We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standards have slipped? Not as good as the previous times we have stayed in this hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clube Praia da Oura
Ranked #61 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Standards have slipped? Not as good as the previous times we have stayed in this hotel ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my mother had booked this hotel for a second time after we had been in May this year and I must say the service was not as good as last time. After stating we wanted a sea view we we're sent to one of 400 rooms.. Only to find this had not been made up.. It was left dirty, towels left by the previous owners. We were happy enough to stay there so long as someone came to clean it but we were told we couldn't so we were upgraded to another (Which we had to pay handsomely for). As nice as our room was we were then faced with cockroaches into the second day of our holiday, we were unable to go out on to our balcony most nights as every night and morning we'd walk out to live and dead cockroaches. Although I am aware that this is sometimes inevitable in hot country's we complained to reception numerous times, we given a bottle of bug spray and left to fend them off ourselves, which was a pain! We continued to complain and finally on the LAST day of our holiday pest control finally came to sort it, what was the point then?! I'm unable to comment on how the rest of the hotel I.e entertainment and pool was as we never went however it was a disappointment as the last time we had came we had no issues at all. I'm only hoping it was a one off and if we do visit again that the standards of pest control and service is better. I'm giving this average only because of our previous experiences however if this had have been the first time I had visited then this would have been without a doubt poor.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    937
    587
    299
    216
See reviews for
735
1,351
51
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (868)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Just back from a week in CPO. I wasn't looking forward to seeing the hotel from reading all the terrible reviews on here but we had a FANTASTIC stay! We arrived on Friday night and were given a studio room 107 which was right on the sea front as we had requested BUT the room was AWFUL - tiny room with a single bed and another camp bed under it. We were told we could upgrade for a fee to an Infiniti room tomorrow as there were none available that night. They said they had another bigger studio room available and offered for one of us to go view it and I could sit and wait in reception with our bags. The room (545) was much bigger, large kitchen area with everything you could need for a self catering holiday, two single beds which we pushed together, we had no complaints the beds were very comfortable (we wanted to take the pillows home with us!) and the tv had lots of english channels. We had our room cleaned 4 times in the week and we were given fresh towels everyday.

We spent most of the week at the gorgeous beach, if you walk off to the right there are lots of lovely alcoves with caves to explore and feels like you are on your own private beach! Down to the left there is a lovely beach cafe.

We went to the pool a couple of times for a swim but only reserved sun loungers one morning - There is a horrible tense atmosphere at the pool with people fighting over loungers and umbrellas, people are standing over each other waiting for someone to get off a lounger!! Pool area was lovely though so in off peak times i'm sure this would not be a problem. There are lots of big wicker day-beds scattered about the grounds with gorgeous views of the sea so at least there are plenty of alternatives to the pool.

There is a super market with everything you could need 5 minutes away - try the shortcut if you take the elevator up by the pool to floor 5 and walk out by Caffe Sol entrance into CPO.

PLEASE ignore all the negative comments on this - I am so fussy and have very high standards when it comes to self catering holidays and have NO COMPLAINTS !! We were there in the busiest month of the season and the reception staff still offered us an alternative room so talk nicely to them!! We were sitting in the hotel bar one night and could hear a group of busy-bodies giving out about their rooms and the staff, these are the same busy-bodies writing the awful reviews on TripAdvisor and should be ignored! Would definitely come back to CPO and would recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the kids pool/sea front - these are further in off the road and will have no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We got an appartment furthest away, no aircon, not possible open windows to get air through, only main door was there, facing the sun. Facing other hotels, so very very loud till around 4 in the night.. every night. And not a nice bed.. it's some kind of metalleg frame you pull out from under each other, they squeck and aren't that comfortable. Tiles are broken, also on the walls, and well, appartment lacked a few things to match the price we paid. Maintenance was friendly, but she was super busy since people kept leaving those appartments after 1-2 days.

Tried food in the restaurant a few times, a few very friendly waitors there improved the experience, but also some quite moody, dragged it down. The meat was small portions, and overcooked, vegs are just about not excisting. Some guests sent their food out. We tried portugeise and steak night before we gave up, but tbh, found it not worth the money. We got 3 courses each, of local food, of fresh and juicy quality at nearby local restaurant to cheaper money - a much better deal.

For breakfast, if you like a solid english type breakfast - same every day - you'll be happy. I was sad to see, for both breakfast and dinner, that on the fresh fruit plate.. I would find canned fruit too.

For the 10 days we were there, the free internet in reception worked for 3. It createt a lot of frustration from other guests too.

Live music in bar was nice. Please update your receipe for a mojito..

Room Tip: Don't get the appartments around 600 ish. Unless you plan to join the parties on other hotels, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lotte O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Just back for a week holiday with my boyfriend in this hotel. After reading the reviews on trip advisor i was dreading what our studio apartment would be like but it fine for us.

We were in room 212 which was overlooking the beach and it just had the most amazing view. It had steps on either side leading down to beaches (one of which had a restaurant on it) and just 2 mins away was a supermarket -which due to our own stupidity we didn't find until the 2nd last day! The room itself was very small, but for what we wanted was fine. It was two single beds one folded under the other but they were actually comfy enough when pushed together. No air conditioning which i i initially thought would be a prob as im pregnant and the heat really gets to me but we had two fans and it was actually quite cool. We basically left them on the whole time!

The hotel grounds are really nice, lovely grass and trees, sunbathing pods and beds. Some areas (a massage and Jacuzzi area and sunbathing area) are reserved for infinity people.

We ate twice in jacs for breakfast which was €8.50. Quite expensive when you can go over the strip and get breakfast for €3.50. But in saying that it was lovely breakfast.

On our 3rd night we had our room cleaned while we were on a full day cruise. We came back about 6/7 and our door to apartment was left open. There was also no towels in apartment (i heard other people complaining about this at reception also). So i rang reception and told them my room was left open and all he said was "oh". I said i wasn't very happy and he said "yes i can see that" and that was basically all i was getting. I told him there were no towels and i was waiting to get a shower so he said they would be straight down. 45 mins later my boyfriend had to go to reception and ask for towels again.

The pool area was just a no go. Lovely pool but towels but out so early and beds not used till midday if even. So u fair. I went and told reception and the lady said "so, what do you want me to do about it?" I told her i had a right to use the facilities and that if the people are leaving the pool area for so long their towels should be removed. Someone did try to remove them once but the people in apartments were watching and gave out so the towels were put back and they went back to apartments. We didn't get to use pool area once during our stay as the grass area had no shade which i really couldn't do without.

After all that, really loved our holiday. Location on hotel is excellent, 5mins from strip and free shuttlebus to old town which is a must for shopping!!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Having visited the resort twice previously I knew what to expect in terms of location- the main reason for staying again as it's brilliant- right near the beach and local restaurants and bars!

The complex is going through a period a renovation, this is needed in the older rooms.

Although in one of the older rooms it was clean and tidy although really hot with no air com and on an evening had to run 2 fans all night.

Never had any issues with cleaning service and got plenty of clean sheets and towels for duration of stay.

The terrace outside the apartment was nice but we had a broken umbrella and bed- reported on day 2 of 7 day stay- never fixed- not great customer service and no shade if you wanted to sit out!!

The resort itself is clean, tidy and well kept, however there are some issues- the bar prices round the pool and reception are high for beers etc.., the entertainment is not great if you have kids etc and perhaps don't want to venture out of resort, the pool rules are unclear- having read previous reviews I was under the impression that you would have to have towels on beds by 8 to have any chance, however pool does not open until 9- if you go down before the pool guy chases you away saying come back at 9; however as people start to queue at about 8.40 he opens it anyway then if you go back at 9 you have no chance- beds get taken straight away! If it says 9 it should be 9 otherwise you are trying to guess!

The beach nearby is great, turn left at the front for the beach cafe and a smaller beach- lovely and right for the bigger beach and more bars and restaurants- both beaches charge around 13 euros a day for 2 beds and an umbrella.

You can use facilities and 2 other hotels- when we went to these there were loads of pool beds free so who knows what the issue is at CPO- perhaps the resort is just so vast.

Trips arranged through hotel are good- full day historical Algarve was worth doing.

We got a good deal on price for the dates we stayed- however given the niggles I would have been disappointed if I had paid anymore.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank enola1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

we have been coming to cpo for almost 20 years having a great time getting to know staff and entertainers .this year in june i found as philguy and jennywexford on other reviews that the price of a beer went up from 2.8 euros to 4 euros overnight in middle of 2 week holiday . i asked about this at inffiniti desk to be told price changes every summer .i note pl manager has not answered this observation i would like to see answer thanks

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colintiverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed for a month feb to march.The apartment was fine. Sea views were lovely.Cleaning and service very good the only down side in winter there is some building work going on to update the apartments.for a long stay we could have used a few more channels on the tv

Room Tip: the west side gets plenty of sun in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARAD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Oura Praia Hotel
Oura Praia Hotel
#79 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#40 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#26 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auramar Beach Resort
Auramar Beach Resort
#69 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clube Praia da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Praia da Oura

Property: Clube Praia da Oura
Address: Rua Oliveira Martins, Albufeira 8201-911, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clube Praia da Oura 3*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This extensive resort is located in Praia da Oura in Albufeira and features 2 renovated outdoor swimming pools, tropical gardens and a bowling green. It offers direct access to Praia da Oura beach, less than 200 meters away.The property is a great family destination but also perfect for couples or groups looking for an entertaining and lively beach holiday.All apartments at the Clube Praia da Oura have a private furnished balcony which have views over either the Atlantic Ocean, swimming pools & gardens or the resort.The apartments feature a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom with hairdryer and a seating and dining area with satellite TV.With a 24-hour completely renovated reception and lobby bar/café, the multilingual reception staff can book tours, airport transfers and the hotel shuttle service to the centre of Albufeira. There is also a Golf desk available where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked.Jac’s Restaurant serves an à la carte menu of a variety of international and national dishes. Guests can relax and have a drink at our Ocean Bar with views over the ocean or Bowling Green or enjoy the Pool bar. There is a daily entertainment program available and evening entertainment options include theme nights, live music and karaoke.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The main entertainment area of Albufeira is a 5 minute walk away.Clube Praia da Oura is 40 minutes’ drive from Faro Airport and just over 3 km from the old town centre of Albufeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clube Praia da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Praia Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Oura Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing