We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Ranked #81 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Love the C.P.O and the location is great, this was our second holiday with them, we was disappointed with the room we were given but went to reception and they gave us another in block k better room but was not the view i had asked for when booking month's ago, which was over the bowling green/ sea view, Still enjoyed the holiday and the building work did'nt bother us at all. Loved the new sunbed pod's and had a look at one of the refurbished rooms ..it looked amazing !
to get to street level use the lift by the swimming pool to level 9 which saves you walking up the hill. have put off doing this review as we had a problem on return and was hoping petchley would have rectified it by now , but they havent..on return we noticed we had been charged twice for our transfer, we emailed them with a copy of bank statement showing the two withdrawls but nothing rectified as yet, we came home the14th May so they have had plenty of time to put this right. The crane was being removed the day we left, lovely clean place a very well maintained gardens.

Room Tip: seaview facing bowling green high up, beautiful views of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at our hotel.

We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

With regards to the bus transfer, if you have not yet received the refund for the over payment, please do contact us again for action.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,961 - 1,967 of 3,437 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Been here several times. Great location for beach and 'the strip' but not that close that noise is a problem. Had studio apartment which was very spacious and well equipped with regular maid service. Staff help and friendly. Facilities for children but we didn't use these. Only down side this visit is lots of refurbishment going on so noisy in some parts of complex. Would definitely go again as long as the upgrade doesn't price us out.

Room Tip: Return in pool area at present so better further away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arlettymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good clean rooms with a lot of updating going on.
The location is superb over looking the Atlantic great beach and good resturants very close by.
You can stay on site for quiet time or if you are looking for some thing more lively walk up the hill to the strip

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank motrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here in March. Lots of building work going on that we were not advised about. Shame as we love CPO and are always happy to return. It's safe, close to a wonderful beach and a fab walk into town both ways. It won't stop us returning again in October though to see the new updates and enjoy the usual surroundings...

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank NicadyBeccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We truly apologize for the inconvenience you experienced, due to the noise from the building on site.

We appreciate your valuable support and trust you will be delighted with the new standard of apartments we will be offering you shortly.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have just spent 3 weeks at the CPO in the perfect location, overlooking the Bowling green and the beach Yes there was a lot of building work going on But it did not spoil my holiday I have been going to the CPO for the last 7 years I love it there Feel very safe as I am there on my own The staff are great and the apartment spotless x

Room Tip: Well I love the sound of the waves I always want to be overlooking the beach and have the sun in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback after your recent stay at Clube Praia da Oura.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay despite the building work going on.

It was pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you soon in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

After a week in hell, sorry CPO, I would safely say this was probably our worst accomodation EVER. If your idea of a holiday is to go somewhere and relax then this is NOT the place. Its noisy, dirty and dusty all day every day. We were allocated an apartment in K block, and it was a large apartment with most of the basics (except a tea towel to dry the dishes) and a view of the ever increasing mountain of builders rubble. Our problems started on day 1 with a wait until after 5pm to get into our refurbished apartment "since it took much longer to clean after the builders finish" only to eventually get in to find it was a standard apartment (in dire need of being refurbished) and the builders working in various other apartments around us. Anyway after going to bed that night the door slamming started. It is virtually impossible to close apartment doors in this block without slamming them and believe me we tried hard. This went on to a greater or lesser degree to after 3am and continued night after night. It started again most mornings about 6 as people got up to go for flights. Then at 8am Bob the builder started with his Kango hammer, seemingly only long enough to waken anybody still sleeping. Since the weather wasn't brilliant on a couple of days we tried to lie out on the balcony. Not for long - builders dust and debris (cardboard, polystyrene etc) continually rained down. You were expecting it to be followed by mortar, tiles or something heavier at any stage so no sitting on the balcony. Coupled with the never ending "neighbour noises" through the seemingly paper thin walls and floors, peace and quiet was never going to happen on this holiday. Hated it hated it hated it. I will never darken the doors of CPO again although like others i would go back to the sister Oura View Beach club resort. If only we would have stayed there instead of being persuaded that CPO was the better resort.

Room Tip: If you have to go choose main building with sea view but remember about the building work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelalot2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

After traveling from 2 am on the 17th of May to catch a 6 am flight we arrived at CPO reception at 930 am to be told no room had been booked for us as they did not have a reservation for us only when i produced the booking form from Cosmos did they find us a room we then had to wait till 330 pm for the room this was in K block it was a dilapidated apartment when i complained they gave me a key to another apartment that was a joke i think they keep that one so you think the first one is ok they say they are short of rooms be-course of the building work my reply was do not offer the rooms for sale if they are not available eventually after 3 days we moved to the hotel to continue the holiday i cannot fault the reception staff as they did there best under the circumstances needless to say MGM/CPO completely spoilt our holiday we have holidayed with CPO several times but will have to think very hard before we stay again

Room Tip: do not stay in K block its the pits
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your valuable time to write a comment regarding your stay with us.

It is our aim to offer our guests an entirely satisfactory service Clube Praia da Oura and we apologize for the problems you experienced with regards to the allocation of your unit and have addressed this with the respective department.

We hope that you will visit us soon and give us the opportunity once again to serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#78 of 154 in Albufeira
716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
#37 of 154 in Albufeira
819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#13 of 154 in Albufeira
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Clube Praia da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Clube Praia da Oura

Address: Rua Oliveira Martins, Albufeira 8201-911, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#44 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £26 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muthu Clube Praia da Oura 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This extensive resort is located in Praia da Oura in Albufeira and features 2 renovated outdoor swimming pools, tropical gardens and a bowling green. It offers direct access to Praia da Oura beach, less than 200 meters away.The property is a great family destination but also perfect for couples or groups looking for an entertaining and lively beach holiday.All apartments at the Clube Praia da Oura have a private furnished balcony which have views over either the Atlantic Ocean, swimming pools & gardens or the resort.The apartments feature a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom with hairdryer and a seating and dining area with satellite TV.With a 24-hour completely renovated reception and lobby bar/café, the multilingual reception staff can book tours, airport transfers and the hotel shuttle service to the centre of Albufeira. There is also a Golf desk available where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked.Jac’s Restaurant serves an à la carte menu of a variety of international and national dishes. Guests can relax and have a drink at our Ocean Bar with views over the ocean or Bowling Green or enjoy the Pool bar. There is a daily entertainment program available and evening entertainment options include theme nights, live music and karaoke.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The main entertainment area of Albufeira is a 5 minute walk away.Clube Praia da Oura is 40 minutes’ drive from Faro Airport and just over 3 km from the old town centre of Albufeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Muthu Clube Praia da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Praia Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira
Oura Albufeira
Muthu Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing