We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveller rating
207
239
64
18
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
239
64
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townpool areaminute walktres palmeirastuna clubair contourist trainone bedroom apartmentself cateringhigher floorgood sizefifth flooropposite directionsea viewcoffee makergreat holidayfloor room
Filter
Updating list...
376 - 381 of 535 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I have just returned from a 2 week stay in the Clube Oceano Room 201. The hotel is in a great location 15mins from old town and 10mins from new town but both are an up hill walk so not suited for people who have walking problems. Only a two minute walk from the beach. Hotel staff in reception are great very nice people and so helpful if you need anything. The apartments are great size clean and have a homely feel about them. The pool area is nice the pool its self is cleaned daily however on the 15/8/13 i refused to let my children use the childrens pool as it didnt look clean however the main pool was fine. The pool area is dirty it wasnt cleaned the whole two weeks i stayed there this also includes the pool bar food area the ground is very dirty. Surely someone should be employed to clean this. The lady that runs the pool bar is very rude she started numerous rows between guests by removing towels from sun beds. She done it to us even though we rented pads off her everyday we had to report her in the end to management who told her off for doing so. Her pads are never cleaned with antibacterial spray and this is disgusting even though she charges a euro a day for these and we rented 8 everyday. Jo is her name and she has quite a vile tongue on her towards guest so it wasnt a suprise to see her business not doing very well. she charges 2 euros for a bottle of water when you can buy 1 in the spar for 40 cents and 2 euro for can of coke and they are 55 cents in spar she also forbids anyone to eat or drink around the pool unless you buy it off her. A question i would like to ask is who owns the pool Jo or Luna clube? i would like to see some local person taking over the pool area as they are lovely people unlike Jo. I would return to these apartments if Jo was removed from her post Portugal is a beautiful country and brilliant people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Just got back from 10 days here. Excellent value for money. We had room 208 and it was a very large apartment, good size kitchen and bathroom. Reception very helpful rooms cleaned and towels changed regularly. Good location for both sides of old and new town plus the tourist train stops at the top of the road. Good size pools only downsize there not enough sun beds could do with a few more. Poolside snack was good but didn't open till 10 so if you want to eat earlier you have to go out but really good coffee shop at the side of the hotel. Would def go back to this place and I have been to this resort 5 times now.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manicmissyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed here the first two weeks of July. Excellent value for money. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms were regularly cleaned and I thought the kitchen facilities were great for 3*. The location was excellent a short walk from both the old and new town and 5 minutes from the beach. The pool bar is very handy and reasonably priced. We will definitely return next year. As other reviews have mentioned there were some disrespectful Deutch lads at the hotel waking guests up in the early hours of the morning and driving people away from the poolside. Apparently July & early August is their 'Spring Break'. I wouldn't return during this period.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JDoors88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We booked a week at the beginning of july and had a wonderful week. The apartment was spacious and kept very clean. The staff couldn't do enough to help, even going to the trouble of giving us a ground floor room due to health reasons. The facilities were all kept clean and tidy and we found the location to be spot on as it was only a 10 minute walk in either direction to the towns. We are hoping to return again next year and this time stay for 2 weeks. The only downside was two groups of dutch teenagers who were smoking, eating and drinking whilst in the pool and behaving quite badly. They were dealt with very professionally by the staff at the hotel. Would highly recommend this for a budget holiday. Many thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed first 2 weeks of the summer holidays so it was very busy. We struggled most days to get a sun bed near the pool, and when you did get one most were broken. The hotel is in a great location with 10 minute walk to either the strip or the old town. With having young children we used the train a lot which stopped just at top of the road. You could only get wifi in reception and it wasn't always great. The rooms were of a decent size but our cooker didn't work and no one came to fix it so I couldnt cook the food we bought! The rooms were cleaned regularly but not really to my standard! The children loved the room as there was lots of space for them. All in all a great location but if small improvements were made this hotel could be a 4 star!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews