We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay at Elma”
Review of Elma Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elma Apartments
Ranked #112 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay at Elma”
Reviewed 5 August 2008

We stayed in the Elma apartments in June of this year – four of us, husband, wife, son, and his school friend.

The apartments are located in a quiet residential area in Sao Joao that also has a number of bars and restaurants close-by. There are at least five blocks in the complex, which are mostly perpendicular to a one-way street that leads down from the junction where the Panacee restaurant is located to the last block about 300 metres away. In between the apartment blocks are ‘side-streets’ where cars can be parked.

The reception is in one of the blocks, and is managed by Christine, one of the most helpful people I’ve encountered anywhere on holidays. Tickets for water-parks, how to regulate the gas, where to purchase matches – she has all the answers.

The apartments themselves are somewhat on the ‘old-fashioned’ side, but don’t let that put you off. They are quite spacious, and were more than adequate for the four of us. Our apartment was two-bedded, and each bedroom had an en-suite. Each bedroom had a large ceiling fan that helped to keep the air circulating.

The kitchen area has a gas cooker with four rings and an oven. There was also a big fridge and a microwave. There was also a toaster and a kettle. The living area has a wall-fan, a couch, a TV, a side-board, a dining table and four chairs. Outside there is a small balcony with some chairs and a plastic table.

The pool area is behind the apartment blocks and is reached through an entrance off one of the side streets. The pool is nice, and well-maintained. There is a small snack-bar by the pool that sells drinks, sandwiches, burgers, and so forth. Cushions for the sun-beds can be hired for €1.50 from the bar, and there are a small number of parasols available for free.

The Panacee is a bistro-style restaurant situated in one of the blocks. The food is superb, and the waiters are very friendly, and attentive. Look out for their nightly fish specials written up on a black-board in the restaurant. Their Golden Bream is really nice.

The Sao Joao beach is a short stroll down the hill by the Monica Isabel Beach Club. You can walk right in as far The Fishermans Beach in Albufeira, in about 15/20 minutes.

It’s about a 30-minute walk by road back into the Old Town. The ‘Strip’ in Montechoro is about 15 minutes in the opposite direction. There are one or two small supermarkets in the immediate vicinity where you can pick up the essentials: water, bread, cold drinks. I recommend the local Bar Azul as a nice place to have a drink on your way out for the evening.

There is a large Modelo and Pingo Doce supermarkets about 15 minutes walk from the apartments. A taxi back costs around €3.50, or there are two bus lines (Blue/Green) which head all around Montechoro but eventually pass by the main road near to the apartments (€1.10 per trip).

If you are looking for a peaceful spot for a well-earned rest, then the Elma may be for you.

  • Liked — Quiet location
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irishwhite01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    14
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2008

When searching for a holiday it is difficult to know which is best, but the other reviews were very helpful to make the decision. Comments that the rooms were old, I would call them more rustic, but a good size, and for the price you pay value for money. Even through it was 32c while we were there, we did not miss aircon as there was a good breeze. But try not to get one near the road, as there is some traffic noise at night.

Christina was very helpful from recommending a very good fish restaurant to getting money back from the tour guide over a failed trip, to advice on do you really need to go on the tours, is there a better way to see things. She also very clearly told us how to get to the two local super markets, one a short walk and the other more of a taxi ride (which were cheap).

The location was very good easy to get to the beach and the pool as all have said it was easy to get a sun bed, but do bring your own pool/beach towels. We found that ti was best to go to the beach in the morning and pool in the afternoon.

Overall the food in the area was OK, nothing special, but the restaurant in the complex was one of the best we tried. A walk into the old town for an evening meal was nice, but the food nothing special.

We went with my 83 year old mother, wife and 7 year old daughter and we all enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere…….take a few books and relax with a nice chilled glass of wine!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Woodsie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

I booked this accomodation after readin the reviews on trip advisor, i was a little dissapointed with the elma appartments. The appartments were spacious and in the centre of things and the pool was comfortable but what really annoyed me was the that the place was falling down. Everything seemed to have been broken e.g the nobs on the kitchen cupboards and the place was not very clean. Cristina was very helpful.
Tip: in many holiday brouchers it says the towels are supplied. This is only for the rooms and these can't be used by the pool so bring your own.

  • Liked — Near a beach and at the centre of things
  • Disliked — Poor quality of accomodation
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dockleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2008

we have just returned from the Elma last week and we had a great time, The appartments are very nice and clean. two bathrooms and plenty of space to relax. our room overlooked the pool which was always on the quiet side which was great because the Elma is in a great position in a quiet area but not too far to walk to the strip on a night ( 10 mins ) . Taxis cost approx 4 euros to the strip. theres a really cheap buffet restaurant nearby if your a bit short only 12 euros for two meals. also two english speaking kids tv channels to keep the little ones occupied. Christina was excellent in reception and was very made us feel very welcome and because its a family business they all do there bit to make it as care free as possible. we will be definetly promoting this hotel to friends. Steve and Dasa from Castleford.

  • Liked — the friendly staff
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank johnCastleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Glam South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2008

Booked this holiday over the phone, via a travel service provided by my bank, approx 4 weeks before we went. Given several alternatives, which suited dates and airport we wanted. After reading previous reviews we decided to go to the Elma apts and were very pleasantly surprised.

Cristina was as helpful as I had read and although there were only 2 of us we had a 2 double bedroom and 2 bathroom apt, which was spotless. We had maid service every other day and it was good to see that the bathrooms were regularly cleaned. We did not use the self catering facilities as all surrounding bars provide snacks etc.

Would recommend eating at the Panacee restaurant, just at the end of the road for both snacks and evening meal also the Tres Palmeiras restaurant on the roundabout, which we went to on our last evening, really special.

Very pleasant walks into the old town via the beach and 'The Strip', both of which take only 10/15 mins. Close enough to the buzzing nightlife but far enough away if it isn't your thing.

Would highly recommend these appartments.

  • Liked — Location and standard of accomadation
  • Disliked — No air conditioning
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluebirdFACup08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2008

Just returned from these apartments ...June 08. Old fashioned, but spotless and roomy. I'd imagine 2 bedrooms with en-suite facilities for both would be almost impossible to find, unless you are paying much more than these cost and a very convenient facility to have! We had one double with bathroom (with shower over bath) and one twin with shower room...great! Bathroom & shower room were spotless with white ware & tiles and shelf areas...hate no-where to set all 'stuff! Immaculate white towels. These apartments also have a very well kitted out kitchen with full gas cooker, full size fridge freezer, microwave, toaster & kettle...all spotlessly clean. Plenty of wardrobe space with a further unit in living area. Apartments are built in five blocks with carparking below. Clean pool area with plenty of sunbeds. The Panacee restaurant, at the apartments was excellent value with very helpful and friendly staff...ask Jorge for his hiccup cure! ;) I was delighted with the location of these...3 mins downhill to beautiful beach. The walk back up was only hard work at the last corner! :) There were a few shops and a couple of small 'supermarkets and bars nearby. The much larger Modelo supermarket a little further away was excellent for choice and value of lots of local produce. The only negative for me...(single mum) was the need to take a taxi to return from Albufeira or Montechoro at night as the neighbouring streets were very quiet at night...would have walked otherwise as not far at all. I found the walk along the beach to Albufeira particularly beautiful and only about 10 - 15 mins. This was my first time holidaying in the Algarve and I would love to return...so much more to see and the locals seemed genuinely friendly. I would have no hesitation in returning to these apartments.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Not a major complaint, but view into other block.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skyllark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2008

Just back from a very enjoyable holiday, staying at the Elma appartments. May 25th; 2008 On arrival I was greeted by the ever smiling, helpful Cristina. The appartments are very spacious, and spotlessy clean, and what a great location, 3 mins to the beautiful sandy beach, about 8mins walk along the beach to the old town, and about 10 mins walk to the strip.
What a wonderful person Cristina is, so helpful, kind and knowledgeable and all this with that genuine smile.
I would recommend the Panacee restaurent on site, food and service excellent. also the Koola gardens.
I thoroughly enjoyed my holiday even though the weather was not very good, and indeed if Cristina could of had done anything about that she would have. I highly recommend these appartments
Julia Iveson,Cork, Ireland

  • Liked — Location. friendliness of staff,
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SheilaCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#45 of 154 in Albufeira
770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#15 of 154 in Albufeira
456 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#75 of 154 in Albufeira
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#74 of 154 in Albufeira
3,283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
202 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#46 of 154 in Albufeira
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elma Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elma Apartments

Property: Elma Apartments
Address: Forte de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-325, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Elma Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elma Apartments Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Elma Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Apartments Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing