We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and Miss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Ranked #65 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Carterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Some sites show this hotel as 4* but the only 4* thing about this hotel are the bar prices.Great location, but let down by lack of attention to detail. Still building works taking place despite reassurances that it had finished. Holes in the curtains,broken shower & toilet. Crumbs left in kitchen cupboards.

You may be lucky and get a better room, but you are just as likely to find yourself surrounded by a stag party or someone start digging up the the floor tiles outside your room all day.

Looking at the other reviews it is clear that this hotel gets it wrong at least as often as it gets it right and you have to ask if its worth the risk when there are so many other good hotels in the area to choose from?

Big thanks to Libertos and Wild & Co for such great entertainment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have addressed the cleanliness issue with the director of housekeeping.

The only work going on is the replacing of the floor in the outdoor corridors as the old one had broken tiles. We are sure you will be pleased with the new look of the hotel next time your visit our us as the location of our hotel is the best, second to none.

We wish to welcome you back soon in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    1,072
    664
    339
    247
See reviews for
841
1,534
65
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (994)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whiteley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

All in all had a great stay. We were in one of the newly refurbished apartments with large terrace, our friends however were in one of the not so modern blocks.

For the price it's great value for money and although the pool is really busy, we just went across the road to the sister hotel and used the pool there.

Great for a short break or a week at most.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RobertMcLaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

It is a pleasure to read that we fulfilled your expectations and that you had a good break with us,
We wish to welcome you back very soon in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

arrived 1-15pm on the 27th june for 2 weeks but when we went to check in we were led to believe our room wouldnt be long before it was ready ,so we stored our cases and went for a drink in their bar and had a pint of beer which was 4 euros each and it wasnt that great. hour later we went back to see if room was ready , no it ll be ready at 5pm!!!! not happy so we ended up going for a walk, having a look around the area and we found on the main street bars selling beer 1.50 euro. a pint, result and was far nicer . on our walk out we found the supermarket which is 3/4 min walk from resort.we ended up getting our room in k block at 530pm.. bad start.... however the studio room was really nice but the lack of airconditioning is appauling.... we had 2 fans ,ok 1st week but week 2 was getting hot and we felt it in the room... we were told it did have airconditioning , a big fat lie!!!! the resort is lovely , k block is very handy for the nightlife and supermarket...the strip is a 5 min walk and you can walk into the old town in 25mins, nice walk but there is a shuttle bus that takes you there certain times of day. it goes around 4 hotels but dont be suprised if you get on it at this resort and you go pick up at the other hotels and end up back where you started as they wait till bus is full before heads into old town...old town well worth a visit .. back to the resort the sunbed senario around the pool is crazy, however we liked it as nobody could put towels out till 8am as pool attendant was strict , if he found towels out before this time he d take them of . you ve a window between 8am / 8.30 where your guaranteed a sunbed so it gave it structure even tho it was early . get your running shoes on ... the beach is few mins walk and 15 euros for 2 beds and a parasol , found this expensive compared to other beaches ive been abroad .was nt impressed with the food as i found it very bland , however we were recommened to eat a a place called the COCKERAL which is 5 min walk from k block , you have to go in and make a reservation but you will not be dissapointed the food is amazing and very reasonable , we went a few times,im sure if you ask in the local bars they ll direct you to it . overall we had a great time, lovely place . as for checking in delay YOU NEVER GET A SECOND CHANCE TO MAKE A FIRST IMPRESSION !!!!!

Room Tip: get a room with airconditioning not fans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tracym835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback after your stay at our hotel.

It is our aim to offer our guests an entirely satisfactory service and we truly apologize if we did not meet with your expectations.

You mention air conditioning and this is the main commodity being placed in our units, along with luxurious and elegant furnishings.

The sunbeds on the beach do not fall under our management therefore we cannot comment on that.

We hope that you will visit us soon and give us the opportunity once again to serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Arrived back after staying here for one week with my boyfriend, before going I was a bit sceptical about the hotel due to the bad reviews however it was booked so decided to overlook the reviews and hope for the best, when checking in the staff were so ignorant, shouting at people in the que to move to one side, we were then told we couldn't check in to 5pm even though our hotel voucher said 2pm, they also ask for 100 euro deposit or your bank details to check in, they said we don't charge nothing unless authorised but got home to find they did charge and we didn't buy or spend anything at the hotel, room itself was brilliant based on the block away from the hotel which meant we didn't have to see or deal with the ignorant reception staff much, the pool was jam packed so you can never get a sunbed didn't really mind as we were able to just sunbathe at the apartment most days but for a family with kids this would be horrific and boring, on our last day we weren't getting picked up to 5pm so we went to reception the day before to ask could we pay for a late check out thinking this would be 50 euro but no they wanted the whole room rate of £137.50 which was ridiculous, the fela then said he would give us to 12 so that was fine however at 10am the phone in our room never stopped ringing and they were down ringing on the apartment door bell to get us out, overall the rooms are fine if you get put into the right block, staff need to improve their attitude and customer service, in comparison to other hotels I've been to in albufiera this hotel is very poor.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wee_chaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel.
We truly value the opinion of our customers and we apologize if we did not meet your expectations. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission.

The check-in time in our hotel is after 5 pm, however if rooms are ready sooner guests are more than welcome to check-in earlier. Check-out time is at 10 am but our friendly reception staffs usually do their utmost to allow guests a later check-out when requested.

Today, in most hotels it is common practice to request a €100 deposit, which is refundable when guest checks out, and this applies to all our hotels too. Any consumption other than that mentioned in the client’s reservation has to be paid for; otherwise this will obviously be deducted from the client’s deposit.

We hope that you will visit us soon and give us the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have just returned from our stay at Clube Praia da Oura and had a fabulous time, went as a party of 10. We were very lucky to have a ground floor seaview apartment, my sister & family also had a seaview apartment, it was a beautiful location, the whole complex is huge my son & his fiancee were put in a studio apt right at the top end of the complex but they were happy. There are several beaches there and lovely restaurants overlooking the sea, could not fault our holiday, missing it already will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belindajewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back Clube Praia da Oura.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Returned yesterday from a lovely 12 night stay at this hotel. Like others we were rather anxious about staying due to all the complaints on here! Arrived at 11:30am after an early flight and we were checked in quickly and shown to our room in block K. We seemed to be lucky to get into our room as we were informed check in was not until 5pm and others had to wait all day. We stayed in a studio room. Good size and great sized balcony overlooking the gardens. No air con but a small fan supplied. Was ok for the 1st week but did begin to get a bit hot towards the end of the holiday. Maid service quite inconsistent however was never any longer than 2 days without fresh towels. Drinks on site are expensive but there is a small shop 2 seconds from reception which sold juice etc very cheap so we used this as self catering. From previous experience at hotels we have realised that in order to get a sunbed you do often have to get up that little bit earlier to get one! At 8:30am we always found plenty to use and if we did want a lie in there is ample space around the pool on the grass to lie on. For such a big hotel it was always quiet and had a great atmosphere around the pool from 4-5:30pm when the dj played. Overall a great holiday and for us everything went very smooth with no major complaints :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura87_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

It is a pleasure to read that we fulfilled your expectations and that you had a good break with us, we really hope to see you again at Clube Praia da Oura in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Arrived late on June 27th , had a two bedroom apt in c block overlooking the pool , apt was a great size though slightly outdated but it was well equipped and suited us fine .
Our 13 yr old loved the pool and the beach , also availed of the oura beach hotels pool which has slides , it's a 2 min walk and great fun .
5 yr old loved the kids club and the staff throughout the hotel couldn't have been friendlier to him , especially Andreas in the bar .
Was a bit worried after reading of building work in the complex but only noticed works on one of our 10 days and it wasn't over disturbing .
Pool party time is good fun 4-5:30 pm but poolside beds are limited , early bird catches the worm , but be warned , enter the pool area before 8am and face the pool attendant , not to be messed with .
All in all we had a great time and would definitely go back .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sargefire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Clube Praia da Oura for your recent stay. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them as our guests satisfaction is our main priority.

We are delighted that your kids loved the beach and enjoyed the pool and the kids club. The slides in our sister hotel are a real attraction for all kids as they really have lots of fun in the water slides.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon in the future to Clube Praia da Oura.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#77 of 154 in Albufeira
676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#42 of 154 in Albufeira
755 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 154 in Albufeira
437 reviews
2.9 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
1,012 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Forte da Oura
Muthu Forte da Oura
#79 of 154 in Albufeira
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Clube Praia da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Clube Praia da Oura

Property: Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Address: Rua Oliveira Martins, Albufeira 8201-911, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#43 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Muthu Clube Praia da Oura 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This extensive resort is located in Praia da Oura in Albufeira and features 2 renovated outdoor swimming pools, tropical gardens and a bowling green. It offers direct access to Praia da Oura beach, less than 200 meters away.The property is a great family destination but also perfect for couples or groups looking for an entertaining and lively beach holiday.All apartments at the Clube Praia da Oura have a private furnished balcony which have views over either the Atlantic Ocean, swimming pools & gardens or the resort.The apartments feature a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom with hairdryer and a seating and dining area with satellite TV.With a 24-hour completely renovated reception and lobby bar/café, the multilingual reception staff can book tours, airport transfers and the hotel shuttle service to the centre of Albufeira. There is also a Golf desk available where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked.Jac’s Restaurant serves an à la carte menu of a variety of international and national dishes. Guests can relax and have a drink at our Ocean Bar with views over the ocean or Bowling Green or enjoy the Pool bar. There is a daily entertainment program available and evening entertainment options include theme nights, live music and karaoke.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The main entertainment area of Albufeira is a 5 minute walk away.Clube Praia da Oura is 40 minutes’ drive from Faro Airport and just over 3 km from the old town centre of Albufeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muthu Clube Praia da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Praia Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira
Oura Albufeira
Muthu Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing