We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hotel, quality location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartamentos Soldoiro
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Poor hotel, quality location”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

After staying with my girlfriend for 4 days this is my review of the hotel. First of all I'd rate it as a two star hotel, however I guess the location has bumpted it up to a three star hotel.

Ill briefly bullet point my feedback.

Pros:
-fantastic location, 5 minutes walk to the beach and the strip
-English channels on the TV
-nice pool area.

Cons:
-poor room quality. A double bed which had two single beds of different heights pushed together!
-drainage smell in the room when doors were closed and AC was off.
-very noisy at night. They mentioned in their info that noise comes from outside however it's the internal noise that you need to be worried about from other guests.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    114
    103
    57
    78
See reviews for
76
181
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Okay I will start off with the negatives. If you are a young family or older couple looking for a quiet apartment stay then STAY AWAY. Second night, music blaring, I asked the Young lads to turn it down and in fairness to them they did. Im young meself and like a bitta fun but I like my sleep. Another night stag arrived, music blaring, rang reception and music stopped, final night group of students, loud loud loud. Anyway reception are very good in sorting them out. So second last day, got a phone call during the day from reception. They said our bath towels were not in great condition and we owe 14 euro, now I know they were stained but I thought this is ridiculous. So I went down to reception and asked could I see the towels. They couldn't show me and fair enough the 14 euro was waved. So question if they are charging you for extra and make sure you leave your room in the state you found it as they will charge you.

Positives
Well we had the dungeon room upon arrrival and I have read up about the apartments on trip advisor so we asked if we could have something else. It cost us 40 euro but it was worth it. Rooms were spacious and clean, shower was great, loads a mirrors and closet space. Cant comment on the bar food because we ate out but the bar area n food area is nice. Drinks are cheap. Pool is small I thought it was ideal. Reception are very friendly and take their time with all their clients. Apartment is 1 min from beach. Nice places to eat along beach, we went o the old town a lot, 6 euro in taxi. Very nice restaurants and plenty of nightlife in old town as well as the strip in Albufeira.

Room Tip: This ideal for anyone looking for a party time
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mssmiley09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We were upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment upon arrival. Had a nice sea view from the balcony and living room. The location is great, beach is 2 minutes down the hill, supermarket as well. Also a big supermarket about 10 minutes walk. The strip is 2 minutes up the hill, loads of bars and restaurants. The old town is a 25 minute walk but worth the stroll for nice restaurants and bars, cab back is only about 6 euros. Pool was great, could always get a lounger and umbrella. Bar was cheap and all the staff very very helpful. Was clean and tidy, kitchen perfect to knock up breakfast or a evening meal. Had Tv and air con in both rooms too! Really an ideal place to stay, would definitely recommend. I'd book a 1 bedroom apartment, otherwise i think you get like smaller sofa beds in the studios. only thing that would be good is some washing up liquid in the kitchens.

Room Tip: Book a 1 bedroom apartment if you want a better double bed, also sea view was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NdrSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soldoiro T, General Manager at Apartamentos Soldoiro, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your stay at Soldoiro as well your comment. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We were 9 people in the age 3 to 53. Hotel check-in starts 16:00. Not so much fun if your plane lands 9:00, and you have to wait the whole day. We booked 3 rooms, thought we booked together our rooms were far away from eachother. One of the apartments were even in another building. The floor and walls were full of black hair and the refrigerator was dirty. I washed the floor after room service was there, and my mop got black because of all the dirt on the floor. I had my shoes on the entire stay. The only place you can get wi-fi is in the "bar", and you have to pay 3 euro for 1 hour, the connection is not so good either. Almost every time i was in the bar surfing, drunk and loud people sat there. The pool was ok, but the area could have been cleaner. The beds are a bit hard. You also have to pay 10 euro in depositium to get the remote to the ac and really small tv. There was also something weird with the showers in all 3 rooms, the pressure was low and mostly cold water. The reseptions were nice and friendly though, and the location is good. But i would not recommend this hotel if you want to sleep and want a clean room.

Room Tip: Room 88 has a good view, 11 & 18 has not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susann86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Kilkenny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My family stayed in the Soldoiro apartments in May of this year (2013) Great location, staff were ok , on our 4th night there whilst we were asleep our apartment was robbed... when we called the police they confirmed along with the hotels caretaker that they entered our apartment using a key card.... when we went to reception the following morning at 9am to notify them of the incident they didnt ask if we were ok they didnt really seem to be bothered we had to ask if we could be moved to another apartment as we did not feel safe in the current one they did accomadate us on that request but other than that they were no help at all.... pls be aware it is not safe to stay here!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ogormane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

10 euros to use the wifi, 10 euros to use a hair dryer. No bar tender at pool, dirty sheets, will only change. sheets once a week? Does that mean we had someone else's? Only change towels every three days. Didn't like our family visit.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soldoiro, Gerente at Apartamentos Soldoiro, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Hello Carla F.
Thank you very much for your comment. But those prices and services are not from our unit for shore.
Wi-Fi is 7 € for 24h use, hair dryer is free and we request a deposit of 10€ that we return when the hair dryer is delivery back. Yes we really change linen every 7 days and towels every 3 days, but of course that you had note when you had arrived to the apartment that they were clean and not used as you ask. This conditions are very well explain on all the websites and travel agencies that work with Soldoiro.
Never the less we are very sorry for your displeasure and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This hotel is not the greatest. It is very very basic. I shared a room with two other people, and for three people it was quite small. The kitchen was tiny. The staff weren't very helpful and the swimming pool was really tiny. The towels are only changed every three days and the room is only cleaned every few days!!!!!

However the on a positive note the location was fantastic, the beach was less than a minutes walk and the strip was a two minute walk, which is great for the night life.

I will come back to portugal but not unfortunately to this hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rahana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soldoiro, Gerente at Apartamentos Soldoiro, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Rahana,

Thank you for your comment. Soldoiro have self-catering apartments and yes they are basic with all needed for holidays. We believe that you had booked a one bedroom apt and most of our guests consider that the space is quite good. We are sorry but we cannot locate which apartment you were through your name, probably the booking was under a different name. All of our apartments have a kitchenette not kitchen.
Change of towels and cleaning are advertised everywhere that only every 3 days and advised as well on check-in.

We are very sorry for your dissatisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#100 of 154 in Albufeira
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
1.3 mi away
Turial Park
Turial Park
#114 of 154 in Albufeira
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#73 of 154 in Albufeira
3,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#46 of 154 in Albufeira
763 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#86 of 154 in Albufeira
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Soldoiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Soldoiro

Property: Apartamentos Soldoiro
Address: Rua Ramalho Ortigao | Praia da Oura, Albufeira 8200-604, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Soldoiro 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soldoiro Apartments, are located in Oura Beach, Albufeira, at the center of Algarve. With a suberb location, our facilities are only at 1 minute walking from the beach, 300 meters from the famous "Strip" (Night life with a lot of Bars and Restaurants) and only 4 km from Albufeira center. Any kind of store and supermarket are a short distance on foot. Regarding all main facilities, Faro International Airport is 24 km away and the train station and also the new bus station are 4 km away. In the extreme southwest of Europe, the confluence of the Mediterranean with the Atlantic and Europe to Africa, the Algarve guard at their folklore, handicrafts, monuments, architecture, cuisine and customs, clear traces of its intense historical to which the Phoenicians, Greeks , Romans and Moors were giving forth their valuable contribution. Its golden beaches, deep blue sea, the transparent sun and mild weather are an irresistible invitation!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apartamentos Soldoiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Soldoiro Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Apartamentos Soldoiro Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing