We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed this year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Ranked #74 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
durham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very disappointed this year”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Having stayed here last year we returned with high hopes however were disappointed. Firstly we arrived at the hotel at 10.30am, were allocated a room but were informed that it would not be available until 17.00pm. We returned to reception at midday and complained and were given a different room which was available. The room was fine however its surroundings were not. It felt like we were on the maintenance floor with exposed pipes and broken tables, chairs and sunbeds stacked in the corridor leading to our room. (see pics) Surely a hotel of this size has somewhere out of sight to store such items. The studio itself had everything needed for a self catering holiday and was a good size. My only complaint was the only mirror was the sliding wardrobe door which has no electric points near it therefore making hair straightening etc impossible unless like me you go out and buy a mirror.
The last time we stayed here our room was cleaned everyday and clean towels and toilet rolls provided, unfortunately the same can not be said this time. We arrived on a Saturday and by the Monday had not seen a maid, we had ran out of toilet rolls,had dirty towels and our bin was full to overflowing. We complained to reception on our way out and were told our room would be cleaned on a Tuesday Friday and Sunday. We pointed out that our room had not been cleaned on Sunday and to their credit when we returned later that day the room had been cleaned however it was not done again until Thursday.
As I said in my last review this hotel is perfect for beach lovers as there are steps from the hotel leading straight to the beaches. It is also perfectly located with the strip, shops and supermarket only a short walk away.
We are sad to say that we feel that the standards have dropped from that of last year with the room not being available on arrival, lack of housekeeping and untidy corridors however hopefully these complaints can be easily rectified making other peoples holiday complaint free.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GillyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at our hotel.

We strive every day to ensure that our guests have a wonderful service during their stay and we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay due to improvements works to the hotel. We are certain you will be pleased with the result of the works to the hotel.

Check in is after 5pm, however if the unit is ready before due to an early check out the guests can check in sooner.

We are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced when housekeeping did not clean your room, and have addressed your concerns with the housekeeping department to ensure this situation is avoided in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Clube Praia da Oura and hope you will enjoy your stay with us.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    1,097
    689
    357
    281
See reviews for
884
1,589
66
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,019)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just back from C.P.O in Albufeira Portugal the studio we got was very spacious but we were looking into a hedge It was in k block on the road easy accese to all the bars and resurants If you like great meals no fancy ones then go to Annabelles just round the corner from Rockline bar where you can watch all the football on loads off screens great serves in the bar

Room Tip: Don't go in k block it was smelly sometimes as there is a drain outside your door on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dollydaydream1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,~

Many thanks for your positive review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Clube Praia da Oura.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I haven't been to the hotel yet, but just read a review from someone who went during summer and didn't have an a/c in their room. I called reservations and they confirmed that the one bedroom apartments do not have A/C. Had to upgrade to a superior 1 bedroom apartment, which they said were new construction and had a/c built it. Can't imagine how uncomfortable it must be to stay during the summer without air conditioning! I will update my review after our visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank gabysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.

Yes, it is true that we do not have air conditioning in all our apartments and do supply fans for the units without air conditioning. This is a very large hotel and we are gradually updating all the units, which is a big process due to its size. We have started the works this winter/spring, being this the main commodity for all our units.

We look forward to your arrival and hope you will enjoy your stay in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We arrived at 10am and eventually got our room at 4pm. We went with friends who'd booked a sea view room, we didn't mind where we stayed, but would've liked to be closer to them. Seeing as I travelled with my 21 & 18 year olds I'd booked a 1 bedroom apartment, which was the furthest away from our friends , half way up cardiac hill. We asked if we could be closer, but didn't feel the 280€ was justified. So room 1130, was ours for the holiday, it was spacious and cool, it lacked sun beds on the balcony, all the other rooms had them!...and it was serviced just once during our stay. I think they are under staffed and just didn't get the time to see to our room. We were lucky to get a poolside bed at 5pm, as towels or bodies occupied them the rest of the day. We lazed in the garden area near our friends room, but it was a trek to the pool just for a dip to cool down.
Luxurious rattan furniture, massive 500square feet screen showing the footie. Great beach bar "borda d'agua, gorgeous food and very friendly staff especially Johnny!
Our first trip to Portugal, loved the area, but didn't realise it was cobbled streets, hilly and chilly in the evenings. Next time we'll be prepared with footwear and jackets!

Room Tip: If you want to be poolside, precook poolside, but not very private balconys on ground level if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CARDIFFJANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post a comment on your recent stay with us.

We are sorry that you were not allocated close to your friend but as the hotel is very big this can sometimes due to it being in great demand resulting in high occupancy.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Clube Praia da Oura and apologize that the there were no sunbeds on balcony. We have addressed this issue with housekeeping department for action in order to avoid this situation in the future.

Rooms service is three time a week however we have addressed the cleanliness issue with the housekeeping department.

Unfortunately no matter how hard we try to control the sunbeds in the pool area, it seems to be an ongoing issue which affects the hotel industry worldwide. Holiday makers just don’t seem to bother following rules.

We apologize for any inconvenience and wish to welcome back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Risskov, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Pros:
Great location - the closest it can be to the beach in Albufeira.
Friendly staff - didn't charge for a scooter parking even though it was written they do.
Clean, spacious room.
Extras they organize - saxophonist, biggest tv screen for watching football, 24/7 reception with free wi-fi.
Overall very cosy place to stay for a couple:)

Cons:
We tried breakfast once, but the price does not worth the quality and variety of food you get.
Bar prices are considerably high in comparison to bars in a city center.
Sleep quality really depends on the floor and location of your room. Ours was considerably noisy (close to kids pool) and walking area. Plus, the two air cons are very noisy..

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms should be a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdgarasRacinskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Well all you time share owners at Clube Praia Da Oura the refurbishments have begun and it looks like Infiniti member rooms will be done first, what a surprise. Don't worry folks you can always up grade your room at a price. The rooms are done to a good standard with air con.
Did I enjoy the MGM experience this time, no I did not if I had stayed in my timeshare room I would have been looking on to the spare waste land covered in the old dirty toilets, baths and sinks which have been removed from the old rooms and dumped, rat heaven I think.
Well fellow CPO lovers your about to get your eyes opened beer prices have now gone up to 4 Euros for a pint and the good Portuguese staff are now spread over 5 complex's,
Do you get much sleep at night no they have Infiniti party's that blast music out to 1.30 in the morning so like me and my friends who had to be up at 5 in the morning got no sleep.
This used to be a family complex not any more.
Mr Petchey what have you done?
It's a good job I had the old town, the Oura bar, Sol Café and the Rockline good crack and cheap beer you should try them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them.

We strive every day to ensure that our guests have a wonderful service during their stay and we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay.

All units will be upgraded but as this is a very large hotel it will obviously take a long time for us to finish this process.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Clube Praia da Oura and hope you will enjoy your stay with us.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clare
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

review 507 characters (200 minimum)
We arrived at 10.15pm it took us 45 min to check in. We were given a apt not in the main complex. Next day I asked to be moved to be told no other apts. People who work in reception need a bit of customer care. No supermarket on site. Need to update their web page and tell people they allow stag parties. Three stag parties there - could not believe they were allow to leave glasses around the pool and pizza boxes. Would not stay at that complex again could not sit out on the balcony as it was too small.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noreenc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on your stay at our hotel.

It is our aim to offer our guests an entirely satisfactory service at Clube Praia da Oura. We apologize for the inconvenience you had due to the parties on site, unfortunately we cannot please everyone.

With regards to the allocation of the room, we apologize if this did not meet with your expectations but considering the size of the hotel, the reception area cannot be close to all the rooms.

Although we do not have a supermarket on site, at the moment , there are various in the surrounding area including in our sister hotels.

We once again apologize for any inconvenience and we hope you will visit us soon in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#76 of 154 in Albufeira
692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#45 of 154 in Albufeira
770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Forte da Oura
Muthu Forte da Oura
#86 of 154 in Albufeira
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#15 of 154 in Albufeira
456 reviews
3.7 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Clube Praia da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Clube Praia da Oura

Property: Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Address: Rua Oliveira Martins, Albufeira 8201-911, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#43 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Muthu Clube Praia da Oura 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This extensive resort is located in Praia da Oura in Albufeira and features 2 renovated outdoor swimming pools, tropical gardens and a bowling green. It offers direct access to Praia da Oura beach, less than 200 meters away.The property is a great family destination but also perfect for couples or groups looking for an entertaining and lively beach holiday.All apartments at the Clube Praia da Oura have a private furnished balcony which have views over either the Atlantic Ocean, swimming pools & gardens or the resort.The apartments feature a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom with hairdryer and a seating and dining area with satellite TV.With a 24-hour completely renovated reception and lobby bar/café, the multilingual reception staff can book tours, airport transfers and the hotel shuttle service to the centre of Albufeira. There is also a Golf desk available where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked.Jac’s Restaurant serves an à la carte menu of a variety of international and national dishes. Guests can relax and have a drink at our Ocean Bar with views over the ocean or Bowling Green or enjoy the Pool bar. There is a daily entertainment program available and evening entertainment options include theme nights, live music and karaoke.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The main entertainment area of Albufeira is a 5 minute walk away.Clube Praia da Oura is 40 minutes’ drive from Faro Airport and just over 3 km from the old town centre of Albufeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Muthu Clube Praia da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Praia Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira
Oura Albufeira
Muthu Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing