We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central, but comes at a price! Uncomfortable beds, insane noise levels until 4am and poor service!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel California
Ranked #149 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very central, but comes at a price! Uncomfortable beds, insane noise levels until 4am and poor service!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

I arranged this trip for my partner and myself. We had not been on holiday for a couple of years and seemed hopeful after reading various reviews about the hotel and its location.

However, when we arrived we were deeply disappointed. The hotel room had a stong musty smell and was extremely small! The view from our room was appaling, despite being told we would be given a room with a pleasant view of the town. Our balcony overlooked a road and huge ventilation machines. I went to the receptionist to ask if we could move to a bigger room (the room was so small it was difficult to maneuovre suitcases and certaintly didn't comfortably accomodate two adults)The receptionist was extremely unhelpful and refused to change our room, claiming that they were booked out. The bed was practically on the floor and was extremely uncomfortable. There was also no iron or hairdryer in the room.

On our first morning we went down to breakfast. Despite being supposedly booked out, the hotel had only seating for roughly 20 people (for a hotel with more than 500 rooms?) When asked if we could take our food down to our room the answer was no. I then proceeded to reception to inform of the need for more tables and the reply was simply to keep trying the breakfast room until there was a free table (the breakfatst room was on the 6th floor. Inconvienant?). We ended up having to wait 45 minutes until we could have breakfast, at which time there was little to choose from.

The noise levels at night time were ridiculous. We were unable to get any sleep until at least 3.30am every night. I left my stay at the hotel California feeling exhausted! The lack of care from the hotel staff with regards to our unhappiness with the room was very disappointing. I would not return to this hotel again as I felt frustrated and exhausted the whole time.

Despite my negative experience of Hotel California, this hotel is extremely central, however this comes at a big price! (no sleep and very uncomfortable rooms).We also had dinner a number of nights in the hotel and this was probably the only positive aspect of the hotel. The food was surprsingly nice and the waitress who served us each night was very pleasant.

This hotel may be more suited to stag dos or hen weekends where lack of sleep and comfortable relaxation time is not necessarily a priority. If you are looking a central, but relaxing and comfortable holiday Hotel California will not be for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    88
    96
    52
    79
See reviews for
25
172
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

th is was my third time going back to this hotel. its location is perfect. the staff are so helpful and pleasant in every way. there was a kettle provided to our room to make a cuppa when ever you neede one. We met lovely people staying there. We can honestly say we would not stay anywhere else in Albuferia.Its just like the song says "hotel california" is such a lovely place,

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pedroD16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camber, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

Location - Bar street, a lil noisey at night but nothing to ruine a good nights sleep.
Price - We paided £80 for four nights, thats two people sharing. I make that a tenner each per night.
People - such lovely hotel staff, sorted any problems we had.
Breakfast - Wasn't bad, not much to write home about, but a good selection of toasts, cheeses, coffee's & Teas, And for an extra 1.50eure the kind lady would cook you up three slices of bacon, an egg and beans to go with your toast etc.
Pool - The pool was cool...! Nice open bar to drink your beer at the pool and they don't put a huge markup on either. 2.50euro a pint. I can live with that.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILOVESqeakyJet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

An ok hotel with a good location - as long as not having a room overlooking the street as it's really noisy. The breakfast was terrible so stay away from that one and go to a café instead.

Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank annatola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

after getting to the hotel i was shocked at how close we was to everything i dident expect it after just looking at hols we booked it a week before we left last min holiday well needed the bars resturants are all in walking distance off 0 min the beach is a few min walk there are live bands on nearly every night somewhere best guy i saw was in sir harrys on fridays and sundays what a top guy he is. also the band in jojo"s bar were really good never had any probs with noise from the bars we where on the 6 floor and had door open at night all the resturants are really good but have a look down the back streets for the really portugees resturants i found one and wow it was really nice well worth the 6 euro all the staff are nice in the hotel and in the bars but please remember if they put olives or bread on your table (PAMPAS STEACK HOUSE) its not FREE its about 3euro each but over all was really nice i have just booked my next holiday there for next month if you decide not to go here you are mad but keep your eye out for it if you stay eles where happy holidays

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

This hotel is ok, rooms are clean with balcony although ours was at back of hotel it was sunny later in the day. Sunbathing area is to the side of the pool as theres only a narrow walkway around the pool which is quite small, snacks and drinks were available to buy there. We were bed and continental breakfast which was ok, other breakfasts were available to buy. Everything you need is within steps of this hotel, shops, restaurants and bars which have music going till 3-4 am! Great if thats the kind of holiday you want but if not, I wont say dont go there just take earplugs!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debra15Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

We stayed at Hotel Calfornia last August having got a great deal with travelrepublic.com. The hotel is situated on a strip of bars and restaurants however this did not impede our sleep. The room itself was quite spacious, however is in need of modernisation, as is the bathroom. Breakfast was great if you like continental European breakfast. Staff were extremely helpful and accommodating!

Overall we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a budget stay in Albuferia!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irish_Bubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
#151 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Polana Residence Hotel
Polana Residence Hotel
#148 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turial Park
Turial Park
#126 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#43 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Recife
Hotel Vila Recife
#82 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#60 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: Rua Candido dos Reis 12, Albufeira 8200-103, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Albufeira
Hotel California Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing