We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated, noisy... rubbish!”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #144 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outdated, noisy... rubbish!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

"Welcome to the Hotel California, Such a lovely place" - The Eagles obviously didn't pen their most famous song about this place.

It's on the main strip with a loud club outside pumping out music for morons till around 4am. Air con was broken in various rooms, thin mattresses and decor that looked like it hadn't been updated for decades.

Will not be going back here!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLM_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    91
    99
    54
    99
See reviews for
27
182
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed here with another couple. We booked a superior room and when our air conditioning went out we were upgraded to a room at the top of the hotel. Huge balcony and room, amazing view and high enough to be away from the noise. Our friends had booked a standard room and their room was small and cramped and no view. So book superior and ask for the upper floor rooms. The staff at the desk were very nice to us. We had drinks most nights at the small bar across the street from the hotel. The staff there is very friendly. The best thing about this hotel is the location. You cannot be in a better position for partying at night ! If you are young and want to have fun this is the location. It is a noisy area and full of bars but fun to people watch and just steps from all the restaurants in the square. I have been to albufeira before but stayed out of the Town. I had to take a taxi in to have any fun. If I ever go again I will stay at this hotel because of the location. This hotel was clean and I am very picky about clean. Our room was cleaned every day and towels changed daily. I had gone to albufeira before at Christmas and this time was much better. At Christmas it is too quiet and nothing is open and it is boring. At this tis of year it is much better. For location alone this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Definitely book superior and ask for top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaintedNails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

As title suggests, the room was ok, we didnt have the best but was great for a evening beer on the balcony. 5 mins to beach, top restaurants and shops, you wont get a more central location for a hotel in the town, side effect is the noise at night, bring ear plugs if you cant sleep with noise.

Would stay at again

Room Tip: Contact the hotel early to secure a good room, unlikely to move room once arrived, higher you are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Payed for a premium room but didnt get it, reception staff not very helpful at all. Rooms were pretty filthy and in serious need of updating!! Bird droppings everywhere on the balcony. Very noisy at night but this is to be expected being on top of all the bars, didnt sleep well all week even with ear plugs! Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemzeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

If you are booking for stag or hen party you cannot go wrong with this hotel. we, 15 of us all said it is basic but it would be impossible to be closer to the busy bar street as this hotel is on it.
Staff all went out of way to be helpful and as long as you expect noise you will not be shocked bars are open to 0400 at least with no let up of wall of noise.
Beds are rock hard and air con is noisy on start up but soon settled down and at least ours worked unlike some ! This worked for us ! Albufeira is well worth a visit. we found everyone friendly and out to enjoy but then this was an older party over 40,s who just enjoy life.

Room Tip: rooms on 6th floor or higher best to try and sleep before 0430
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were booked to stay at the Bertolina next door, a beautiful small hotel with a lovely pool. unfortunately they have been took over by cheerfulways consortium. we were sent to the California reception desk, they were rude and very unhelpful. telling us the bertolina was fully booked, they put us in a room at the Polana next door which was on top of all the nightlife so no sleep. Even the manager wasn`t the best at customer service. such a shame because the Bertolina was a great place to stay when Fatima was running it but I won`t be going back any time soon. dreadful experience

Room Tip: It doesn`t matter what room you think you are booking, they will just give you what`s free so don`t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton beds england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel in june 2014 when we arrived we had too tackle 10 steps up with our luggage and got no help !! we arrived at reception to be told our room wouldnt be ready until 2pm and this we got to our rooms which have certainkly seen better daysas only 9.30am so we had to go amuse ourselves for a few hours !! when we finally got our room key we was told we would be on the 9th floor and had to take 2 lifts which only just fit us in with 2 suitcases ... we wasnt shown the way we had to guess it !! we got to our rooms which had seen better days .. the beds where so hard i contemplated sleeping on the floor lol .. the room was basic to say the very least and wasnt all that clean so we cleaned it ourselves .. the bathroom was like a throw back of the 70s and the towel holders where the pipes which had turned green ... saying all that its smack bang in the middle of the nightlife which to my surpirise did not disturb my sleep like i thought it would ... the breakfast was as basic as the rooms so not a lot to say about it really ... we will be coming back to albufeira but not to this hotel at my ages of life i need comfort to be honest and i wont get that here ....

Room Tip: pick another hotel unless your ages are between 20 and 35
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxLutonBedsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
#139 of 154 in Albufeira
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turial Park
Turial Park
#113 of 154 in Albufeira
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Recife
Hotel Vila Recife
#99 of 154 in Albufeira
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Polana Residence Hotel
Polana Residence Hotel
#140 of 154 in Albufeira
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#42 of 154 in Albufeira
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
#130 of 154 in Albufeira
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: Rua Candido dos Reis 12, Albufeira 8200-103, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Albufeira
Hotel California Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing