We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveller rating
212
243
64
18
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
243
64
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town pool area minute walk tuna club tres palmeiras air con one bedroom apartment tourist train good size self catering higher floor first floor great holiday sea view coffee maker floor room hotel is clean
Filter
Updating list...
374 - 379 of 544 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel on a family holiday.
Location is fantastic. It is around 5-10 mins to the beach. And is exactly half-way between the old town and the 'strip' with about a 15-20 walk to each (downhill walk to old town, uphill walk to strip).
The hotel itself is very clean. Our room was a 1 bedroom apartment on the fourth floor. Pool view and you could see the sea as well. Rooms were very big with a bedroom, bathroom (bath & shower), kitchen, and living room/dining room. Kitchen was well equipped with cooker, hob, fridge, microwave & toaster. As other reviews have said, no electric kettle so you have to use the hob. One of the sockets in our kitchen didn't work so we had to move the toaster to the living room and couldn't use the microwave. This was too much of a big deal for us, but could have posed a problem for others.

Huge balcony saw the sun for most of the day but the rooms still didn't get too hot. There is air-conditioning if you need it.

Other reviews have criticised the pool bar for removing towels but we didn't experience this at all, perhaps it was because it was quieter when we were there. The guy who served us at the pool bar was pleasant and the food was pretty good.

Both swimming pools (main pool and kids pool) were cold but were ok once you got in. Previous guests had left inflatable toys and rubber rings which our daughter loved. Showers at the pool weren't great.

There was a few bars right next door to the hotel but most nights we would head to the beautiful old town. You can walk (downhill) in around 20 mins but it is a bit of a trek on the way home as its quite a steep hill. There is a tourist train that will bring you to/from the old town although it can take about 35/40 mins at night.

Overall, a great location. Would suit couples, young families (due to lack of entertainment in the evening for older kids), and friends (willing to walk to the strip).

Room tip: I wouldn't have wanted ground floor as these rooms are almost 'under' the swimming pool and don't get any sunshine.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsH1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 8 days and it was lovely, room's are very spacious, clean and lots of storage space. And has everything you need on a self catering holiday. Staff were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble. The views are lovely all with a pool view and the ocean view just to the left. The beach is a 5 minute walk away. There is no rowdiness and the clientel is lovely. We have had a lovely, peaceful, relaxing holiday and will definitely be going back again next year. .... bury Lancashire

Date of stay: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmatulko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed in a one bedroom 3 adults for 11 nights. Sofa bed in living room not too good ie a drawer pulled out with mattress or a thin mattress on top of sofa, just passable.Air con bit noisy and leaked a bit, Apartment well equipped full cooker, microwave, toaster kettle plenty dishes and ,. Quite a walk from old and new town not as near places as we thought,Taxis 5 euro from old town, we walked in taxi back as uphill on way back , worst apartments we have been at where beds are reserved and most guests were British, beds reserved from early on pretty annoying and half the time they were left unused most of day. Jo in the pool bar has had some pretty bad reviews, but she is very nice as is her 14 year old son. Prices there just same as outside, 1 euro 20 for small bottle of water 2 euros for ice lollies etc. cans juice 2 euros toasties between 2 to 3 euros t give you an idea of prices. Only saw her once remove towels and found out it is not the hotel who owns the bed but jo so as she has paid for them and the umbrellas she has every right to remove towels, as previous reviews said they didn't know why she removed towels i made a point of asking and she told me she has had some pretty rude people shouting at her so i thought i would put my review on to let people know the circumstances, hence the reason there is a note up saying don't eat or drink our own stuff which is usually displayed around pools of other hotels I bought some stuff from her and also put a bottle of water in freezer and took it down so it stayed lovely and cold.It is not a big She also did plates of chips for 2 euro 50 cent so that wasn't too bad.All in all a good hol try the cottage restuarant half way up right hand side of new strip, blink and you would miss it , it has lovely english food if you want it at reasonable prices, The mexican at the old town is not too good and very expensive but always seemed to have queues to get in, don't know why, Zanzi 2 is also nice for eating in old town as is the chinese right in the middle, does nice set meals, and right on front of old town lovely restuarants at good prices just at the kinda harbour b it where the guys do sand sculptures
there is also a nice kinda moroccan restuarant that has live entertainment and this does meals for 5 euros up to about half nine at night and they re nice as is the entertainment, was a good holiday but portugal getting more and more expensive eating out etc, also very few exchange places and rate was bad better in the uk, strepsil out here for my daughter 6 euro 50 cents and suncreams about £13 so take with you.exchange places western something , no commission one on new strip and big shopping centre hope all this helps and any questions just ask ps wild and co start of new strip good entertainment.....,

Room tip: higher up rooms have good sea views
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank letitia114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My Wife and I booked this apartment after not being able to find anywhere reasonably priced with half board, which is normally our preferred option. I must say that we were pleasantly surprised at the size of the apartment, by comparison to staying in a hotel with half board (one room with a bathroom). We stayed in apartment 302, which overlooks the entrance leading to the little row of shops. Comprising of, hallway, bedroom, bathroom, a small kitchen and a sizeable living/dining space + a large balcony. Furnishing's were of a good quality, the bed's although firm were stable with no creaks which you get in most hotel's. The balcony is south facing so you get the sun all day long from early morning to late afternoon. Although we did not use the kitchen for cooking as we ate out every night and had a continental breakfast with supplies from the local Spar shop, there were ample utensils, crockery and pot's & pan's if you felt the need for home cooking. Together with an electric cooker an added bonus was a fridge, great for putting gallon bottle's of water or can's in for a nice cold drink (don't usually have a fridge in hotel rooms). Maids visited every day to have a quick clean round and leave fresh towel's, they were pleasant and polite as were the staff in reception. A nice clean place to enjoy your holiday, and situated about midway between the Old Town and The Strip.

Room tip: Room 302 is away from the pool area and is quiet at night time.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AstraFlondrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

read review about the pool bar what rubbish the lady and the young man in there were charming and couldn't do enough for you the woman was complaining about them taking towels off beds there are several notices stating beds are not to be reserved but some people were leaving towels on for hours stopping other people from lying on them they were only doing their jobs I thought it was only germans who did this its most annoying some people were reserving as many as ten beds its only a small pool and they were sometimes away shopping all day then expecting their beds to be there

Room tip: ground floor rooms are straight out to the pool first floor and above have nice view of the pool
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashingtoncouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews