We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard but nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ondamar Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ondamar Aparthotel
Ranked #40 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Standard but nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have just returned from a one week family holiday here (2 adults & 2 boys aged 11 & 16). Pool area is good - nice & relaxed, no "entertainment" reps bothering you while you're trying to relax. We saw that some people had reserved sun loungers in the morning so we followed suit. However, the pool guy came round one morning and took off all the towels from beds where there was nobody sitting at them. Fair play to him though, there were large groups who had reserved 8-14 beds but did not appear until near noon. There is plenty space on the grass to lie though, but not the best. There is definately room for more loungers so think they should invest in more. The sun loungers were cleaned almost every day and the area around the pool was also kept very clean. They allow inflatables in the pool, which is good to keep the kids entertained. We were a bit concerned when there were drunks in the pool first thing in the morning for our first two days but they weren't there for long and we didn't see them again for the rest of the day/holiday - would of been good to see somebody from the hotel doing something about it though as would not liked this to have continued.

Snack bar by the pool was reasonably priced and the food was decent enough.

The bar area wasn't ever busy - however, it was a nice quiet place to have a drink after a night out in the busy old town. We walked down here a few times (used the hotel shuttle once when going down during the day, which is a good service) and it was lively and a had a good buzz about it..

No safes in the room but you can hire one for 3 euros a night & a 10 euro refundable deposit.

Maid service was excellent - couldn't fault this.

If you fancy a change from the hustle & bustle the old town if you turn right when you come out of the hotel, go up to the t-junction and turn left to Fat Cats. An English bar which shows the football and food is really good. They also allow you to use the pool (at their discretion). Good eating places too if you turn right at the t-junction. There are also shops to get daily paper, basic necessities.

There is a self-service laundry area in the basement - didn't use it but good to know it's there if needed.

On the day we checked out, they weren't able to let us keep on our room as they were fully booked. However, they let you use the showers for the indoor pool area and give you free towels to use. You can also leave your cases in the luggage room - not locked though so wouldn't leave any valuables there.

All in all, a good base for a family holiday. Nothing fancy but clean and friendly

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJG442014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    192
    72
    29
    14
See reviews for
139
171
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

stayed here back in june we could not fault it the apartment was cleaned every day that we were there the pool area is kept clean and the garden area was lovely to walk around and well kept. .ondamar is a ten min walk to the main strip and around 20 min to the old town.the hotel reception was very helpful with info on places to eat etc.we had no trouble getting sun beds and the pool bar food was very good.we only had breakfast but there was a good choice with good bacon/sausages we would go back again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DevonAndykim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Basic clean hotel. Wifi slow. Pool great. One bedroom apartment was well equipped and good size. Maid service daily with option of new towels. Air conditioning was not working. No clothes line on small balcony. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. We ate in excellent Verdi-minho restaurant next door.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Recently returned after a week in Ondamar with two teenage boys. Although the decor could do with renewal, the entire hotel was immaculate, as were the gardens and pool area. Despite a severe lack of sun loungers, the pool and garden were without doubt the best features of the hotel. The green areas were well tended to and provided lovely surroundings to walk around and the pool and loungers were cleaned every day. Although the hotel is a twenty minute walk from Oldtown, the strip and several good restaurants are very nearby, as is Modelo shopping centre and the primary bus stops. The apartment itself (one-bedroom) was spacious and reasonably well equipped for four people, and unlike many other Albufeira hotels we have stayed in, was quiet and lacked the familiar noise of furniture scraping the the floor above. Overall a very pleasant and peaceful stay in a good location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have just returned from staying at the Ondamar (2 adults and 3 children) in a two bed apt. Got a transfer from Faro airport via suntransfers who were excellent. Our apt as ready on arrival and we were offered a safety deposit box for €10 deposit and 3 per day along with internet access in the room to 2 devices for €20 per week. The hotel staff were friendly and it was no problem to request extra pillows, cot etc. The apartment itself is big and have all the facilities that you would need while on holiday. Our apartment was cleaned every day although they do encourage you to use towels longer than just the one day. Location is brilliant and is in between the old an new town. We walked down to the old town almost every evening and kids managed no problem at all. I saw on several occasions the pool area being cleaned and this was done early in the morning. The staff do not allow you to reserve sun beds and I also saw them removing towels that had been placed with no one using them on a couple of occasions. We did not use the restaurant as we ate in Albufeira and I agree with other reviews that there was no real atmosphere in the bar at night but I think its the nature of the location and the fact that there is so much to do and be entertained in Albufeira. If I were to offer suggestions on improving the hotel, I would suggest that as the doors are glass, it would make sense to place the round stickers on them to advise people. This is because I saw several people banging into them, particularly children and I wrote this in the review card that was offered to us to fill out on departure. I would recommend the apartments and would have no problem coming back to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanc4142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just returned from a two week holiday at the ondamar hotel. We have stayed in a four star hotel before and this is definitely not worthy of 4 stars. The sunbeds and pool area were never washed or cleaned throughout our duration of our stay there. The apartment is big but storage is limited, maids aren't very kind or helpful. Alongside that we were robbed along with another 19 apartments, my sons iPad was taken while we where at the pool and things where taken from our room. Would never stay here again and wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here in july. The hotel is about 20 - 25 mins walk down to the old town which isn't to bad but walking back up is a knightmare. After 10pm the queue for a taxi from the old town is horrendous, only 1 collection point and that is it. We went back to the old town as it was laid back but now you have to fight your way through everyone not my idea of a nice holiday. The beds in the hotel are fold down out of the wall. There was no entertainment at night and no one drinking there at night. When I read the reviews before we went it was aimed at couples and families but after 3 days a group of 8 - 10 lads arrived one set was put above our apartment the other was the other side of the hotel to which at 6am they started shouting to each other. The next night they where running up and down the corridors banging and shouting again. When I mentioned this at reception they didn't seem interested at all. After this experience I would never go back again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolphin1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.0 mi away
Ondamar Hotel
Ondamar Hotel
#96 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paladim Aparthotel
Paladim Aparthotel
#18 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#94 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#25 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#10 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#39 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ondamar Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ondamar Aparthotel

Property: Ondamar Aparthotel
Address: Rua Miguel Torga, Albufeira 8201-918, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ondamar Hotel presents you with the best Algarve has to offer! On vacation or on a weekend away, enjoy the comfort of our facilities, the quality of our service and the professionalism of our staff. Sun, beach, pool and entertainment are the characteristics of this region, making it welcoming even in mid- winter. In 10 years of existence we have followed one goal only: your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ondamar Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ondamar Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Ondamar Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing