We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable holiday”
Review of Luna Clube Oceano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luna Clube Oceano
Ranked #9 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable holiday”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Enjoyed holiday although there were a few problems but had read about them before on Tripadvisor and don't be put off. Not enough sunbeds which posed a problem- guests putting towels out at 7am to claim a bed but not being there till after 10am- however this was dealt with on our second last morning when all the towels were removed by the management and the beds were available for anyone who was there to stay! Also our air conditioning did not work and although we informed reception it was never repaired- however the temperatures were not too hot and we coped. We were on the fifth floor and had a great view to the sea and the pool- again had read about this prior to going and requested a top floor room. Satisfactory furnishings- although single beds in lounge were a sofa and a mattress pull out on floor- very thin mattresses- our children are teenagers and felt they were not the most comfortable. Close to beach and mid way between Old Town and Strip for restaurants in the evening. Don't expect a taxi to arrive on time at apartment complex even when booked! Wifi only in reception area- not apartments.

Room Tip: Request high floor for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MornaCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    200
    46
    7
    4
See reviews for
118
227
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Disappointed that apartment overlooked & level with the pool/s, but had to grin & bear it as all S/C apartments? do (so I was told).
Apartment itself could do with new furniture & a lick of paint as all dated. Kitchen area (which we do use) also could do withupdating, cooker was on its last legs & only one socket, so unable to use two appliances at once.
The above was really the only downside. Location is good, 5min stroll to the lovely beach & 15min stroll along the beach to Old Town, which is worth several visits as it has many restaurants/shops/supermarket etc.
You can also walk to the harbour which does take a good hour but is also worth visiting.
Overall was reasonable value for money & I would def. go back.

Room Tip: we did not like overlooking/ being level with the pool but I think all rooms prob do, although if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 702Happydiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

First time I have visited Portugal and as my children are getting that bit older we thought we would also try these self catering apartments.
I understand that the apartments are being refurbished next year however I found the accommodation clean ,staff helpful and pool more than adequate .

Only down side which I said I wouldn't do was the sun bed scramble on a morning. I managed to avoid this every day bar one however the majority of the sun loungers were broken and therefore those who did get up early managed to grab a bed which didn't collapse and also had a bed mat.

One day I will visit accommodation with enough beds for everyone , however I won't hold my breath .
Yes I would recommend these apartments , 10 minutes to the old town and the same to the strip , beach is about 75 yds away

Room Tip: Dont get a room on the bottom floor , they are like dungeons
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Arrived 28th July 20 sun beds taken away due to damage this left 40 sun beds for 77 apartments.
At 7am each day 17 of these were taken by one group .
Bar closed when pool area closed no bar in evening .On our third night we had cockroaches in apartment. When we reported this we were told this was due to poison being put down. Apartments old cracks in floor tiles dirty furniture .
This is supposed to be a 3 star apart hotel but really does not reach this standard. Would not recommend this to anyone would have taken an early flight home if possible.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stopped here as a couple in June 2014, as the title says, all it it really needs is a little tlc, the rooms, as has been said are huge, furniture needs a little updating, but when we were there we heard on the grapevine that the owners were planning to revamp at the end of the season, anyway, balconys are also huge, at least the ones nearer the ground were, we noticed that the further up you go the smaller they get, but don't let that put you off, if you are wanting a half decent place to stay, with no gangs of teenagers, excellent location ( equidistant between the strip and old town and maybe a couple of hundred metres from the beach ) then this is the place for you, admittedly the hunt for the sunbed without a towel can be a nuisance ( funny to watch though whilst sitting on the balcony at 7.30 am ) , the apartments have all you need for self catering but beware the kettle ! Takes forever and a day to boil, we ended up using the microwave to boil our water, bathrooms are a nice size with a shower that nearly takes your skin off and hot water too ! Wardrobe isn't huge but there is plenty of other storage space, if you do decide to stay here you really can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Top floors for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel, needs an upgrade, but don't let this put you off. it has good rooms, kept very clean, towels changed as required. the location is excellent, just on the outskirts of the old town and near to a sandy beach. the staff are very friendly and helpful. the views from the rooms overlook the sea and the pool. the pool bar offers basic snacks and drinks, but just outside the hotel is a couple of small bars that offer food at a reasonable price. the pool is a good size, but if you want a sunbed get up early. a lot of the sunbeds are broken, but after talking to staff they are in the process of replacing these. We will return to this hotel as we found it an excellent base.
I have read negative reviews on this hotel, but I can only say the room we were given on the fifth floor was spacious and as stated above very clean.

Room Tip: ask for a one bedroom apartment, they are on the fourth and fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Luna Clube Oceano, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear stephen e
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay in Luna Clube Oceano. It is wonderful to know you had a good time with us.
We are working hard on some plans for the future so we improve our decor and services. Our main goal is and will always be to offer our guests the best holidays possible.
Hope to see you next year!
Kind Regards, José Parreira, Manager, Luna Clube Oceano (clubeoceano@lunahoteis.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is my 6th year at this hotel we just got back on 13th July and I can't believe some of the negatives I'm reading here, me and my wife go as a couple and never had any trouble, yes there is young Dutch people there but for goodness sake they are there to enjoy themselves, after all they are on holiday to, as for the hotel we have never had any trouble getting a lounger at the poolside, and the rooms are well kept and cleaned 6 days a week, fridge, microwave, toaster, cooker all in good working order and the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the hotel IS signposted from the main road and not hard to find. Very good value for the money.
Hopeing to go back next year once again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Luna Clube Oceano, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Jim C
Thank you for taking your time to write this wonderful review. We are very glad you had a pleasant stay in Luna Clube Oceano and appreciate the nice words.
Hopefully you spend at least six more years holidaying in Albufeira with us. We always work with the goal of getting better, as there is always room for improvement.
Looking forward for your next visit. We surely want to make it even better than the past years. Kind Regards, José Parreira, Manager, Luna Clube Oceano (clubeoceano@lunahoteis.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.8 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
3.4 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
3.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#65 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,102 reviews
2.2 mi away
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Clube Oceano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Clube Oceano

Property: Luna Clube Oceano
Address: Rua Columbano Bordalo Pinheiro | Forte de São João, Albufeira 8200-110, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Clube Oceano 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel apartment Luna Clube Oceano is a friendly and modern 3* complex, located in Albufeira, in the heart of the Algarve, just 100 meters from S. Joao beach. Luna Clube Oceano offers a peaceful location and feature apartments equipped with balcony with pool view. The hotel facilities are ideal for couples and families that wish to be close to the center and the beach, seeking for a friendly service and a relaxing break. Luna Clube Oceano is set on a hill and offer a peaceful location and very close to the beach, where a wide selection of watersports are offered. The local restaurants, bars and shops are all within a short walk and feature a lively nightlife. It offers the ideal location for those who wish to explore the Algarve, or simply relaxing by the pool or the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luna Clube Oceano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Oceano Hotel Albufeira
Clube Oceano Aparthotel Albufeira
Luna Clube Oceano Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing