We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very central, noisy and dated, polite staff though”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #144 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“very central, noisy and dated, polite staff though”
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights on someone's recommendation and was rather disappointed with the outcome. I am glad that I didn't book the hotel for longer.

The hotel is located in the old town, where access to vehicles is prohibited. However the taxi stand is a short walk away from the hotel. The street is full of late bars and restaurants that will keep you awake till the wee hours of the morning. The area is very English- even had the Wimbledon showing on almost every screen.

The hotel staff were nice and helpful, except for the ladies at breakfast, who looked grumpy all the time. The hotel presents dated interior, the room was rather small, beds uncomfortable and it did smell of damp. Additionally you can hear water going through the pipes every time someone flashed the toilet in the room above. It was however clean and A/C was working nicely. In the bathroom there's no hairdryer, no shampoo or any fancy toiletries, just couple of bars of soap.

The breakfast is served on the top floor, very basic buffet, consisting of bread, one kind of cheese, one kind of ham (same every day), muesli, cereal, cake, some fruit, croissants and sliced tomatoes. Cooked breakfast was avail on demand, at extra charge.

The pool was very small and the sun beds plastic and not very comfy.

The hotel offers transfers to the airport for €35 one way but I traveled with a transfer company for €25, booked with Teresa at teresa@exposeviagens.com.

Albufeira itself is very English, lacking its former charm. They sell fish & chips everywhere and shops are full of English stuff. There are even couple of escalators on the beach, leading up to the top of the cliff which is really weird. No cultural experience, no taste of Portugal.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    90
    97
    53
    94
See reviews for
25
178
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We are young couple who spent 7 days at this Hotel in the Old Town. Overall a perfect location for the bars, shops beach and it is a walkable distance to the New Town. The hotel is not suitable for family and children as the bars are pumping music till the early hours of the morning. (4am)

The hotel reception has best decor in the building, we were really disappointed to find that we had been given a twin bedroom after specific requests for a double bed, I was even more surprised to be told that they did not have many double rooms in the hotel and most rooms were mainly twin beds. Had I known this prior to booking I wouldn't have booked with this hotel.

The rooms are a decent size, which has large balcony that overlooks the shops and bars. The bathroom is fairly a decent size. The cleaners come each morning to clean the bathroom and change the bedsheets, although at times it did seem as though the pillowcases were not changed, but simply flipped over.

We decided not use the wireless internet upon finding out it would cost us 2 euros for half hour. I was also shocked to hear they did not have an iron but they offered a laundry service at various prices.I learnt valuable lesson not to take things for granted !!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoops29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

This was our second visit to Hotel California in the Old Town for a girls trip away.

Given the central location street facing rooms are noisy but after a night of cocktails and shots you sleep straight through!

Clean, cheap, basic breakfast/bar snacks throughout the day and near to bars, restaurants, beach & marina...what more can you want?

Sun loungers available by the pool on the top terrace, must get packed in the height of season but there's always reasonably priced beds at the beach.

Room Tip: Some older guests moved to non street facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sun_kissedgrlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

What a scruffy Hotel, the room was so dated, dingy and not particulary clean. The corridors where just like you'd expect a prison to be. Dreadful place. Go elsewhere, there are better places than this hotel. I'd rate it ONE STAR!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunSearcher225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I arranged this trip for my partner and myself. We had not been on holiday for a couple of years and seemed hopeful after reading various reviews about the hotel and its location.

However, when we arrived we were deeply disappointed. The hotel room had a stong musty smell and was extremely small! The view from our room was appaling, despite being told we would be given a room with a pleasant view of the town. Our balcony overlooked a road and huge ventilation machines. I went to the receptionist to ask if we could move to a bigger room (the room was so small it was difficult to maneuovre suitcases and certaintly didn't comfortably accomodate two adults)The receptionist was extremely unhelpful and refused to change our room, claiming that they were booked out. The bed was practically on the floor and was extremely uncomfortable. There was also no iron or hairdryer in the room.

On our first morning we went down to breakfast. Despite being supposedly booked out, the hotel had only seating for roughly 20 people (for a hotel with more than 500 rooms?) When asked if we could take our food down to our room the answer was no. I then proceeded to reception to inform of the need for more tables and the reply was simply to keep trying the breakfast room until there was a free table (the breakfatst room was on the 6th floor. Inconvienant?). We ended up having to wait 45 minutes until we could have breakfast, at which time there was little to choose from.

The noise levels at night time were ridiculous. We were unable to get any sleep until at least 3.30am every night. I left my stay at the hotel California feeling exhausted! The lack of care from the hotel staff with regards to our unhappiness with the room was very disappointing. I would not return to this hotel again as I felt frustrated and exhausted the whole time.

Despite my negative experience of Hotel California, this hotel is extremely central, however this comes at a big price! (no sleep and very uncomfortable rooms).We also had dinner a number of nights in the hotel and this was probably the only positive aspect of the hotel. The food was surprsingly nice and the waitress who served us each night was very pleasant.

This hotel may be more suited to stag dos or hen weekends where lack of sleep and comfortable relaxation time is not necessarily a priority. If you are looking a central, but relaxing and comfortable holiday Hotel California will not be for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

th is was my third time going back to this hotel. its location is perfect. the staff are so helpful and pleasant in every way. there was a kettle provided to our room to make a cuppa when ever you neede one. We met lovely people staying there. We can honestly say we would not stay anywhere else in Albuferia.Its just like the song says "hotel california" is such a lovely place,

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pedroD16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camber, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Location - Bar street, a lil noisey at night but nothing to ruine a good nights sleep.
Price - We paided £80 for four nights, thats two people sharing. I make that a tenner each per night.
People - such lovely hotel staff, sorted any problems we had.
Breakfast - Wasn't bad, not much to write home about, but a good selection of toasts, cheeses, coffee's & Teas, And for an extra 1.50eure the kind lady would cook you up three slices of bacon, an egg and beans to go with your toast etc.
Pool - The pool was cool...! Nice open bar to drink your beer at the pool and they don't put a huge markup on either. 2.50euro a pint. I can live with that.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILOVESqeakyJet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
#142 of 154 in Albufeira
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turial Park
Turial Park
#110 of 154 in Albufeira
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Polana Residence Hotel
Polana Residence Hotel
#141 of 154 in Albufeira
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#40 of 154 in Albufeira
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Recife
Hotel Vila Recife
#95 of 154 in Albufeira
668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colina do Mar Hotel
Colina do Mar Hotel
#90 of 154 in Albufeira
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: Rua Candido dos Reis 12, Albufeira 8200-103, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Albufeira
Hotel California Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing