We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool aparthotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luna Clube Oceano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Luna Clube Oceano
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Ivanovo, Russia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cool aparthotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Visited the place during second half of October 2013. Booked a studio for a lowest price, at arrival we were offered a 1-bedroom apartment instead, without any additional charge. The apartment is clean and cool, with a poolside view. Small kitchen has an oven, fridge, a set of dishes and other cookware, all items are simple but new and clean.
The hotel was all booked as we're told by manager, but we didn't see a lot of folks, I'd rather said the hotel was filled about 40-50 percent; the season was over.
There is no restarant, but few snackbars down the street are enough to get some food at any time. A couple of small shops are also available, though they are all touristic regarding the price level and the assortment.
The hotel is located about 15 mins walking from crowded areas - the Strip and old Albufeira town, so the place is very cool and not noisy. About 200 mts walking down the hill and you're on ocean's beach - all wide, clean and nice. The swimming was a sort of problematic, strong waves and no cutwaters on the beach.
No problem with parking, we've rented a car for all stay and there was free parking places any time. I'd recommend to have a car when residing in this aparthotel.
Free WiFi is at reception only, sometimes sluggish, especially when 10-12 people are trying to skype their friends. If you're alone - the speed is fine enough for live video.
Hotel requires the dishes to be washed - that wasn't a problem for us, but I've heard some people were disappointed with this requirement. So, keep the space clean.
The safebox in the room was broken, but we didn't intend to use it. TV showed few local portugal channels, BBC News and CNN, nothing more, the signal quality was poor and there was no remote control. It might be disappointing, but we also didn't watch the TV, having fun with our own laptop records and movies.

There are no animations at all, I'd say it was good. If you're a football fan, the next bar up the street is for you - there's a large TV and football matches all day long with fans, beer etc. If you have small children they will probably be bored - no entertainment, just the pool.

Room Tip: Choose floor 2 or higher, lowest are just under the pool and have no sunlight and views around. Uppe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Serge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    194
    45
    7
    4
See reviews for
115
218
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

The location of this hotel is really what makes it. We had never been to Albufeira before, so didn't release how spread out everything is. There are 4 distinct 'regions': Old town, The Strip, The commercial District and The Marina. This Hotel is not only 2 mins away from a beautiful beach (we had a sea view), it is within a 10/15 walk of 3 of these regions (Old town, The strip and the commercial District). It is also 5 mins away from the tourist train stop, which services all of these regions for just 4 euros a day pass.

The only thing which was disappointing, was that the hotel bar was closed whilst we were there. This was a reoccurring point within the whole of Albufeira, as it was the last week of their season. I would warn anybody who was looking for a 'lively' holiday that this was not the time to visit, at times the resort seemed abit like a ghost town.

The hotel was very clean, with the cleaners coming everyday. The room was large and was fully equipped. The kitchen had a fridge, microwave, toaster, cooker, hob and all the cooking appliances/wares you would require to cook a full meal. The only damage within the apartment was on the fridge, where the top of the door had been taped up slightly - but as we were the last guests within the hotel before they closed, I can only assumed that this will addressed before they open again in April.

The pool was a little sun trap, as were the balconies. They all face the sun, so you get the sun for the full day. A lot of the sun loungers by the pool were damaged but as soon as you put a pad on the top of them, you could not feel anything. As we were at the end of the season and the pool bar was closed, we were provided with the pads for free. We also could take our own drinks/food - as the bar could not provide this service.

Overall, I think this is really good value for money.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and had a sea view, with sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NikkiJayneLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepshed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

arrived expecting a studio but were upgraded to a 1 bed apt, very spacious clean and tidy, would not be cramped with 4 people. Bathroom with a bath and the best equiped kitchen i have had abroad, oven and hob,toaster,microwave,coffee maker, large fridge and enough pots and pans to cook a full meal. sadly not used as we ate out every night.3 and 4th bed were a full size sofa bed plent big enough for me at 6ft. floors 4 and 5 you will probably be able to see the sea. Cleaners cleaned every day!! Be aware the bar /pool bar is Only open may-end sept 2 mins to the beach 10mins walk to the old town or the strip a bit hilly both ways so make sure you have your flat shoes if you dont want to walk catch the mini train into the old town for a couple of euros or the bus both just a hundred yds or so away you do have a couple of bars and restaurants literally on your doorstep but you will get a better atmosphere in the strip or the old town wander out of the main square in the old town towards the tunnel and you will find better value restaurants in the back streets do be afraid to try the tourists menus for 10-11euros 3 or 4 courses and a drink

Room Tip: rooms higher up may have a sea view higher numbers will be further away from the bars below so may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andymackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co.Kerry
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here for just one week mid October . We booked a studio apartment which was on the level 'below' the pool. As others have already said the apartments are nothing to get overly excited about - everything is fine if you don't plan on spending too much time indoors. The location though is what would bring us back. Two minutes to the beach and about ten to either Old Town or The Strip - advice is to choose Old Town. Very helpful staff . A few nice snack bars very close to hotel .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hotwhiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Travelled with my wife, daughter and niece, really just wanted to get away for a break, got the Oceano at a very reasonable price, we booked two studios and were given two 1 bed apts on arrival, the rooms were very clean although a bit dated and worn in places. Having said that we really enjoyed our stay here, the location was ideal, the staff helpful and courteous. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bolto02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed here with my wife in 2010, they offered us a poolside room initially but when we viewed the room my wife immediately asked for an upgrade.

The hotel upgraded us to a apartment type room on the 1st floor. The room was better than the pool side room but was still a little dated in terms of décor and furniture.

The Hotel is in between the main strip and a marina which are both within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Just returned from a week at this accomodation and found it to be rather good for the price we paid. Apartments were very clean cleaned daily with the exception of Sunday. Towels and bed linen changed at least twice in the seven days we stayed. Pool area ok but staff friendly and accommodating. Location for beach is great 5 mins away and situated between the strip and the old town approx15 mins walk either way .Best of both worlds but have to say much preferred the buzz and atmosphere of the old town. The resort itself is not suitable for folks with mobility problems as hilly. Beaches lovely although not suitable for very young kids due to waves but great fun for kids aged 8 and over. Prices not too bad in some pubs and restaurants. Would certainly consider booking these apartments again..... Could really not complain for price paid. Happy family had fab holiday ....

Room Tip: If possible opt for room on upper floors as view lovely. Lower floor rooms are quite shaded and dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.8 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
3.4 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
2.9 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#16 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#8 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Clube Oceano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Clube Oceano

Property: Luna Clube Oceano
Address: Rua Columbano Bordalo Pinheiro | Forte de São João, Albufeira 8200-110, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Clube Oceano 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel apartment Luna Clube Oceano is a friendly and modern 3* complex, located in Albufeira, in the heart of the Algarve, just 100 meters from S. Joao beach. Luna Clube Oceano offers a peaceful location and feature apartments equipped with balcony with pool view. The hotel facilities are ideal for couples and families that wish to be close to the center and the beach, seeking for a friendly service and a relaxing break. Luna Clube Oceano is set on a hill and offer a peaceful location and very close to the beach, where a wide selection of watersports are offered. The local restaurants, bars and shops are all within a short walk and feature a lively nightlife. It offers the ideal location for those who wish to explore the Algarve, or simply relaxing by the pool or the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Luna Clube Oceano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Oceano Hotel Albufeira
Clube Oceano Aparthotel Albufeira
Luna Clube Oceano Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing