We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tatty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Ranked #120 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tatty”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The clue is in the price. This hotel has some of the lowest prices and clearly the reason is that it's in need of a refresh. The reality does not match the photos. However, the location is right by a nice beach

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    785
    757
    457
    497
See reviews for
873
1,146
64
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (878)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banbridge
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just home from another trip to this hotel, went here about two years ago very little has changed, same staff same style of catering,still in need need of a face lift or a wee overhaul in some parts.
Had a lovely self catering style apartment even through I was all inclusive to myself, room was cleaned and tidied with fresh towels left every day, on let down was you just couldn't turn the shower tight enough to stop them dripping was ok as long as you left a towel on the floor.
staff are in general very friendly around the pool area, reception and restrauant, some of the younger ones who serve in the bar at night can a wee bit (not rude ) but offish. food at the poolside bar this time round was very disappointing, last time they served toasties, chips burgers hot dogs which saved having to trip away back up to the hotel for lunch, this time dry white bread with a bit of ham and cheese thrown in and a tray of crisps and a bit of salad. not good bring back the hot food! food in the main restrauant breakfast and tea at night there was good choice of normal style buffet foods you could always get something you liked so you not starve. Beer is served in small style coke tins or larger half litre tins which i think is a great improvement on those plastic glasses perhaps more hotel resorts should take this option up. all in all for what i paid for package it offers good value for money and would most likely go back. Only real down this time was treatment of a group of girls from Belfast who were on a hen party, they had paid there money like anybody else and therefore were entitled to the same amenities,they were asked to leave the bar on the first night as a couple of other residents complained and said they too loud, I thought they having a good time and were not annoying me ( to the point that i met them in a bar later on in the evening and had a great nights craic with them) I have been to many hotels over the years were hen of stag parties have been and as long as the place was not being wrecked nobody got annoyed if they were too loud . So perhaps the Monica Isabel is not the place for hen or stag does. Perhaps the hotel should state this on all websites that they advertise on that no hen of stag parties (just a thought ) Other than the above rant I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Just arrived back today after a week in this hotel. Some people must go on holiday simply to find something to whinge about. A week,A/I for 2 adults, cost a miserly £518. After reading the reviews on here, it would be fair to say, I was dreading it. We went with the intention of enjoying it, regardless of the negative reviews this hotel receives. To say I was surprised is an understatement. We were allocated block B, 806, with a beautiful sea view. Our room was cleaned daily, and clean towels on a daily basis too. Granted, it's not trendy, in fact, it's pretty basic, but, how much time do you spend in your room. The restaurant now. Yes, there is a limited selection but I never struggled to find something to eat, and I never once felt the need to eat out. The views are also worth seeing from the 8th floor. It's an easy stroll to the old town,or the strip, or in any direction, there's always something to see. There wasn't any in house entertainment, what do you expect in march. The staff were all very nice, and well mannered, they all spoke excellent English. So all you moaners and groaners out there, be nice, and they will be nice to you in return. Now, would I return, somehow I don't think I need to answer that. If you've booked, don't despair, keep an open mind and go with the intention of enjoying your break, I'm sure you will.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank cath042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I and 7 friends have just returned from the Monica we could not fault the accomodation we were in the appartments at the rear of the main building and they were superb absolutely spotless clean.

However we did encounter a problem with the breakfast the breakfast bar had a very limited choice and what was on offer was at best lukewarm if you wanted a fried egg you had to wait in a que were the cook was cooking them 1 at a time by which time your lukewarm items were cold.

Then on to the toaster which was a domestic 4 slice toaster here you could be waiting as long as 15mins and then another 5mins to get any kind of colour on your toast.

We have stayed at this complex on 5 previous occassions and never had any problems it appears that they may have had some cutbacks and the service in the restuarant has definitely suffered as a result.

Room Tip: The apartments to the rear of the main building are superb the rooms in the main building are good t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Wigan, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

dont normally do reviews but after reading some on here felt the need to. This resort is a bit dated but room was cleaned daily food was edable with a fair selection breakfast needed more but always bread jams etc. Beer served in cans but at least you know its not been watered down like a lot of other AI i have stayed in. One compaint would be the millenium bar main evening bar in desperatly in need of refurbishment mold and damp not my thing but a good sports bar just up the road after AI drinks at the pool bar during the day. to all those who complain go spend fortunes uf u want perfection.£200 for 5 days AI spot on to me for a short break

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank aaro1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Okay - A lot of people here expect 5* hotel treatment for 2* prices so get real people !!!
ACCOMMODATION
Firstly, just back 16-03-2014 spent the week all inclusive tho was put into the 3* chalets which were cleanish. Had 2ring cooker,fridge,pots,cups,glasses.My balcony view wasn`t the best but the hotel complex is literally on the beach which is nice.
FOOD
For a large restaurant room, it only had a tiny corner for the hot meals and so tended to have to queue quite a lot, then find food was gone and had to wait for more to come out.
Over the week, there was a fair choice of different foods as long as you waited quite a lot.
1 2slice Uk type toaster and a cooker type grill toaster once again meant queues.
Pudding meant every day Cake or Jelly behind receptionist as you entered restaurant.
ALL INCLUSIVE DRINK+SNACKS
Only 2 bars where open in the day. Daytime down near the beach at the pool bar or Night time in the lower bar where wi fi was also. Sandwiches and bowl of open crisps and fruit was your all inclusive snacks. 2 drinks per person at any one time at either bar.
GAMES
2 pool tables at a euro per game was only working game. A broken pin ball and non working playstation was there.
INTERNET
As said there was wi fi but only in lower bar. 2 computers at main reception gave FREE access.
OVER ALL REVIEW
I paid just over £300 for whole package so over all i had a lovely weeks holiday and am happy with what i got for my money. I Do feel though there is room for improvement at the hotel and that is not me being snobish or over realistic. <Diandal Scotland>

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiandalScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here for a short break (3 days) in late Feb early Mar. The apartment was clean and tidy although very dated. We arrived at 09:30 on our first day but were not allowed to access the All Inclusive until 12:00 when we had to go back and get our wrist bands. The apartment was not ready and again we had to go back at 15:00 to get the key for this. The buffet was a very limited choice and not a great standard. We were told that we could not have lunch on the friday if we wanted it on Sunday. As our flight back was late in the day we chose this option. However on Sunday we went for lunch we were refused as we had to go back to hand in our room key and wristbands. We chose not to and went back to the poolside bar to have some more drinks and snacks (Crisps & chess sandwiches). Needless to say we spent a lot of the three days there off site at local bars (not what I expect from an AI hotel).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.2 mi away
Auramar Beach Resort
Auramar Beach Resort
#68 of 154 in Albufeira
2,851 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#65 of 154 in Albufeira
3,157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 154 in Albufeira
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#43 of 154 in Albufeira
2,023 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luna Miramar
Luna Miramar
#56 of 154 in Albufeira
472 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#34 of 48 in Quarteira
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monica Isabel Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monica Isabel Beach Club

Property: Monica Isabel Beach Club
Address: Forte Sao Joao | Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-325, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#50 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Monica Isabel Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel includes Monica Isabel Beach Club 4 Stars (Aparthotel) and Monica Isabel Beach Club 3 Stars ( Tourist Apartments). It has a privileged location in Albufeira, on Albufeira beach and only 500 meters from “Avenida Sá Carneiro “a popular avenue (better known as The Strip to foreign visitors) which is filled with cafes, bars, restaurants and a wide variety of shops. The Albufeira Resort is central to traditional shopping areas, restaurants and bars from throughout the region and only 1.5 km from the Historic and Cultural Centre of Albufeira, the Mónica Isabel Beach Club offers a variety of services that allow your holiday or short week-end break to be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Monica Isabel Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monica Isabel Hotel Albufeira
Monica Isabel Aparthotel Albufeira
Monica Isabel Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Monica Isabel Beach Club Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing