We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been coming for years ~ wont be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Ranked #65 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Been coming for years ~ wont be back”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Im so disheartended, i grew up coming here with my parents who have a timeshare here, and since an adult repeatedly been back with my partner its my 30th this week and wanted to spend it with my parents who have a set week so here i am
since arriving i have had nothing but drilling and banging constantly, even from 2 apartments down i could record it from my room on my phone it was so loud it woke me and my partner up, it goes on for hours and thats just 1 appartment, not good for a migraine sufferer

this holiday i hoped would be better not because its a big birthday but because we were put in a room with alot of mould problems last year, we had raw chicken given to us from the hotel, and many more issues armenio customer relations tries his best but their is not alot he can do,

The staff are miserable and not very helpful nowadays, the mgm trasfers are worse than yellow fish at least they new what they were doing, we wont be coming back definately not in the near future -

clube praia da oura used to be peaceful, clean,good food and the staff friendly and prepared to go that extra mile to help it definately is the oppossite now

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank warner3033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission and we have addressed the staff and MGM Transfers on the issues mentioned.

We are glad that you have been coming to Clube Praia da Oura for many years and have always enjoyed your stay. You are therefore, aware that refurbishment and improvement works are necessary for the good function and upkeep of the hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience due to the noise from the works on site.

Improvements works are normally done during the winter months but due to the bad weather we experienced this year, the works went on into spring.

We are happy to mention that some of the apartments are already finished and guests are already enjoying the elegance, comfort and convenience from the stylish designed new rooms. We have also introduced luxurious garden furniture that is spread throughout the lush gardens, so that guests can relax in comfort.

We once again apologize for the inconvenience and hope you will give us the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    1,072
    664
    339
    248
See reviews for
841
1,535
65
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (995)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

After many happy visits, this year the refurbishment work, scattered across the resort which entailed drilling, hammering and dust from 8am to 7pm was made worse by a staff disco being held on the bowling green on Saturday night until 11.30pm. So loud we had to go out for the evening instead of our usual peaceful meal on the balcony watching the sunset over the beach and cliffs. Access routes to the pool were also limited to walking along the road. Beware if you plan to visit in June /July as a 500 sq ft screen is being erected on the bowling greens to show World Cup football matches and later in the season outdoor discos every night till midnight, thereby shattering the usually peaceful resort. Such a pity, we will not be returning again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank L O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel is situated by the beach although our room is located in the block right at the back. As described by other reviewers, there were building works going on, and renovation was carried out in our block. It did not bother us at all as we were not in our room much due to going out to daily excursions. I'm sure it would be a lovely place when the work is completed. The staff has been helpful, and the restaurant has a good spread both for breakfast and for the dinner, with a different theme each evening. It is well located and is near to the local supermarket and shops. Booking our tour excursion with one of the nearby agents was easy and of good value. We managed to see Lisbon, Gibraltar, Andalucia, Silves, Monchique, Sagre with the excursions. Lagos is only a short bus ride from the hotel. We most appreciate it when we requested to have our packed dinner on the day we got back from our trip late. For what we pay, it is a good hotel to stay in and we will consider coming back again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S0uC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel Clube Praia da Oura and that the noise from works did not bother you.

It was nice to have you as a guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

THE hotel itself was very good, entertainment poor, and our apartment wasn't the best. The hotel is being upgraded, but felt disappointed with our place. The hotel where it was situated was fantastic. The location couldn't of been better. Will definetly stay there again if the rooms are being redone

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Jeanie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy that you mention the great location of our hotel.

We truly apologize for the inconvenience you had due to the noise from works to some of our rooms.

All efforts were being made to minimize disruption to client’s holiday enjoyment.

We appreciate your valuable support and trust that you will be delighted with the new standard of apartments we will be offering shortly.

We hope you will give us the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Excellent hotel. Well within staggering distance of "the strip". The pool is nice like, apart from a stag trip that was there. Swearing, hitting each other with beach balls, drinking, swearing, drinking, etc. What a bunch of absolute alcoholics. Blimey. So loud and brash. Anyway apart from that the hotel is good minus the building work. Recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Spydymanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here a couple of years ago and our only criticism was the need for Air a Conditioning.
A complete refurbishment is under way including Air Con and we were in one of the new Air Conditioned one bedroom apartments and it was simply superb.
I knew if Air Con was installed it would just be great and it was. The apartment was very well equipped and beautiful. My only slight criticism is to install a couple of Table Lamps in the bedroom and one in the living area to give a soft light after dark and this is really looking for a minute criticism. Well done Muthu Group for making very good apartments great.

Room Tip: One bedroom sea view block E
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RIPMAXRAPIER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are so glad you like the renovated rooms and think they are ‘simply superb’, well equipped and beautiful. Thank for your suggestion with regards to the lamps.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to Clube Praia da Oura.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

just got back from portugal having had to move from this hotel to another,the sea view room we booked had a sea view but you had to walk around a corner to view it.The mattresses fell off the beds when you even just sat on it.It took 10 mins of walking up and down stairs,hills and cobbles to get from reception to room.there was construction all around,above and below and the noise was awful.do not go there!

Room Tip: just don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barth0l0mew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comments placed on Trip Advisor.

With a view to improving accommodation quality, the resort has currently undergone complete refurbishment improvements to some rooms and we apologize for any inconvenienced you experienced during your stay due to the noise on site.

Works are normally carried out during the winter months but due to the bad weather we experienced this year they went on into spring time.

We are happy to say that heavy noisy work has now finished and the crane has been removed. However, during that period all efforts were made to minimize disruption to clients’ holiday enjoyment and guest were allocated as far away as possible from the working area. Unfortunately it is not easy to satisfy all of the people all of the time.

We are happy to mention that some of the apartments are already finished and guests are already enjoying the elegance, comfort and convenience from the stylish designs of the new rooms. We have also introduced luxurious garden furniture that is spread throughout the lush gardens, so that guests can relax and enjoy their holiday in comfort.

Your kind words on the services received from our staff will definitely be passed on to the team members.

We once again apologize for the inconvenience and wish to welcome you back very soon in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#77 of 154 in Albufeira
676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#42 of 154 in Albufeira
755 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 154 in Albufeira
437 reviews
2.9 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
1,012 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Forte da Oura
Muthu Forte da Oura
#79 of 154 in Albufeira
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Clube Praia da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Clube Praia da Oura

Property: Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Address: Rua Oliveira Martins, Albufeira 8201-911, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#43 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Muthu Clube Praia da Oura 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This extensive resort is located in Praia da Oura in Albufeira and features 2 renovated outdoor swimming pools, tropical gardens and a bowling green. It offers direct access to Praia da Oura beach, less than 200 meters away.The property is a great family destination but also perfect for couples or groups looking for an entertaining and lively beach holiday.All apartments at the Clube Praia da Oura have a private furnished balcony which have views over either the Atlantic Ocean, swimming pools & gardens or the resort.The apartments feature a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom with hairdryer and a seating and dining area with satellite TV.With a 24-hour completely renovated reception and lobby bar/café, the multilingual reception staff can book tours, airport transfers and the hotel shuttle service to the centre of Albufeira. There is also a Golf desk available where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked.Jac’s Restaurant serves an à la carte menu of a variety of international and national dishes. Guests can relax and have a drink at our Ocean Bar with views over the ocean or Bowling Green or enjoy the Pool bar. There is a daily entertainment program available and evening entertainment options include theme nights, live music and karaoke.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The main entertainment area of Albufeira is a 5 minute walk away.Clube Praia da Oura is 40 minutes’ drive from Faro Airport and just over 3 km from the old town centre of Albufeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Muthu Clube Praia da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Praia Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira
Oura Albufeira
Muthu Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing