We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Varandas de Albufeira
Ranked #137 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just a short write up about our stay which we enjoyed at Varandas de Albuferia

40 mins from the airport
Off the main road, quiet location 3* not 4*as claimed. Bit dated in places needs revamp. Clean and tidy though.

20 mins walk to the old town. If you go self-catering PLENTY of restaurants to choose from.

10 mins walk from the strip again plenty of bars to choose from

Suitable for couples, not many children there…thankfully

Nice beach but too far away from the hotel unless you are going to make a day of it.

Sightseeing bus stop 5 mins walk from hotel.

Supermarket 5 mins walk away if go self-catering and fast food a plenty again all within walking distance (McDonalds/KFC/Pizza hut)

Reception staffed 24 hours. Free wi fi in reception area only.

Pool – average size pool, VERY cold though, deep at one end…not many umbrellas for shade and the sunbeds are in a bit of disrepair…we found a lot of people had left behind blow up beds, which we laid on instead…pool bar…11- 11 snacks available

Restaurant - breakfast 8-10, lunch 13-1430, dinner 1830-2100– limited choice(only due to the size of hotel) but you never went hungry

Library in room at the back of the restaurant (found by accident) plenty of books to swap if you finish yours.

Staff - most were friendly except the barman not sure of his name pedro i think, he was miserable...think it was something to do us being AI so we didnt tip!!

72 rooms – ours was quite large with 2 twin beds, kitchenette with sink toaster, crockery/cutlery, kettle/fridge/hob, ensuite shower, toilet etc. beds made every day and clen sheets and towels throughout the week

All in all a comfortable stay…the hotel is ideally located but there are a number of steep hills nearby so if you are not good on your legs you may struggle…Although we had no problems at the hotel we did hear that a number of residents had had mobiles and jewellery stolen so I would suggest locking valuables away like we did, but dont let that put you off as i never managed to find out whether they invited the thief by leaving valuables on display

Room Tip: pool view is best as you get a look at the back of another hotel otherwise...we had a view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sharon0894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 910 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

Well where do I start on this hotel from hell, 3 of us stayed here for 5 days over xmas & we have never been in worse in our lives, 4 star??? not even close to a 1 star Blackpool B&B...When we got there around lunch time we were told that we could have lunch in the restaurant from a menu, I have never been served worse anywhere in my life & Iv eaten In a lot of places, my wife ordered fish & chips which came with 2 pieces of processed fish in batter that you would find in the value section of your local super market, I had pork (well that's what I think it was) yet again never had worse, our friend had a tuna salad which was terrible also, & all food was cold, & this was prob the best meal we had ... that can tell you what the rest were like, All meals had just 1 meat option & 1 fish option, both terrible & cold, I couldn't eat at all in the hotel, so opted for local restaurants once a day to get me over the 5 days..The hotel only opened on the day we got there, after a refurb, what a joke, the bar & games room (pool table room) were full of ripped tatty seats, outside area had a seated area with wicker seats & tables, poolside had dirty old plastic tables & chairs only fit for the skip.. Our room was ok but only 2 star ok not the 4 that the hotel is meant to be, would have been ok for a real cheap SC holiday nothing else..The staff in the hotel were all in all friendly apart from 1 male receptionist (dark haired thin guy) very ill mannered & no people skills at all, barman Pedro was great, as was the other girl on reception, I think in total this hotel is run by 6 staff & that includes the cleaners...While we were there, another couple who were there for 2 weeks left to go home after 3 days to seek legal advice over being sold their holiday, another group of 6 or 7 people paid £100 each to get moved to another hotel. Really this hotel attracted mostly the type of people who wanted to spend their whole day in the bar, some complaining that they couldnt get served spirits at 11am, bar states no spirits till 2pm, also people drinking beer with their breakfast, I couldn't believe that that's how most of them wanted to spend their holiday...
If you are thinking of booking this hotel, & you aren't the type that wants to spend all day & night drinking & not eating this is the hotel for you, but if like us you're not, please please book anywhere else, Id rather stay in a tent on the beach than stay in this abysmal excuse for a hotel (more like a hostel for the homeless)
If you think I'm just a moaner, please check my other reviews as I try to give nothing but fair & truthful reviews..

Room Tip: Pick one at any other hotel possible!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank W K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Good points (as everyone starts with moaning)
Fantastic location 10-15 mins walk from old town and the same to the strip, clean pool area, comfy beds, plenty of uk tv stations.
Bad points, more of a 3 star as beginning to look quite tatty, reception staff very rude ( apart from the lady -who was lovely) even tho your AI your limited to water as we had to buy our own water for the room..-bar didn't open until 10/11am, restaurant food was dire, very samey and usually needed the help of the microwave, no kids or veggie options either, thank god for the snack bar in the afternoon (pool bar) but.... We only paid 350 for 9 nights all inclusive ( that price included all our flights bags and transfers) so I would say its a budget bargain!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

small but friendly hotel, the room was clean and only had 2 single beds in, we had grandson in with us so I went to the reception and asked for a spare bed which arrived 10 mins later, it was probably only suitable for a child, breakfast was good rest of food was average, icecream was good choice of 3 flavours not like some all incs where you get pots of vanilla. there was a nice area where you could sit in comfortable chairs and relax near pool, drinks were plentiful, afternoon snacks were very good and for a small extra charge you could upgrade snack to a good meal, staff were hard working and cheerful, nice location halfway between strip and old town, on the day before we left grandson (dexter) lost his soft toy he never took it out of room so on the morning we left I asked at reception if it had turned up in laundry 30 mins later it turned up all nice and clean.

Room Tip: we had 2 rooms at the back of the hotel which were nice they had pool view and sun all day, rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

I booked 5 night stay first time in Portugal for a quick cheap break as my wife was 50 while we was away sort of a last minute thing as it would of cost the same for a couple of nights in London and a show and train travel return so with it been so cold here I thought a bit of sun would be welcome and cheaper for us . When we got if the plane the transfer was a pain in the .... Trying to speak to 1 woman with a plane load of people in front and behind was too much , we arrived 7ish at hotel nice room very pleasant , food was ok I've had worse remembering how much I had paid , didn't swim in the pool look like it hasn't been cleaned for a while plus it was so cold in the water and the seagulls would plop in it from time to time not nice , bar staff was ok Estrella larger ok too yeh place needed a few jobs but to be fair overall we was happy , old town was great for a stroll and a beer and the strip ( new town ) was fab too especially lick it great staff probably wouldn't attempt it in the summertime prob full of young drinkers , if you fly with monarch they don't sell cigarettes on the small flight

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

went all inclusive to this hotel expecting 4 star service, how disappointed can one be.i would rate it at 2 being generous, the food was very poor hardly any choice chips every meal, deserts a joke very often waited for cutlery bar furniture ripped, i will say the rooms were of a nice size go to the hotel next down and see what a 4 star looks like

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glyn gmlac j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My partner and I needed a break. Through Crystal Travel (who were excellent) we had a good time. The hotel was closing the day we left for renovation so it was delightfully quiet. I was interested to see a comment about a rude receptionist with the big glasses! There was nothing rude about him at all. Perhaps you don't realise that foreign accents and lack of fluency sounds rude. He was professional and helpful as all staff were. YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR. I have stayed in many top hotels worldwide and when a break costs £384 FOR TWO, all inclusive including transfers, one has little to moan about. Food was not to imaginative but there are restaurants all over the place which at such an affordable holiday makes eating out feasible.
To all you miserable moaners and whingers GO AND GET A British Airways Holidays brochure if you can't be realistic enough to understand that cheap holidays are there for a reason!!!

Room Tip: Simply e-mail them. They will do all they will to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.9 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#83 of 154 in Albufeira
3,378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#123 of 154 in Albufeira
2,936 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auramar Beach Resort
Auramar Beach Resort
#73 of 154 in Albufeira
2,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#89 of 154 in Albufeira
3,004 reviews
0.4 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#40 of 154 in Albufeira
2,322 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#42 of 48 in Quarteira
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varandas de Albufeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varandas de Albufeira

Address: Lote Rua do Indico, Albufeira 8200-139, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £23 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Varandas de Albufeira 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Varandas de Albufeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Varandas De Albufeira Hotel Albufeira
Varandas De Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Varandas De Hotel
Varandas De Albufeira Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing