We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveller rating
207
239
64
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
239
64
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townpool areaminute walktres palmeirastuna clubair contourist trainone bedroom apartmentself cateringhigher floorgood sizefifth flooropposite directionsea viewcoffee makergreat holidayfloor room
Filter
Updating list...
366 - 371 of 534 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed in a one bedroom 3 adults for 11 nights. Sofa bed in living room not too good ie a drawer pulled out with mattress or a thin mattress on top of sofa, just passable.Air con bit noisy and leaked a bit, Apartment well equipped full cooker, microwave, toaster kettle plenty dishes and ,. Quite a walk from old and new town not as near places as we thought,Taxis 5 euro from old town, we walked in taxi back as uphill on way back , worst apartments we have been at where beds are reserved and most guests were British, beds reserved from early on pretty annoying and half the time they were left unused most of day. Jo in the pool bar has had some pretty bad reviews, but she is very nice as is her 14 year old son. Prices there just same as outside, 1 euro 20 for small bottle of water 2 euros for ice lollies etc. cans juice 2 euros toasties between 2 to 3 euros t give you an idea of prices. Only saw her once remove towels and found out it is not the hotel who owns the bed but jo so as she has paid for them and the umbrellas she has every right to remove towels, as previous reviews said they didn't know why she removed towels i made a point of asking and she told me she has had some pretty rude people shouting at her so i thought i would put my review on to let people know the circumstances, hence the reason there is a note up saying don't eat or drink our own stuff which is usually displayed around pools of other hotels I bought some stuff from her and also put a bottle of water in freezer and took it down so it stayed lovely and cold.It is not a big She also did plates of chips for 2 euro 50 cent so that wasn't too bad.All in all a good hol try the cottage restuarant half way up right hand side of new strip, blink and you would miss it , it has lovely english food if you want it at reasonable prices, The mexican at the old town is not too good and very expensive but always seemed to have queues to get in, don't know why, Zanzi 2 is also nice for eating in old town as is the chinese right in the middle, does nice set meals, and right on front of old town lovely restuarants at good prices just at the kinda harbour b it where the guys do sand sculptures
there is also a nice kinda moroccan restuarant that has live entertainment and this does meals for 5 euros up to about half nine at night and they re nice as is the entertainment, was a good holiday but portugal getting more and more expensive eating out etc, also very few exchange places and rate was bad better in the uk, strepsil out here for my daughter 6 euro 50 cents and suncreams about £13 so take with you.exchange places western something , no commission one on new strip and big shopping centre hope all this helps and any questions just ask ps wild and co start of new strip good entertainment.....,

Room Tip: higher up rooms have good sea views
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank letitia114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My Wife and I booked this apartment after not being able to find anywhere reasonably priced with half board, which is normally our preferred option. I must say that we were pleasantly surprised at the size of the apartment, by comparison to staying in a hotel with half board (one room with a bathroom). We stayed in apartment 302, which overlooks the entrance leading to the little row of shops. Comprising of, hallway, bedroom, bathroom, a small kitchen and a sizeable living/dining space + a large balcony. Furnishing's were of a good quality, the bed's although firm were stable with no creaks which you get in most hotel's. The balcony is south facing so you get the sun all day long from early morning to late afternoon. Although we did not use the kitchen for cooking as we ate out every night and had a continental breakfast with supplies from the local Spar shop, there were ample utensils, crockery and pot's & pan's if you felt the need for home cooking. Together with an electric cooker an added bonus was a fridge, great for putting gallon bottle's of water or can's in for a nice cold drink (don't usually have a fridge in hotel rooms). Maids visited every day to have a quick clean round and leave fresh towel's, they were pleasant and polite as were the staff in reception. A nice clean place to enjoy your holiday, and situated about midway between the Old Town and The Strip.

Room Tip: Room 302 is away from the pool area and is quiet at night time.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AstraFlondrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

read review about the pool bar what rubbish the lady and the young man in there were charming and couldn't do enough for you the woman was complaining about them taking towels off beds there are several notices stating beds are not to be reserved but some people were leaving towels on for hours stopping other people from lying on them they were only doing their jobs I thought it was only germans who did this its most annoying some people were reserving as many as ten beds its only a small pool and they were sometimes away shopping all day then expecting their beds to be there

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are straight out to the pool first floor and above have nice view of the pool
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashingtoncouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

From our first email to the apartments the staff could not have been more helpful. We were holidaying with my cousin and her family so emailed ahead to request that we had rooms next door to each other and no higher than the 3rd floor.
On arrival we were allocated our rooms straight away, even though we had arrived 2 hours before the stated check-in time and we were pleased to be on the third floor next door to my cousins room.
We had one bedroom apartments which were spacious and clean, however, on the downside they were a little dated, the air-conditioning was not very cool and was quite noisy. The kitchen was well equipped with all cutlery, pans, baking trays etc, I wish I'd taken my travel kettle though as the kettle provided took a while to heat up on the electric hob. On arrival there was only one small pillow per bed but when I requested extra pillows from reception these were provided straight away.
We rarely had a problem getting a sunbed at any time of the day as the snack bar manager would remove towels from sunbeds which were left unused for more than 45 minutes, she removed our towels on our second day which was fair enough as we had reserved them before 10.00 and left them unused until 11.00. The snack bar food and drink was good.
The location of the apartments was good. It was a five minute walk down to the beautiful long beach, the walk back was up hill however we managed it without any problems even with a four year old child and all his beach equipment, you'd be very unfit or elderly if you found the walk back from the beach a problem. The strip was a 15 minute level walk away, we found it too busy for families at night so only went a couple of times. The old town is a downhill 15 minute walk away (uphill on the way back so a taxi or the land-train is a good option to return on), we had some lovely meals and shopping trips to the old town. There is no night time entertainment in the Oceano however there are a few friendly bars (with free wifi, sky sports and pool tables to keep the teenagers happy) and restaurants in the same street as the apartments and there is also the Hotel Monica Beach Club which has nightly entertainment which you can watch.
We booked a trip to Zoomarine with the local travel shop (located in the same street as the Oceano). They took and collected us in their own people carrier. Zoomarine is well worth a visit if you have children, the dolphin, sea lion and parrot shows were very good, there are also swimming pools and a couple of water rides and other rides for children to go on.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deb640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Just arrived back and on reflection was a good holiday with terrific weather but only let down by the dissapointment of the room, The reception was very clean and quite modern on arrival but the room was very dated especially the kitchen area, was like stepping back in time to the late 90's, The room was very spacious and overlooked the pool but when you found a sunbed everyone seemed to have been broken or damged in one way or the other. The beach was very clean and very hot, located in-between the old and the new town with some nice restaurants and especially recomend Donaldo's and the Chinese which had the quickest service ever.Good holiday but dont think i would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms face the pool but better off on levels 4 & 5 which are classed as 1 bedroom apartments
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mackamsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews