn't use anything as we were all inclusive, apart from putting our after sun in the fridge). There was a TV which was a decent size...but again we didn't use it. We had a sofa with a pull out bed, and a large bathroom and bedroom (no option for double room...just twin beds pushed together). There was also a very large balcony which joined the living area and bed room and was in the sun past 4pm. The room was very very clean and was cleaned daily, I was in the room on one of the days the maid was on, she thoroughly mopped and hoovered the apartment, spending around 15 minutes just in the living room.

To access the pool you go down from the 3rd floor...either by a short staircase or there is 3 lifts which appear very quickly. The pool area is fantastic, it's huge and there appeared to be enough loungers for everyone to have 10 each. There is a small children's pool and a children's section of the big pool, as well as a swim up bar. The deep end of the pool is a plunge pool at an impressive 3m deep!! The space around the pool is amazing, so many grassy areas that you can be in and around the pool...or lounge alone on one of many grassy areas. Upon check in you are given a plastic laminate card each which you exchange at the pool hut for a towel, this is brilliant as it keeps your own towels clean...and the hotel ones were huge,and very clean. You take them back at the end of the day and you are given back a laminate card so you can exchange it the next day and so on. If you are all inclusive you get free daily hire of a pool mattress for your lounger, they are a necessity on the loungers as they are so comfy, the pool area states that the pool is open till 7pm, but the pool guys came round collecting the mattresses at 6pm one night, and 5.30 the next night....not too sure why but a bit frustrating if you were planning on lying by the pool a bit longer. If you are not all inclusive I believe it's 2.50 a day per mattress to hire. There is not much shade at the pool. A small section of poolside is under a canopy near the swim up bar..but that's it. There are only around 10 parasols beside the pool so if you want one you would need to be down fast. When it got a bit hot I just sat at the seating area in the snack bar under the straw umbrellas and was fine :)

Can't rate the food highly enough. Each day in reception a menu goes up to say what food will be offered during the buffet lunch and dinner. We only went for lunch once as we used the snack bar the rest of the time, but the once we went was fantastic.

We went for buffet dinner every night, the staff are suited and booted and very professional. There is also a live pianist who is fantastic, and he will come round to ask if you have any requests for him. Every single night we were blown away by dinner, especially the beef steak night, and the stroganoff night. These were particularly lovely.

We noticed that the menu in reception only shows the big main meals offered at the buffet...if you read the menu and don't think you will like anything on offer don't worry, there was always pizza, chips, pasta, sausages etc on offer above what was put on the menu.

The snack bar by the poolside is also really good offering baguettes, sub sandwiches, hot dogs, burgers, chicken nuggets,pizza slices, onion rings, fries and ice cream. This was available from 11am till 6pm. Again all free on all inclusive...if you are self catering you are looking at €9 for a burger and chips with a drink, we added up that for 5 days we would have spent €100 on lunch alone for the 2 of us, all inclusive is definitely worth the money. The snack bar workers English is not that great...we had a bit of confusion a lot with chicken/tuna and ice cream flavours...but we got there in the end :)

The poolside entertainment was very good...there was 2 Thomas Cook reps poolside each day Miguel and Sarah, they announce things like biggest splash tournaments, darts, pool, volleyball,penalty shootouts and you bet challenges. Even if you don't get involved they were fun to watch from your lounger. I really liked the 11am poolside quiz.

There was then entertainment each night in the bar upstairs, while we were there we had a singer, the rep show (hilariously cringe worthy but so worth a watch) a keyboard singer and a karaoke night. The all inclusive bar runs till 11pm at night and the vodka measures are huge! Every night spent here was great fun.

The strip is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. You leave through reception, take a right and keep walking past the supermarket and your on the strip. As we were all inclusive we just took a walk there..but it looked busy and full of places to eat and drink.

The hotel has an 18 hole mini golf course, it's €5 to play and it's quite a challenging course. There is also an outdoor pool table and table tennis table, and an indoor games room with pool, darts, and games machines. There is a small shop in the hotel also, and a row of computers you can use for a few coins. Wifi is available, I think it was quite expensive though. I saw a sign that said it was 5 euros for an hour. All in all this was a fantastic find and I'll be going back either later in the year or the same time next year. Highly recommend this hotel :)
Ashley & Alan

Room Tip: South facing, third floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

What an absolutely amazing holiday we had!!! I would have given five stars but the lunch and dinner menu I Didn't like!! Wild concoctions of this and that and same thing each Night for dinners changing slightly if at all.... however the pool side snack bar which we realized on day four done everything and was tasty was open from 11 til 6 and free to all inclusive bar a few things! Staff!!! What can we say!! Bar men where fantastic!! Diogo and tiago where top class bar men!!!! Brilliant crack!! But to be fair all the staff where fantastic and amazing with the kids!! Thomas cooks reps where the business...... Jen, Miguel, Ricky and Stevie Jo!! Made our holiday that extra bit special and where amazing with the kids entertainment!!! Watch out for Miguel's salmon dive!! Legendary!!! The kids club..... amazing staff and unbelievable with our three children, Aimee (bubbles )kori and Alex!!! I've never left our kids at a club before but this was so worth it!! Two hours a day and the kids wanted to stay!! The room...... at first we where in a studio family room number 210 which had two bathrooms!! One was stinking of God knows what lol but after speaking to staff we where offered another room and it was tickety boo!! James the per who done our transfer was fantastic too so all in all!! Amazing experience and loved the hotel!!!! We will be back!!!!! Sharon and Gary shanks

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

So we stayed in this hotel for a week. On arrival we straight away noticed that hotel is abit dated, but that didn't boder us much. We checked in fine. The room wasn't too bad, it was on the first floor. Again room was dated, but clean. Not sure how they got 4 stars tho.. After that we checked out the Bar and restaurant. The bar wasn't bad, however it wasn't "all inclusive" , even tho we payed for "all inclusive ".. The drinks which were all inclusive were very weak, for some reason.. Most of the bar staff were lovely- the big guy working by the bar called Djago was great, also the Manager called Lou was also lovely.. The girl with black hair was also nice!
Okay, restaurant now.. The food wasn't great. There wasn't much choice of it eather. Was expecting more Portugese cuisine, but that didn't happen. Staff very polite and professional. BIG THANKS TO ALL UKRAINIAN STAFF, They were absolutely brilliant! Very helpful and extremely professional! Overall holiday was great.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SallyYarrSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have read various reviews of this hotel and was pleasantly surprised when we arrived . Our room was on 5th floor at front of hotel views not great but could still sit out and enjoy sun . Apartment very clean and comfortable although slightly out dated. Beds were changed every second day. Our daughter had a 2 bedroom apartment on the same floor over looking pool this was also very clean and great view of pool and poolside entertainment. We were their first week of May and I think the poolside entertainment was just starting. The reps were very good and doing their best to get everyone to participate. I would recommend this hotel as a base to visit the Old town and strip. The only downside we found was the food. We ate out as we were self catering but tried snacks at poolside this was disgusting .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed at the Paraiso from the 27th April to the 1st May , the hotel is great location on the main road in Albufeira 5 mins away from the big supermarket and Mc Donalds in between the strip and old town.
It takes 15 mins to walk to either the old town or the strip, the hotel is very clean there was cleaners around cleaning/mopping all the time.
The rooms are very spacious I had a one bed apartment, I slept on the sofa bed in the front room which was adequate. I would put in a request for a room overlooking the pool rather than the front of the hotel because the noise of the cars and people coming in, in the early hours of the morning can wake you up.
I stayed here on a B&B basis the breakfast was good you had the choice of pastry's, bacon, sausage, egg , beans fruit juices, coffees, cereals, fruit and meats what more could you want.
I chose to stay on a b&b basis because there is so many nice restaurants to choose from in the old town and the strip I didn't want to be stuck to the hotel.
ALL IN ALL GOOD HOTEL. :-D

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 146keeley146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,805 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
0.8 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#83 of 154 in Albufeira
3,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
1,687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paladim Aparthotel
Paladim Aparthotel
#19 of 154 in Albufeira
693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#40 of 154 in Albufeira
2,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira

Address: Rua do Municipio | Lote 31, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal (Formerly BlueBay Paraíso de Albufeira)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £27 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira is a family resort located in the heart of Albufeira. License No. 843 The use of some services such as Fitness Centre, Spa, Games Camps has an additional cost. The use of swimming cap in the indoor pool is mandatory. Customers can buy caps at € 3.50 / each at the front desk. Guests with food allergies, food intolerances and/or other special dietary needs must notify the hotel before arrival. For groups of young guests and/or stag/hen parties, a security deposit of EUR 250 per person will be requested, in cash or by charging the amount on a valid credit or debit card, at the time of check-in. If the guest refuses to pay this security deposit, the entrance in the property will be denied. This security deposit will be refunded if no damages are made to the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Onthebeach, Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraiso De Albufeira Hotel Albufeira
Paraiso De Hotel Albufeira
Paraiso Albufeira
Paraiso Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Paraiso De Hotel
Aparthotel Paraiso De Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso De Albufeira Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing