We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clube Humbria by 3HB(Olhos de Agua)
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
PortoBay Falesia(Albufeira)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Topazio(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Baia Grande(Sesmarias)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Golden Beach by 3HB(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Eden Resort(Albufeira)
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$403
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$285
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,590)
Filter reviews
2,590 results
Traveller rating
747
993
584
176
90
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
747
993
584
176
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbella vistaold towncourtesy bussister hotelindoor poollovely hotelkids clubreception staffon an all inclusive basisfish fingersshort breakevening entertainmentfamily holidaygarden areafussy eaterstag and hen partiesmeal times
Filter
Updating list...
2,054 - 2,059 of 2,590 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Evening meals were very poor choice nothing for vegetarian.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kool_moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

On arriving the Hotel looks nice,only to be told at 10am rooms are not available until 2pm and we could leave our bags in storage room and he would show us where,as we turned in the direction he pointed we turned round to see him now looking after someone else and had to remind him we wanted to store our bags,we were told we could change in the Spa area but wre not given any help with Directions.
The rooms were adequate size although the Beds were vrey hard and with 3 pillowsput together they were only the same as one english pillow, the bathrooms are very large with a hairdrier fitted next to the worktop, towels and Bedsheets were change everyday with dusting & cleaning occationally.
Breakfast choice was very good with a mix of cereal,fruit and full english available although sometimes a wait of 10 to 15 minutes while items were topped up was frustrating to say the least.
Evening meals were in comparison a very poor choice, some days only 1 veg, only chips available ( surely someone can boil potatoes ) , meat choice often unable to cut let alone eat, I pity anyone with children as there was nothing for them at all, chicken nuggets and burgers are easy to cook, and more than once we saw people complaining at receiption about the choice.
When having a drink with your meal be warned a bottle of Magners is 6.5 euro's and 1 litre of water is 3euro's.
The Hotel has Spa and Gym facilities but all have to be paid for and with the Gym being 7.5 Euro's a session ( even if you are only in 20 minutes, if you leave and return later in the Day you have to pay again), also if you wanted to use the inside pool you had to wear a swimming cap available for 3 euro's, however when we walked through there was 5 portugese people in and none werewearing the hats, it must apply to tourists only??
The Hotel is on a Hill but the pavements are in such poor condition with loose blocks and large area's uneven due to tree roots lifting them you end up walking on the road and dodging cars.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maddadCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2010

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post a review of the Real Bellavista Hotel & SPA. We regret that you were not satisfied with your stay at our Hotel, with its services and facilities. We took careful note of your comments, which will be passed on to the responsible department heads, and will do our utmost to correct possible mistakes and improve the quality of our services. However, some of the points you mentioned cannot be changed, as for instance the check-in time. We understand that our guests arrive tired from their journey, especially if they had an early flight, didn’t get much sleep and would love to occupy their room immediately. Unfortunately, this is not always possible, especially during peak periods, when most of our rooms are occupied. Our check-out time is at noon, which means that when you arrived at 10 a.m. your room was still occupied by other guests. Of course, we cannot dislodge the previous guests as soon as the new guest arrives, but have to wait until the guest leaves his room, until noon, and after the room has been cleaned, it is ready to be occupied by the new guest. Whenever we have availability, we try to provide an earlier check-in, but if the occupancy is at or close to 100%, as it has been during August and beginning of September, it is almost impossible to provide an earlier check-in.
There is also a charge for the use of the gym and we are not planning to change that, but, there are always special packages which include the use of the gym. The gym, as well as the use of the garage, is also included for guests booking a Premium room or suite. We would also like to add that the use of the gym is not €7.5 per session, but €5 per session and that the swimming caps are €2 and not €3. We make no difference between our guests and the few rules that we have are for everyone, independently of the nationality. All our guests are informed that they have to use the swimming cap in the indoor pool, which by the way, is not a rule imposed by the Hotel, but obligatory in every indoor pool in Portugal. Unfortunately, not all guests follow the rules and some, even though they have been informed that they have to wear the caps, get to the pool and do not use them. We do not have permanent staff in the pool area and our reception is also not located next to the pool, therefore it might happen that we do not detect immediately if someone is not using the cap. However, the area is regularly controlled and every time we detect that someone is using the pool without cap, the guest is invited to either wear the cap or leave the pool, no matter if it is a Portuguese or a foreign guest.
Thank you once again for your feedback and please do not hesitate to contact us if you would like to share more details about your stay with us.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

The Food was of shockingly poor quality on a repetative basis.
You will certainly not be treated as a Guest at this hotel. The staff give you the impression that You should be glad that you are staying there with Them.
If you want a drink at the bar (if you can afford the prices) you will have to wait until Mr. Barman has served all the Portugese first.
A Four Star Facade - but dont be fooled by the lovely photos or website - this is Faulty Towers inside !!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritamochada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2010

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We took note of your comments and, as we said before, the feedback regarding our food and the service has been generally very good, but, we take your comments very serious and will try to discover the reason why the reviews have changed so drastically over the last few days and will correct any mistakes that we might identify. We never before had received the feedback that our Portuguese guests have preferential treatment and were therefore very surprised that something that never has been said over the last 8 years, now is been mentioned twice in two days. We would like to reaffirm that we do not distinguish between the nationality, race, religion or whatsoever and it is certainly not true that English guests are only served after every Portuguese guest has been served. We regret that you did not share more detailed and constructive information with us and if you would like to do that, please do not hesitate to contact us through amendes@hoteisreal.com


Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We had never been to Portugal before so were really looking forward to 4 star treatment but this is not a 4 star hotel. The food quality is abismal with poor choice and little variety, extensive use of frozen food and no potatoes ( do they really think that everyone lives on frozen chips and veg). The restaurant is too small and the staff are not up to the job. being very slow and some bone idle. this resulted in huge queues waiting to eat.
The bar and restaurant prices for drinks are extortionate,if you can get served that is ( 3 Euro for water).The room was quite nice but the beds were very hard.
The "slight hill" is known as cardiac hill in the district and the quiet residential area is far from Quiet with dogs barking and a macaw squarking from morning till night,
The hotel entertainment was pitiful so guests had to go elswhere, but there isn't anywhere except 1 small bar with reasonable prices which was always full of disgruntled Bellavista guests.
and yes, the women on reception are slow and sullen and our room was not vaccumed during our 12 day stay.

A COMPLETE WASTE OF MONEY!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2010

Dear guest,

thank you for your review. We can only repeat ourselves. We do not understand the reason why the opinion has changed completely since last week and the reviews received over the last few days are so negative, but we will have your comments in consideration. We continuously try to improve the quality of our service and will certainly continue to do so. No matter how hard we try, there are points that we cannot change and this is our location, which in our opinion is a plus and not a negative point. We never heard the macaw that you heard the whole day, but it is natural that you might hear a dog barking from time to time, which is something you can expect in a residential area or anywhere. It is new for us that the hill on which the hotel is located is well known as cardiac hill in the district. In fact, we never heard of it being referred as cardiac hill before and any guest looking forward to the challenge of climbing this cardiac hill, will be deeply disappointed.

Kind regards


Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Just back from enjoyable weeks stay in the Real Bellavista first time to the Algarve. We emailed the hotel before hand and asked for a room with a view as we would be travelling with our 3 year old son, so would no doubt be spending early evenings onwards in the Room. Although the hotel wouldn’t guarantee this (as rooms cannot be reserved) we were put in a room on the 4th floor that was overlooking the pool, so we were pleased with this.

As for the room itself it was spacious and clean with a good bathroom.

A couple of things could be improved:-

- As stated in many other reviews the beds are hard there is no getting away from this.
- No coffee making facilities in the room
- Wi-fi in the room is incredibly expensive something like 6 Euros an hour,
- I would expect a flat screen TV (however we were really not bothered by this as we only switched the TV on once to see if it worked, but some visitors may watch films/TV’s or even want to hook up a laptop)

The above were observations more than anything else.

As for Location one of the reasons we picked this hotel was that we didn’t really want a hotel full of groups i.e. stag or hen parties. And I think the hotel is far enough away from the old and new town to deter them without being ridiculously far away. We didn’t mind the walk into the old town and the hill isn’t as bad as some people state about 20mins into the old town – so no problem.

The pool is on the small side but we never found it to be over crowded and could easily get a lounger throughout most of the day. The pool area was clean and the indoor pool although again small was adequate.

The service in the restaurant we found to be good and the food for both breakfast and dinner was very good. We did hear a few people complain they had to queue for breakfast, but if you go at peak time you can expect that. We adjusted the time we went down to ensure that we didn’t go to breakfast between 9.30-10.00 no problem at all don’t think we ever queued, same for dinner if you go at 7pm when it opens then you can expect to queue.

Service in the bar was mixed the waiter’s were ok, although we did ask when we got there if we could order at the bar (food) or would they come to our table. The response was that if they had time then they would come to our table if not then they wouldn’t, which I found a bit arrogant Same as reception staff asked to recommend a beach and got the response they are all the same “water and sand” – which is true but I would of though that they would be slightly more enthusiastic and maybe give us a bit more of their local knowledge. Saying that on the whole they were OK.

Gym and spa facilities very good, clean and the level they are on is probably the nicest level in the hotel.

The kids club was again good rather then excellent and my Son enjoyed his time there. What I saw of the evening entertainment wasn’t up to much but I don’t ever expect much from hotel entertainment. And there was enough to do in the Old town to keep us occupied.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsw_cymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2010

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your kind review. We really appreciate your feedback and constructive comments. We regret that not everything was perfect and especially regret the two incidents with our staff. Even if it were exceptional situations, and we believe that the majority of our staff would not respond like this, it is regrettable that two members of our team did it. It is certainly not the kind of service we do want and, usually, provide and we would like to apologise for these incidents. Our F&B and Front Office Management have been informed and we assure you that we will do our utmost to avoid similar situations and attitudes in the future.
Thank you also for your suggestions. We would indeed like to equip our rooms with more modern television and know that many guests expect to find LCD’s and , especially British and Irish guests, also expect tea and coffee making facilities, since most hotels in the UK and Ireland provide them. The majority of our guests are British and Irish and we therefore would really love to provide the coffee and tea making facilities they expect. Unfortunately, we have not been able to do so up until now, but hope that we will be able to provide coffee and tea facilities as standard in every room in the near future. In the meantime, please be informed that it is possible to request a kettle at our reception. To replace the existing TV’s might be more difficult since it would represent a very big investment, but as soon as the financial situation allows it, we will install LCD’s in the rooms. Regarding the beds, please contact our reception if the beds are too hard for you. We have mattress toppers that leave the bed softer and are therefore able to prepare the bed according to the individual preferences of our guests. However, we are only able to do so, if we receive feedback from our guests. So if the bed should not be comfortable enough for you, please do not hesitate to contact our reception.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that despite of these issues, we will be able to welcome you back to the Real Bellavista Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews