We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT STYLE BY A MILE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Joinal Villas Apartments
Ranked #92 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 29 August 2011

You'll fall asleep to the sound of barking dogs and awaken to the sound of crowing roosters at the Joinal Villas, but that was the least of my concerns. Having stayed in National Trust properties here in the UK, I was expecting the same standards of quality for my £3000 outlay. As other people have alluded to here already, the main concern concern surrounded the state of the kitchen in terms of safety, cleanliness and levels of equipment. There is a dishwasher provided but you'll be having to do washing up long before you've filled it due to the lack of cups, small plates, and spoons. We had to nip out on our first day to buy mugs and a filter for coffee. There was also no vegetable peeler, which i would have thought was a fairly basic kitchen utensil. The front of the fridge looked filthy, and were the wires hanging down from the ceiling above it live? The electrics were a major concern. All of the sockets had scortch marks on the wall around them, there was a 15 second delay between turning the kitchen light on and being able to see anything, and it was impossible to operate the washing machine and the dishwasher at the same time. Also, if you had all four rings of the hob on the fuse would blow at the box and have to be reset, only working again after a 20 minute delay. It was thanks to a people in a neighbouring villa that we were able to cook the kids tea when that happened. The tiled hood over the hop is also so low that if your over 5ft 5" you'll end up crowning yourself on it at least once during the holiday; in the end I rigged up a sign using paper and elastoplast in an attempt to prevent this from happening. Other gripes included the fact that several of the lights had no bulbs, the telly was tiny and that the master bedroom only had three pillows. Talking of the bedroom, the matress was comfortable enough but the bed squeeked every time you turned over; you wouldn't have wanted to do anything more energetic. We had a great holiday but that was despite the accommodation and not because of it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claireeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2011

Joinal villas for a fantastic relaxing holiday. The villas are well appointed, with slightly old fashioned décor but do lack some cutlery! They are cleaned most days by a very efficient team. The washing machine and dishwasher are very useful. The two air-conditioned bedrooms are comfortable; though we did take some extra pillows and were glad we did as the ones provided were a bit thin. The villas each have a small garden for the four sun beds table etc and the barbecue. The pool is great for cooling off in. We went with our two teenage boys and it could have been too quiet for some but for us, just wanting to relax, read, swim and chill it was great. Most of the other guests at the time we went had young families; this meant that in the late afternoon we had the pool to ourselves. The villas are in their own compound so feel very secure, as access is controlled.

Nearby the villas there are several beaches, some within walking distance others a drive. There are a number of restaurant choices nearby, most within walking distance. The only surprise was that most did not take cards as payment. Scooby’s bar is a good choice for bar type food and cocktails etc, has a large pool, crazy golf, music and bingo/quiz evenings. Restaurant Jompra, opposite the villas, is a good choice if you are looking at treating yourselves. Lots of other choices nearby such as Indian, a Chinese near the main beach etc. The location of the villas was convenient to get around, the airport being less than an hour’s drive for us. There is a large indoor shopping centre near Guia and behind it a vineyard (Adego do Cantor) partly owned by Cliff Richard, which is worth a visit for the tour. We also went to Silves to see the castle and cathedral which was a short drive away.

All in all just what we wanted for a relaxed two weeks in the sun.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaveTripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We returned form a 2 week holiday at Joinal Villas at the end of July. We have previously stayed in these villas in 2004 and again in 2005 when our eldest son was just a toddler. We absolutely love it here however I have to agree with the previous review from VictoriaT. The gardens, pool and exterior of the villas are immaculate however these villas have not changed inside at all in the last 8 years. They looked dated back then. Sadly, they now look shabby as well as dated. and I would go as far as to say slightly grubby too. When we arrived the batteries for the air con had packed up, some of the bulbs had gone in some of the lights in the villa. The villa is overall generally clean and comfortable, the worst for dirt was definitely the kitchen which quite frankly needed a really good scrub! The kitchen was also badly equipped in terms of crockery and cutlery with items missing. I know that several of our neighbours also experienced the same problem. Even the tiny old fashioned TV could do with being replaced and at least a DVDplayer for the kids and we are really not ones for coming on holiday to watch TV!! The tiny sofa and chairs are also not comfortable at all if you sit for more than half an hour on an eveningr!

Also, a tip for Thomas Cook. The bag of items for our arrival was gratefully received however the box of matches would be better replaced with a dishcloth instead! The oven is electric and we weren't firing up the BBQ on our first night there however I did need a dishcloth within the first hour of arriving so this would have been much more useful.

I really hope that this feedback is received by the owners/management and holiday operators for these villas not just potential holidaymakers because overall I would wholeheartedly recommend Joinal Villas. The kids love it here and made lots of friends, it's secure and private and very relaxing. We love this area where it's quiet yet easy access to everything we might want to do, the beaches are beautiful......But in terms of what you get for your money (2 weeks for the four of us was over £3k) the actual villa is not at the standard that you would expect for that money.

If we are to come back here again, i'd either be looking for the price to be alot cheaper or for the villas to be updated with newer furnishings in the lounge and kitchen and much more well equipped.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank DebMcStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We have just returned from a week at the Joinal Villas, after booking through Thomas Cook Style. All in all, a good week in a nice villa. BUT I do have a couple of niggles. I wouldn't tend to be too concerned, but we were just expecting a little more than we got considering the price and that we booked it through the, alleged, upper end of Thomas Cook.
Pros:
- immaculate gardens, and clean pools - one for adults and a paddling pool which was perfect for our nearly-2 year old.
- spacious villa; two bedrooms and a half bath upstairs, lareg lounge/diner, shower room, kitchen downstairs.
- brilliant, gated patio area with brick BBQ, 4 sunloungers and table with chairs.
- secure; because the villas all face in towards the pool, and side gates are locked, there is no way for anyone else to get into the 'complex' unless invited. A major point for those with small people.
- peaceful location, and near some beautiful beaches (we hired a car so can't comment on the walk, but wouldn't have fancied it in 30 degrees!).

Cons:
- Yes, the decor and furnishings are outdated, but I can live with that. But it was just a bit grubby. Tiled floors need properly sweeping if the maids aren't basically just going to be swishing hair/dust around with their mops when they clean it. The kitchen worktops and draining board weren't clean; I ended up buying some surface cleaner and giving them the once over, to find a rather grubby cloth at the end of the exercise.
- Certain things could do with updating. Although well equipped, the fridge wasn't particularly appealing. Clearly quite old, the inside of the freezer was so bleurgh that we put food in it while still in the carrier bags?!

Overall, we did have a lovely time, but I am not sure we would go back simply because I can get a bit more for my money elsewhere. I don't really want to be cleaning surfaces and tiptoeing round clumps of dirt on the floor when I'm away. However, it IS a great place for kids (probably up to the age of 8 or 9) - you can let them run riot, knowing they're safe, and be relaxing in lovely surroundings at the same time. A previous comment sold it to us - that we could put our daughter to bed, and enjoy a BBQ and glass of wine in our own patio, knowing she's safe, and not having to worry about rowdy nightlife nearby. We certainly got that, which makes for a pretty decent holiday wherever you are.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We have come back from an enjoyable week break, unlike other reviews we hired a car and found this very useful for exploring the area and going to the supermarket. Villas are a bit dated but ours was clean and had all the facilities you need in the kitchen. Our 4 year old loved the pools and the playground was great for her. The patio for the villa was great with sunloungers there in privacy rather than around the pool. We wanted peace & quiet as a family and this suited us down to the ground, enough places locally to drive to during the day, pool time in the afternoon and restaurants easy to walk to in the evening. If you want entertainment for the kids this isn't for you, however if you want something slightly quieter I can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bearish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

these villas i found to be clean, reasonably well equipped and well serviced, the maids and manuel were around ,as were the gardiners, so the whole set-up was satisfactory.
we had a lovely holiday explored the beaches , although they are quite a walk away, and found restaurants that were clean, comfortable and served good food. to be fair it is probably good to have a car but i was not keen to drive there!
we have booked a return trip later in the year. one should be aware that prices are on par with many british places so if you have been to portugal a few years ago do not expect it to be as cheap as it used to be.

Room Tip: villas are all well positioned, gardens are lovel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank timballo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Joinal Villas in Portugal. It is advertised as having Kids Club, which is no longer there. The children's play park that is advertised is not suitable for children under 3 (no baby swings, high climbing frame). The villas are located in a rural town outside Albufeira, there for nothing to do at all during the day if you don't have car hire and the nearest supermarket is a long trek away especially in the heat! The villas are very dated and dirty. When we arrived the floors were filthy and the kitchen was dirty (mould around fridge, cracked tiles and oven not clean, ants on work top). The kitchen is the worst room in the villa. The villa internally is not suitable for young children. The stairs being hard granite/marble are an accident waiting to happen. Although there are stair gates our 2 year old could easlily open them! We went with our 3 children 5 year old, 2 years and 9 month baby. There was nothing to do for our children in the resort therefor we drove everywhere. Older children would find this place extremely boring. I believe it is more suited to couples who want peace and quiet.
We also found everything very expensive. Many people we spoke to said the same. Food was so expensive compared to the Uk and if you are going and you have a baby take lots of nappies, wipes etc as they are very expenive.
The rep is also nowhere to be seen if a problem. She is supposed to be there only 2 mornings a week for half an hour, but we only saw her once and the office on site was always closed.
The double bed is like sleeping on a brick, think the tiled floor would have been more comfortable!
We made this holiday enjoyable but the accommodation being in a better location and more family orientated would have made it better.
Def not a "Style" Villa.
Albufeira is a bit tacky and dirty. We drove to Villamoura which is far superior and with lots more places to see and where we wish we had booked in the frist place.
Good points of villa - Cheap to rent. Weather was great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diamonds001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.9 mi away
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
#65 of 154 in Albufeira
90 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jardins Vale de Parra
Jardins Vale de Parra
#76 of 154 in Albufeira
142 reviews
5.9 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#24 of 154 in Albufeira
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
4.4 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#27 of 154 in Albufeira
810 reviews
4.1 mi away
Novochoro Apartamentos Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joinal Villas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joinal Villas Apartments

Address: Praia Castelo/Vale de Rabelho, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range: £51 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Joinal Villas Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Joinal Villas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joinal Villas Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Joinal Hotel Albufeira
Joinal Hotel Apartments
Joinal Villas Apartments Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing