We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Luna Clube Oceano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luna Clube Oceano
Ranked #26 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We booked a week at the beginning of july and had a wonderful week. The apartment was spacious and kept very clean. The staff couldn't do enough to help, even going to the trouble of giving us a ground floor room due to health reasons. The facilities were all kept clean and tidy and we found the location to be spot on as it was only a 10 minute walk in either direction to the towns. We are hoping to return again next year and this time stay for 2 weeks. The only downside was two groups of dutch teenagers who were smoking, eating and drinking whilst in the pool and behaving quite badly. They were dealt with very professionally by the staff at the hotel. Would highly recommend this for a budget holiday. Many thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed first 2 weeks of the summer holidays so it was very busy. We struggled most days to get a sun bed near the pool, and when you did get one most were broken. The hotel is in a great location with 10 minute walk to either the strip or the old town. With having young children we used the train a lot which stopped just at top of the road. You could only get wifi in reception and it wasn't always great. The rooms were of a decent size but our cooker didn't work and no one came to fix it so I couldnt cook the food we bought! The rooms were cleaned regularly but not really to my standard! The children loved the room as there was lots of space for them. All in all a great location but if small improvements were made this hotel could be a 4 star!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

I went on a hen do here booked an apartment for 5 of us but there was a problem with the room so we ended up with 2 large appartments right next to each other at no extra cost both big enough to sleep 4 guests which we where happy about :) All of the staff are really friendly and polite! The pool side staff are amazing and happy for a bit of banter, always willing to help us out! They even joined in our games! We renamed them to fit in our rules and whenever we called them that name they responded :) Even the managers son joined in :) All very friendly. We had a problem with the bath and the appartment was flooded at about 10pm and it was sorted straight away we left the maintenance man to it who we named Pablo and came back to find clean towels new rugs and the appartnment exactly how it was before it flooded so efficient :) A little annoying that we could only get wifi in the reception lobby but that wasn't the end of the world! I highly recommend this hotel to stay in :) Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Banana92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My partner & I had 2 lovely weeks at Clube Oceano. The apartment was really large & spacious. Very clean & had cleaning staff there 6 days, just not on sundays & they too were very friendly. The staff at the reception were very polite & always helpful. Nice pool, not too big though & if you were not up early we could not get a sun bed. Being in the 1st week of the summer holidays there was a lot of young Dutch lads as well as families with small children. Some of the Dutch boys were a bit noisy when they returned home in the early hours of the morning, but well we were all young once so didnt worry us that much, but the families with little ones were not too happy!! All in all it was a good holiday

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Astrid5020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I stayed at Clube Oceano from 5th -12th July with a girlfriend. Check in was very quick and the reception staff friendly and helpful.

The room -
Very comfortable bed. Needs more pillows. We used the blankets in the cupboard and the cleaning lady left another 2 pillows for us.
Shower and bathroom were good, clean and nice size.
The kitchen was very well equipped however we went and purchased some food for the week stay and the freezer drawer didn't work at all and melted our goods. We called them and a maintenance man arrived, poked at it but there was no notable difference. The fridge wasn't too cold either so I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you want self catering.
The rooms were cleaned every other day but the sheets weren't changed at all. The 'air conditioning' unit was very noisey and not worth using at all. Luckily our room didn't really get any sun so wasn't too hot at night. The patio doors were a bit old and you needed a knack to get it to lock. That as find accept the cleaners didn't have this knack and left our doors unlocked on one occasion!

Pool and Bar -
The pool was a lovely size and nice to swim but to be honest other than the first 2 days of our stay the other guests typically reserved all sunbeds from around 7am! I will never ever understand why people come on holiday to do this. Its insane. The hotel had a sign not too but this wasn't really enforced. The beach is 5 minutes down a hill so we went there all but one day and it was much preferred than the noisey pool side. I highly recommend the beach instead. We made a comment to the reception staff and they apologised with a knowing look so they've obviously tried battling the craze of morning sunbed re-servers. We ate at the bar a couple of times and the staff were lovely and food fantastic. Reasonable price too.

Location -
The location is the the best thing about this hotel and the only reason I would return. Its in the middle of old and new town. Its 15 mins walk to a large supermarket and 5 minutes from the beach. Although it is a hill so not suited for all. We walked everywhere and it was pleasant to walk to either new or old town.

Overall this hotel was god in terms of situ but not ideal for self catering or someone that wants to sit by the pool all day. They also let large groups book in. We had some very nosey neighbours and the hotel didn't seem too fussed about this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tess m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Booked a weeks holiday in Albufeira in July this year.Lovely staff very helpful ,rooms veryspacious and clean. If I was to find a fault it would be that I would like to see the hotel management try to deter people from the practice of putting towels on the sunbeds.Its most irritating to see the beds covered and the people not coming to use them for hours later.I would definitely go back and Albufeira itself was stunning.Loved it

Room Tip: Stayed on the fourth floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eileenanastasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We arrived at the oceano on weds 12th June and was greeted by the reception staff very politely and they were very helpful aswell all the time we were there ( 1week) we had paid for a studio apartment but they had none so was given a one bed apartment instead it was very spacious and clean and for the time we were in the place it was a great base .3 things that we thought could be better were the bed and pillows ( bed hard and pillows too small and need updating ) there was no electric kettle so took a while to boil the kettle on the cooker and finally a new shower could be changed but the one that was there was ok .the pool was great and plenty of space o get a sunbed ..the pool bar was good and well stocked and the staff were very friendly and the lady was very chatty and knowledgeable about the area .the hotel is in ideal position a few mins walk to he beach ( uphill walk on the way back ) 15 mins walk to the old town 15 mins walk to the strip and only a few mins walk to the train that goes round albufiera and for 8 euros a day you can hop on and off all day and night would we stop again ....yes we would

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank lovethesunTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.8 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#15 of 154 in Albufeira
1,830 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#51 of 154 in Albufeira
799 reviews
3.0 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Clube Oceano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Clube Oceano

Address: Rua Columbano Bordalo Pinheiro | Forte de São João, Albufeira 8200-110, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £29 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Clube Oceano 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel apartment Luna Clube Oceano is a friendly and modern 3* complex, located in Albufeira, in the heart of the Algarve, just 100 meters from S. Joao beach. Luna Clube Oceano offers a peaceful location and feature apartments equipped with balcony with pool view. The hotel facilities are ideal for couples and families that wish to be close to the center and the beach, seeking for a friendly service and a relaxing break. Luna Clube Oceano is set on a hill and offer a peaceful location and very close to the beach, where a wide selection of watersports are offered. The local restaurants, bars and shops are all within a short walk and feature a lively nightlife. It offers the ideal location for those who wish to explore the Algarve, or simply relaxing by the pool or the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Luna Clube Oceano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Oceano Hotel Albufeira
Clube Oceano Aparthotel Albufeira
Luna Clube Oceano Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing