We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe the negative comments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Joinal Villas Apartments
Ranked #78 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

Me my husband and 2 children (5 and 22months) have just returned from 2 weeks at Joinal. We were very worried about going given the negative comments about the state of the villas and security.

Our villa was cleaned pretty much every day, you must take into account the villas are getting old so can't be spotless, however we had no complaints, floors were cleaned, beds were made and new towels were provided everyday. There are built in stair gates, which were a god send, the kitchen is well equipped but we tended to BBQ or eat out most nights rather than cook. The double bed was a little hard and will definately be taking my pillow with me next year, but the single beds and the cot that was provided were very comfortable - the kids slept brilliantly - There are NO issues with security all shutters and windows are secure and the main door has a double bolt and there is an alarm - there is no chance of anyone getting in the villas. The television is small but who wants to sit around watching it on holiday anyway - we certainly didn't.

The grounds are beautiful, secure and well maintained the 2 pools are great, with the smallest being perfect for my youngest to splash about in. I hardly saw my 5 year old who made lots of friends, while my youngest was able to enjoy some freedom and run around to his hearts content. There are a few bars, restaurans and shops nearby, but we hired a car to make shopping and trips out easier.

We made lots of lovely new friends and the weather was just perfect, we are very sad to be home.

All in all we had a fantastic, relaxing, fun and entertaining holiday that was good value for money - will definately be returning next year so please don't be put off this place by the negative and very over critical comments

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Rach7uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Joinal Villas Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

We went on the spring bank half term holiday.
We took our 4 month old and 7 year old. We were very worried about what we had booked after reading some reviews and with added pressure of taking a small baby. We deliberately wanted a villa with a shared pool due to the age gap and the possibility of my son meeting some new friends. On arrival the cleaners had just finished our villa and welcomed us in, although a little dated in décor we took a sigh of relief as it was spotless and had everything we needed, we opened our patio doors onto a patio area with a table and chairs 4 loungers and a built in BBQ, 5 metres from the gate is a shared pool and a baby pool, another sigh of relief as all of it was very well groomed.

The cleaners came in daily, they even cleaned the BBQ after we had used it. My son met a few new friends and we barely saw him all week. Car hire is essential. There are lots of great restaurants and bars which are all children friendly.

Only a small criticism but the bed was far to hard

We had a fantastic holiday which we all enjoyed and we will be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We were very unsure about these apartments as we only read the reviews AFTER booking! If you look deeper into the previous reviews about negative points I think you'll agree that they just had a niggle that obviously ended up spoiling their holiday for whatever reason.

We on the other hand had a wonderful time. Having stayed in hostels to five star hotels over the years and plenty of trips abroad, Joinal villas were comfortable, clean and family friendly. Posted are several photos to give you a better idea of the villas and it's surroundings. The complex is totally enclosed and is well maintained. We even caught the cleaners sweeping the grass of petals and leaves. We also didn't expect a daily maid service, so if you want your beds changed and fresh towels this is the place to be. Reviews on the kitchen have been negative, well I'm a chef and found the facilites perfect for a weeks holiday. There was a basket of fresh food to welcome us (just the basics, coffee, tea, bread, milk, biscuits, etc.), and several large supermarkets close by (make a shop on the way from the airport). Comment on earlier review regarding a dangerous overhead extractor is to be ignored! It is tiled and I'm sure if you wacked it, it's going to hurt but I'm 6'2" and had no problem. The large pool was clean and inviting with a smaller child/baby paddling pool close by. Our kids loved the swings and climbing frame which was a safe area for them to play. They also loved meeting new friends at the complex which gave us time to enjoy ourselves too. There are numerous restaurants, bars and beaches within close poximity. We hired a car wich gave us the freedom to visit the sand sculptures, zoo, marine play park, marina, towns and beaches further afield. All in all this is a place that we would encourage you to stay and we would certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Caleolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I really enjoyed staying at the joinal villa's. we had some great moments at the joinal but one very bad. the man in charge was the most unwelcoming and my son went to him to ask for toilet roll and the man was very unpoleit to him which we found really rude. the maid service was very clean and very poleit/very nice!

Other than that it was really great!
WeeRuairidh :-)

Room Tip: Don't leave the air conditioning on all night or you will become VERY VERY cold!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WeeRuairidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Half term week at Joinal Villas. We were very apprehensive given some of the more negative comments we had read, but we were delighted with what we found. The kitchen was tidy, well equipped and once we'd arranged things how we wanted them, we fell into a relaxed holiday routine very quickly. You do really need a car if you're staying here as the local supermarket,whilst handy, doesn't have the range of the Modelo in Albufeira.

The pool and grounds were excellent fun and the whole place had a very nice vibe to it. I'll repeat the comments about the maid service - they were excellent, and deserve a nice tip at the end of your stay!

We had no concerns about security or the alarms - the maids reset the alarm every time they left if we were out. We visited JK's and the sports bar a couple of times, but we like to get out and about so went into Albufeira for meals and days out too.

If we had a couple of gripes, firstly, our double bed was very uncomfortable - mattress was fine, all it needs is a new frame! Secondly, we were not told anything about the toll roads before we travelled or on arrival,and the rep wasn't entirely helpful and so we had to find out / work out how/where to pay the toll charges. However, all in all we would probably go back., if only to see our tame(ish) one eyed sparrow, and those BIG FAT TOES! (family joke!)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank MushysMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We have just returned from a week at Joinal Villas, the place was fantastic, with helpful, friendly staff. We stayed in a very good villa, with really lovely neighbours (lovely to meet you Jayne and Nathan), a perfect site. We would recommend this place, there were none of the problems previously mentioned. The maid service is very good, we too, were impressed that they cleaned the BBQ before we had chance! We sat outside most evenings, and were struck by the total peace and quiet that we experienced. The local bars and restaurants were good, 'JKs' are very helpful, and offer a taxi service to local attractions, 'Amigos' is just a short walk away, and is run by a local couple, who care about offering value for money, and excellent local food.
We look forward to returning here in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BOCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We have just returned from 1 week at joinal villas myself,husband and two children aged 5 and 8. What a fantastic time we all had i had read the other review's and was a little worried regarding the facility's this was unnessasary EVERYTHING was spotless the maids were extremely thourough.This is a fantastic place for the children very secure my only concern was the marble staircase however there are stairgates at the top and bottom. The pool was fantastic slightly cold on entering but fine once in. The pillows were quite flat my husband folded over a blanket to compensate and when we returned the following day the maids had left us extra pillows. We used the bbq a couple of nights and the maids even cleaned that for us. Each patio area has there own gate so this helps with small children. Airconditioning unit worked well, it really was home from home all the basics you need full working kitchen's microwave,dishwasher,washingmachine. We will definatley be returning again highly reccomend it.x

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.8 mi away
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
#65 of 154 in Albufeira
88 reviews
3.8 mi away
Novochoro Apartamentos Turisticos
6.8 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#51 of 154 in Albufeira
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#46 of 154 in Albufeira
141 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jardins Vale de Parra
Jardins Vale de Parra
#77 of 154 in Albufeira
141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joinal Villas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joinal Villas Apartments

Address: Praia Castelo/Vale de Rabelho, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range: £46 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Joinal Villas Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays and Agoda so you can book your Joinal Villas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joinal Villas Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Joinal Hotel Albufeira
Joinal Hotel Apartments
Joinal Villas Apartments Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing