We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Luna Clube Oceano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luna Clube Oceano
Ranked #26 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The reception stuff was very friendly and helpful. Whatever we needed they would arrange it easly. The hotel is in a perfect location in between the old and new town close to the beach and bars. The room service was there every day eventhough it was soupoused to happen every 3 days. Very nice place to stay in resonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yv0nne84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel on a family holiday.
Location is fantastic. It is around 5-10 mins to the beach. And is exactly half-way between the old town and the 'strip' with about a 15-20 walk to each (downhill walk to old town, uphill walk to strip).
The hotel itself is very clean. Our room was a 1 bedroom apartment on the fourth floor. Pool view and you could see the sea as well. Rooms were very big with a bedroom, bathroom (bath & shower), kitchen, and living room/dining room. Kitchen was well equipped with cooker, hob, fridge, microwave & toaster. As other reviews have said, no electric kettle so you have to use the hob. One of the sockets in our kitchen didn't work so we had to move the toaster to the living room and couldn't use the microwave. This was too much of a big deal for us, but could have posed a problem for others.

Huge balcony saw the sun for most of the day but the rooms still didn't get too hot. There is air-conditioning if you need it.

Other reviews have criticised the pool bar for removing towels but we didn't experience this at all, perhaps it was because it was quieter when we were there. The guy who served us at the pool bar was pleasant and the food was pretty good.

Both swimming pools (main pool and kids pool) were cold but were ok once you got in. Previous guests had left inflatable toys and rubber rings which our daughter loved. Showers at the pool weren't great.

There was a few bars right next door to the hotel but most nights we would head to the beautiful old town. You can walk (downhill) in around 20 mins but it is a bit of a trek on the way home as its quite a steep hill. There is a tourist train that will bring you to/from the old town although it can take about 35/40 mins at night.

Overall, a great location. Would suit couples, young families (due to lack of entertainment in the evening for older kids), and friends (willing to walk to the strip).

Room Tip: I wouldn't have wanted ground floor as these rooms are almost 'under' the swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsH1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 8 days and it was lovely, room's are very spacious, clean and lots of storage space. And has everything you need on a self catering holiday. Staff were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble. The views are lovely all with a pool view and the ocean view just to the left. The beach is a 5 minute walk away. There is no rowdiness and the clientel is lovely. We have had a lovely, peaceful, relaxing holiday and will definitely be going back again next year. .... bury Lancashire

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmatulko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed in a one bedroom 3 adults for 11 nights. Sofa bed in living room not too good ie a drawer pulled out with mattress or a thin mattress on top of sofa, just passable.Air con bit noisy and leaked a bit, Apartment well equipped full cooker, microwave, toaster kettle plenty dishes and ,. Quite a walk from old and new town not as near places as we thought,Taxis 5 euro from old town, we walked in taxi back as uphill on way back , worst apartments we have been at where beds are reserved and most guests were British, beds reserved from early on pretty annoying and half the time they were left unused most of day. Jo in the pool bar has had some pretty bad reviews, but she is very nice as is her 14 year old son. Prices there just same as outside, 1 euro 20 for small bottle of water 2 euros for ice lollies etc. cans juice 2 euros toasties between 2 to 3 euros t give you an idea of prices. Only saw her once remove towels and found out it is not the hotel who owns the bed but jo so as she has paid for them and the umbrellas she has every right to remove towels, as previous reviews said they didn't know why she removed towels i made a point of asking and she told me she has had some pretty rude people shouting at her so i thought i would put my review on to let people know the circumstances, hence the reason there is a note up saying don't eat or drink our own stuff which is usually displayed around pools of other hotels I bought some stuff from her and also put a bottle of water in freezer and took it down so it stayed lovely and cold.It is not a big She also did plates of chips for 2 euro 50 cent so that wasn't too bad.All in all a good hol try the cottage restuarant half way up right hand side of new strip, blink and you would miss it , it has lovely english food if you want it at reasonable prices, The mexican at the old town is not too good and very expensive but always seemed to have queues to get in, don't know why, Zanzi 2 is also nice for eating in old town as is the chinese right in the middle, does nice set meals, and right on front of old town lovely restuarants at good prices just at the kinda harbour b it where the guys do sand sculptures
there is also a nice kinda moroccan restuarant that has live entertainment and this does meals for 5 euros up to about half nine at night and they re nice as is the entertainment, was a good holiday but portugal getting more and more expensive eating out etc, also very few exchange places and rate was bad better in the uk, strepsil out here for my daughter 6 euro 50 cents and suncreams about £13 so take with you.exchange places western something , no commission one on new strip and big shopping centre hope all this helps and any questions just ask ps wild and co start of new strip good entertainment.....,

Room Tip: higher up rooms have good sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank letitia114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My Wife and I booked this apartment after not being able to find anywhere reasonably priced with half board, which is normally our preferred option. I must say that we were pleasantly surprised at the size of the apartment, by comparison to staying in a hotel with half board (one room with a bathroom). We stayed in apartment 302, which overlooks the entrance leading to the little row of shops. Comprising of, hallway, bedroom, bathroom, a small kitchen and a sizeable living/dining space + a large balcony. Furnishing's were of a good quality, the bed's although firm were stable with no creaks which you get in most hotel's. The balcony is south facing so you get the sun all day long from early morning to late afternoon. Although we did not use the kitchen for cooking as we ate out every night and had a continental breakfast with supplies from the local Spar shop, there were ample utensils, crockery and pot's & pan's if you felt the need for home cooking. Together with an electric cooker an added bonus was a fridge, great for putting gallon bottle's of water or can's in for a nice cold drink (don't usually have a fridge in hotel rooms). Maids visited every day to have a quick clean round and leave fresh towel's, they were pleasant and polite as were the staff in reception. A nice clean place to enjoy your holiday, and situated about midway between the Old Town and The Strip.

Room Tip: Room 302 is away from the pool area and is quiet at night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AstraFlondrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

read review about the pool bar what rubbish the lady and the young man in there were charming and couldn't do enough for you the woman was complaining about them taking towels off beds there are several notices stating beds are not to be reserved but some people were leaving towels on for hours stopping other people from lying on them they were only doing their jobs I thought it was only germans who did this its most annoying some people were reserving as many as ten beds its only a small pool and they were sometimes away shopping all day then expecting their beds to be there

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are straight out to the pool first floor and above have nice view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashingtoncouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

From our first email to the apartments the staff could not have been more helpful. We were holidaying with my cousin and her family so emailed ahead to request that we had rooms next door to each other and no higher than the 3rd floor.
On arrival we were allocated our rooms straight away, even though we had arrived 2 hours before the stated check-in time and we were pleased to be on the third floor next door to my cousins room.
We had one bedroom apartments which were spacious and clean, however, on the downside they were a little dated, the air-conditioning was not very cool and was quite noisy. The kitchen was well equipped with all cutlery, pans, baking trays etc, I wish I'd taken my travel kettle though as the kettle provided took a while to heat up on the electric hob. On arrival there was only one small pillow per bed but when I requested extra pillows from reception these were provided straight away.
We rarely had a problem getting a sunbed at any time of the day as the snack bar manager would remove towels from sunbeds which were left unused for more than 45 minutes, she removed our towels on our second day which was fair enough as we had reserved them before 10.00 and left them unused until 11.00. The snack bar food and drink was good.
The location of the apartments was good. It was a five minute walk down to the beautiful long beach, the walk back was up hill however we managed it without any problems even with a four year old child and all his beach equipment, you'd be very unfit or elderly if you found the walk back from the beach a problem. The strip was a 15 minute level walk away, we found it too busy for families at night so only went a couple of times. The old town is a downhill 15 minute walk away (uphill on the way back so a taxi or the land-train is a good option to return on), we had some lovely meals and shopping trips to the old town. There is no night time entertainment in the Oceano however there are a few friendly bars (with free wifi, sky sports and pool tables to keep the teenagers happy) and restaurants in the same street as the apartments and there is also the Hotel Monica Beach Club which has nightly entertainment which you can watch.
We booked a trip to Zoomarine with the local travel shop (located in the same street as the Oceano). They took and collected us in their own people carrier. Zoomarine is well worth a visit if you have children, the dolphin, sea lion and parrot shows were very good, there are also swimming pools and a couple of water rides and other rides for children to go on.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deb640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.8 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#15 of 154 in Albufeira
1,830 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#51 of 154 in Albufeira
799 reviews
3.0 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Clube Oceano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Clube Oceano

Address: Rua Columbano Bordalo Pinheiro | Forte de São João, Albufeira 8200-110, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £29 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Clube Oceano 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel apartment Luna Clube Oceano is a friendly and modern 3* complex, located in Albufeira, in the heart of the Algarve, just 100 meters from S. Joao beach. Luna Clube Oceano offers a peaceful location and feature apartments equipped with balcony with pool view. The hotel facilities are ideal for couples and families that wish to be close to the center and the beach, seeking for a friendly service and a relaxing break. Luna Clube Oceano is set on a hill and offer a peaceful location and very close to the beach, where a wide selection of watersports are offered. The local restaurants, bars and shops are all within a short walk and feature a lively nightlife. It offers the ideal location for those who wish to explore the Algarve, or simply relaxing by the pool or the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luna Clube Oceano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Oceano Hotel Albufeira
Clube Oceano Aparthotel Albufeira
Luna Clube Oceano Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing