We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a relief!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Ranked #125 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a relief!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My husband and I had booked a week AI during half term and I like many others had read some dreadful reviews so was very apprehensive. We arrived in the pouring rain and I have to say the reception area was looking a bit glum! However we were quickly shown our studio which was fantastic. It was huge clean and quite modern and we could not fibs any fault at all.
The food was absolutely fine. There was enough choice at each meal and no it wasn't fine dining but we hadn't paid fine dining prices. The location is superb and we loved walking into the "old town" and "the strip". The weather was superb all week and we would definitely return. My advice is look at what you have paid before you start writing negative reviews. It was excellent value for money and all the staff that we came into contact with were lovely.

Room Tip: We wherein the main hotel second floor and this was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikaChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    806
    781
    470
    518
See reviews for
916
1,183
65
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (894)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

just returnd from a short 4 night stay for under £200 with tranfers and all inclusive cant be bad !!! i was just on my own and i enjoyed everything no complaints not like some !!! it is what it is a nice friendly hotel with free busses to strip or old town , room was big and clean , allways food something to eat and drink , staff lovely especialy the to girls in the pool bar . lovely setting you just have to walk along the beach to the old town ( i sat on the front in the old town and was drinking lager for 175 a pint ) !!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank_b_danks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

arrived on 26th october-2nd november 2013 family of six and we were all inclusive, we arrived before lunch was shown to our rooms after getting lost twice as the place is a maze block m1 105 & 106 and the rest of my family where on another floor,room out dated but clean and spaceious,towels changed and beds MADE each day.food was disgusting same thing morning noon and night, restaurant not very clean,dirty plates,cutlery etc never clean, we took to eating out. the staff was very rude and unhelpful the pool area was filthy as was the in door pool (full of hair) only one working lift,the entertainment at night was very poor the bar service was terrible as only one member of staff serving at the all inclusive bar.the only plus side was that it was close the beach which is beautiful and it was not very far away from the old town which is must to visit,local restaurants where nice and value for money. albufeira is a lovely place to visit and we would return JUST NEVER TO THIS HOTEL TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY!! WE AS A FAMILY TRAVEL TO QUITE A LOT OF COUNTRIES WE ARE NOT PETTY MOANERS OR HOTEL ASSASINS. if you are looking for a budget holiday without the kids then place is for you but if you want a nice relaxing family holiday then stay clear of this hotel .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michele m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Millom, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013

If you are going here, then get a room/apartment away from the main/dining building, we had apartment 606mi .underneath the dining room, they clean the dining room till gone midnight, you can hear every table drag, every chair scrape, not to mention the kitchen staff arguing ! Hardly 4 stars in my opinion, although service and cleanliness were excellent. the area is excellent with the beach less than a minute walk away, the indoor pool is excellent, Now if you like feeling like cattle being loaded onto a wagon then the buffet style dinner is just the ticket for you. Heard rumours of staff not being paid for 3 months due to a take over bid, so may explain a few things, But overall we will not be stopping at the monica isabel again, Just too basic, air con that didn't work. Portugal yes ......... Monica Isabel . . . . NO

Room Tip: Stay away from the building containing the dinning area, Terrible noise of a night till gone midnigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobadob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I recently returned from the Monica Isabel, we had a lovely time the room was clean, tidy and quite big room 501 block A...Myself my partner and little girl of 5 took my parents with them in there 60s and 70s - the hotel it self is nice, most of the staff are very friendly and helpful Nelson Daniel and the girl with long blonde hair (sorry do not know her name) - were the best they couldn't be more helpful. We decided to go all Inclusive as we hadn't been to the Algarve before and was unsure how close we were to the local restaurants etc... the food wasn't very nice, same things most of the times and found hairs in our food, needless to say we ate out most of the time. Both myself and my mum were very poorly for a few days after eating in the restaurant at the hotel, we spoke to about 6 other families / couples who also had been very poorly with sickness and upset tummies.
The drinks in the all inclusive were all very watered down so we went to the bar at the top and had to pay but between 11am-11pm they were half price (as we were all inclusive) so that was good and that drink was nice and the proper stuff :)
I would return to this hotel for a cheap break as the rooms are nice, the views are beautiful and very close to the beach which my daughter loved...however i would go self catering as there are plenty of places to eat out close to the hotel.
I loved the old town...cannot wait to return to The Algarve :)

Room Tip: Ask for room 501 block A (1 bed apartment)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel1985_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I went to this hotel during the October school break with my partner. I would only recommend this resort if your on a very tight budget with the kids, otherwise stay clear all costs.

Pros
Excellent location. Its very easy to reach old town and ora from this hotels location


Cons
Poor customer service if not rude at times
Dreadful food. This is what dog food must taste like
Decor is very dated...maybe 1970's - mid 80s
Entertainment was poor
Short staffed
Our beds were damp

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Thank goodness the reviews I read before I arrived were unfounded. These people must either be petty moaners or hotel assasins.
We arrived on Saturday 2nd Nov expecting a sour faced receptionist, but the lady behind the desk could'nt be more friendly and helpful. Even though we arrived before our room was ready she gave us our all inclusive bands and said we could start using the facilities right away. We returned later and was escorted to our room. We were stunned by the panoramic sea view and hotel complex below us. We were in block F1 room 305. The apartment was huge with seperate kitchen, bathroom, bedroom, dressing room and two balcolnies. Had we been given the wrong accomodation? Suprisingly not!
Yes, the apartment and hotel decor was very dated, but I hadn't planned on sitting indoors for the length of my holiday. As we met more staff we noticed how pleasant, helpful and hard working they all were. Unfortunateley, the only negative were many of the guests who treated the hotel restaurant as a pig trough and took far more than they could eat and left behind. We even saw how ignorant and rude they were to staff. After our first day we chose to eat half an hour before the restaurant closed as it was much quieter and the rampaging guests had all gone. There was much to choose from at breakfast, lunch and dinner.
The hotel complex is situated on a fabulous endless sandy beach and a short walk along the beach or paralel road would take you into the quaint old town or new town in the opposite direction. We sadly left on the 6th, but would have loved to stay longer. This was my first experience of all inclusive and would consider it again, but avoid peak feeding times as it was more like watching pigs at a trough. I was ashamed to be a Brit as manners are left at home (if they ever had any). But the staff, accommodation, location and weather get top marks!!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room with sea view. We couldn't have been more pleased with our apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LesPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.2 mi away
Auramar Beach Resort
Auramar Beach Resort
#69 of 154 in Albufeira
2,903 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#75 of 154 in Albufeira
3,282 reviews
0.8 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#39 of 154 in Albufeira
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Luna Miramar
Luna Miramar
#70 of 154 in Albufeira
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
456 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#37 of 48 in Quarteira
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monica Isabel Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monica Isabel Beach Club

Property: Monica Isabel Beach Club
Address: Forte Sao Joao | Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-325, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#50 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Monica Isabel Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel includes Monica Isabel Beach Club 4 Stars (Aparthotel) and Monica Isabel Beach Club 3 Stars ( Tourist Apartments). It has a privileged location in Albufeira, on Albufeira beach and only 500 meters from “Avenida Sá Carneiro “a popular avenue (better known as The Strip to foreign visitors) which is filled with cafes, bars, restaurants and a wide variety of shops. The Albufeira Resort is central to traditional shopping areas, restaurants and bars from throughout the region and only 1.5 km from the Historic and Cultural Centre of Albufeira, the Mónica Isabel Beach Club offers a variety of services that allow your holiday or short week-end break to be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Monica Isabel Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monica Isabel Hotel Albufeira
Monica Isabel Aparthotel Albufeira
Monica Isabel Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Monica Isabel Beach Club Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing