We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place in a wonderful location, Great place for a family holiday.”
Review of Ondamar Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ondamar Aparthotel
Ranked #42 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing place in a wonderful location, Great place for a family holiday.”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We have just spent our 20th wedding anniversary here and it has been fantastic. This is the first time we have stayed here and we will be back.
When we arrived we were politely greeted at the reception by a lovely staff member who verified our reservation and quickly allocated us a lovely one bedroom apartment, we were very impressed with the reception area, the efficient (& helpful!) receptionists, nice atmosphere and warm environment in all aspects.

Ondamar ApartHotel is in a lovely location, perfect for restaurants, shops, lovely walks and for exploring Albufeira. The Chinese restaurant (directly opp the main entrance) and other good indian and portugues restaurants are few minutes walk away and serve excellent food, its is also very close to Mcdonalds, KFC, pizza hut and huge super market similar to tescos located inside a shopping centre is also close by. Shopping here will save you few quid, for example, 1.5 ltr water bottle, 15 pence, big gallon of milk, 99 pence, coffee 99 pence etc etc

The Strip is about 10-15 minute walk away or 4 to 5 euros by taxi, and walking to OLD TOWN will take roughly 20 to 30 minutes walk or take a cab for 5 euros.
The rooms are very spacious with great kitchen equipment & maids come everyday to clean the "fully equiped" apartments
The room was more than adequate; we were on the 2th floor with a view over the pool and superb tropical garden. Air con was very good. The hotel itself is elegant, not your usual ENGLISH type blockhouse, and has some great sunbathing terraces, 2 good size outdoor and one indoor pools, a small jacuzzi and a gym with a few machines and couple of bars. Free WiFi is also available in the reception area. Staff were friendly and always eager to please, Especially HUGO GONZELES AND A VERY PREETY YOUNG FEMALE RECEPTIONIST WHOSE NAME I CANNOT RECALL, she usually worked the night shift, they were great, always smiling, SALUTE to you both.
Please note, hotel closed during october 31st to january 31st due to quite winter season

TRAVELLERS TIP 1:- DO NOT HIRE CARS FROM GOLDCAR RENTALS.
We hired a car from Goldcar Rental at FARO airport, we were a bit dissapointed with the service, first of all, the small office located inside the airport was closed with a small note saying "please go to the office located outside the TERMINAL" it was hard to locate but once we did, there was a long que, there was only one staff managing the dark and dingy office, eventually it took 2 hours before we were allocated a small SEAT IBIZA. Furthermore, having booked ALL IN car insurance through RYAN AIR, we were informed, that tires and any damage to the body were not insured and would cost another €172.00. Then, another surprise, the tank was full, and instead of having to fill it up before returning the car at the end of the rental period, we were told to have the tank as empty as possible so that they will fill the tank up and bill you at higher rate...we actually had at least 1/2 a tank of petrol left in the tank but when we got our recent creditcard statement, we noticed they've taken 70 odd quid out of our credit card account. No email or reason given and still waiting for them to refund us for unauthorised transactions.
The unfriendliness of the employees of Goldcar at FARO airport was very disspointing to say the least so my advise would be to avoid GOLDCAR RENTALS.

TRAVELLERS TIP 2:- If you do hire a car, go to FARO, its a beatiful city with some narrow cobbled streets, fantastic cafes and long strech of white sandy beach.
ALBUFEIRA MARINAS with some colourfull modern buildings (purple, red, orange, pink etc), lovely cafes, board walk.
SEVILLE IN SPAIN, takes around 2 and half hour drive from Albufeira, Portugal, roads are very quite with hardly any traffic and its well sign posted, Sevvile has a wonderful cathedral, worth a visit and take a tram ride around the big city, it has some lovely buildings and superb cafes, the area looks very much like London's river thames.

Not sure what else to say other than it was a very pleasant experience staying in this hotel.
Albufeira is a great place to visit, so go on, what you waiting for? We have already booked our next family holiday in march next year and we will deffinately stay at ondamar hotel again.

Room Tip: TRAVELLERS TIP 2:- If you do hire a car, go to FARO, its a beatiful city with some narrow cobbled st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uk2cairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    209
    79
    31
    15
See reviews for
149
183
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Have just returned from another lovely week at the Ondamar.
Had a room lower down than last year, despite asking for a higher floor when booking (the hotel being apparently fully booked). However, the room was spacious and well equipped.
For some reason, however, our room was missing the microwave oven. The staff on reception couldn't quite believe the oven had disappeared, but within 10 minutes of calling them another oven was supplied.
Again we didn't eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food, but from our balcony we could see that the restaurant was busy most evenings.
Made full use of the courtesy bus to Old Town, though the driver could use a little training in customer services. Despite us saying hello, thank you etc, he never broke a smile nor replied. On another trip, however, we were driven by a very friendly young lady.
Spent most of the time at the hotel by the pool. As the hotel was so full it was very busy most of the time, but we never had a problem getting sunbeds. Also, the pool bar's selection of all-day music appears to have improved, slightly, and was also much quieter than last year.
Overall, another enjoyable visit, and we wouldn't hesitate recommending the hotel or returning ourselves.

Room Tip: Higher rooms get a better view of the pool and garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pacman1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the location is great (very central between old town and the "strip" - a 10-15 min walk to each), the hotel is clean (cleaners cleaned room every day!) and the facilities and excellent and well-maintained. Did not dine in the restaurant so cannot comment on food. The bar and restaurant did look very quiet. Overall nice atmosphere and would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Swish_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

very clean, friendly staff
not far from the beach and town center
it could have some more entertainment

Room Tip: lateral rooms have view over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ripado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Just returned from a stay here with my family and my little boy. Had a really lovely stay, the ondamar is a good hotel, a little old fashioned but very clean and all the staff were really helpful. The swimming pool is massive and there was always a free sunbed. Its in a good location for the strip and the old town, big supermarket nearby and plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Apartments are massive and there is plenty of room, all of them overlook the pool which is good.
We stayed bed and breakfast, food was average but there was plenty of choice, only thing that lets this hotel down is the atmosphere, there is no entertainment apart from a bbq on a saturday and the bar was never busy. Suited us as we have a child but may not be suited to ppl who like lots of entertainment onsite. All in all a good hotel would definately stay here again ;)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorIom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Just returned from a 10 day stay at Ondamar and we had a great time. The hotel is very clean and the staff are really friendly, nothing too much trouble (aside from one female receptionist that was rude and snippy). Rooms are cleaned on a daily basis, fresh towels etc. The pool (indoor and out) and jacuzzi are excellent, my partner spent most of his time in the outdoor pool, normally plenty of sun loungers but would get to the pool before 10am to avoid disappointment as, despite the notices not to reserve sunbeds, beds were reserved with towels. We had a little noise from the lifts which disturbed us a little but invested in ear plugs which recitified the situation. (8.50 from local pharmacy)

The surrounding area is nice, but if a bit of graffiti will ruin your holiday then maybe not for you. Some of the locals we found to be ignorant and unappreciative of the fact we were spending money in their businesses, equally some of the locals were welcoming and friendly, other than that its good. The Big Shangai restaurant across the road from the hotel has lovely food on offer but I'm afraid i cant say the same about the manners of some of the waiters (portugese waiters!). There is a mcdonalds and kfc just up the road for those of you that like fast food and a shopping centre.

The old town is absolutely beautiful and seems to come alive at night. The strip we found to be a little disappointing from the hype that it had been given but alright if ya want to get really drunk, really quickly! :)

Beaches were good but a little 'shelly' for some. Fishermans beach (we think was the name) was really really nice but quite an expensive venture if you are wanting to rent beds and parasols, 12 euros for 2 beds and a parasol!

Trips away from the resort were on the whole very good. Zoomarine was an awesome day out, we got to see dolphins, seals, parrots and birds of prey, all very impressive. Aquashow waterpark was also a great day with plenty of slides and attractions to eat up a full day. We went sea fishing too which to be honest was a massive disappointment, 50 euros to share 6 rods between 17 people we thought was a joke and 20 miles out to sea you dont really want to annoy the crew too much!! Trip wise we cannot recommend "the ticket shop" just up the road as they were over an hour late picking us up from Zoomarine due to a 10 minute rain shower. Would seek other transport.

Cannot really understand the poor reviews of the hotel on here as it was fabulous (I wonder where these people are used to staying!!), there are negatives to our stay but the Ondamar should not lose marks due to this as our issues are with 3rd party companies and people. All in all an excellent holiday and we will be going back again without a doubt!

Room Tip: Request a room NOT close to the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed in the Ondamar at the end of August for 1 Week,had an brilliant time. Staff very friendly, pool great and plenty of sunbeds. Hotel location is between old town (20-25 mins walk) and strip (10-15 mins walk) taxi from old town (4-5 euros).We were upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment which was huge and had excellent facilities (even a dish washer). Rooms cleaned every day. We stayed half board and although the food we had was nice (breakfast was good, with plenty of choice) there wasn't much choice for evening meal. We ended up eating out a few times. Can I just say the barbacue on the saturday night was absolutly fab. It seems the hotel is geared more towards self catering which is a shame as the restaurant area is lovely. The only gripe we had was that we had taken our elderly mums with us and the only way in and out of the pool area was via steps, although the lift went to the pool area there was no access through the indoor pool/gym as the doors were always locked which seemed quite odd. On reflection good hotel would reccommend this hotel for self catering /bed breakfast only which is a shame, it could have been so much better.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUZYQ64Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.0 mi away
Ondamar Hotel
Ondamar Hotel
#101 of 154 in Albufeira
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#41 of 154 in Albufeira
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#12 of 154 in Albufeira
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paladim Aparthotel
Paladim Aparthotel
#25 of 154 in Albufeira
647 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#43 of 154 in Albufeira
763 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#72 of 154 in Albufeira
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ondamar Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ondamar Aparthotel

Property: Ondamar Aparthotel
Address: Rua Miguel Torga, Albufeira 8201-918, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ondamar Hotel presents you with the best Algarve has to offer! On vacation or on a weekend away, enjoy the comfort of our facilities, the quality of our service and the professionalism of our staff. Sun, beach, pool and entertainment are the characteristics of this region, making it welcoming even in mid- winter. In 10 years of existence we have followed one goal only: your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ondamar Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ondamar Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Ondamar Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing